We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kid heaven!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Sandpiper Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Sandpiper Bay to your Saves list
Club Med Sandpiper Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   4500 S.E Pine Valley Street, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34952   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Port Saint Lucie
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Kid heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2005

My 12 yr old daughter says I should have said Sandpiper is excellent. Actually I can't go 5 stars , since I feel you can't give any place that is buffet based get 5 stars. They do have a 1 "ala carte" restaurant, but it only rotates the same menu every other day, so after 2 days it loses its charm. You must book at 1230pm the same day to get a spot & they are limited.

Wide variety of food options. French influence means good bread. Try the white chocolate bread. Yum!

Head of the resort Kevin is very "hands on", and ran into him many times delivering cold drinks to golfers or walking by at dinner to see all was OK. Nice to see in such a big resort.

Lots of very young kids, but my 12 & 9 yr olds found great councellors [GO's] & a few kids they had a blast with. Circus school was a thrill, not many chances to swing from a "real" trapeze at many other holiday spots. [Disney only allows you to pay to watch it done]. Activities like sailing a Hobie Cat are thrilling in a good wind and included in your daily fee. Archery was one other activity we enjoyed-again Disney doesn't offer that either.

Beach was small, but several pools did take it's place. Just make sure you find the one that is heated, if you are in a Florida cool spell.

Also the boarder guard when crossing back to Canada couldn't believe we had been to a "all inclusive" in the US & thought they couldn't exist in in a country where good food is available at so many restaurants and cheap beer at 7/ 11's. Well Club Med does exists and does quite well in Florida.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    714
    221
    105
    88
See reviews for
1,520
233
39
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2005

I wish I could give half stars as the Sandpiper is more likely 3.5 stars but since i can't, I'll go 4 stars. For a family place, I think its great. Kids programs are great. lots to do, circus school, archery, etc. The thing though to keep in mind is what you will do while the kids are in their program....We came down March 13-19th and honestly, even though its 80 degrees, the pools are way to cold to get into and enjoy. One pool is heated (a little) but just enough to take the frost off. When it rains, there's not much to do but kick back and relax in your room. I guess its sort of like a camp, where within the "campground" there are activities to do, like the pool, tennis (clinics available), pitch and putt, etc. Golfers can use the onsite course (for a fee) or go off site. In driving around, other than shopping, there doesn't seem to be a lot to do in this area, maybe a drive to Jensen beach perhaps. but really this seems like a place where you stay within the resort for the most part.

The staff does their best to meet your needs but to be honest, the main desk in the the reception area was completely worthless. Two visits there got me nothing. In one I was looking for directions to the PGA Village, and the person had no clue how to get there, and was looking up the phone number for ME to call and get directions. Sorry, but I see that as something they should do (then I see it written on the map that she gave me and I was curious why she'd never seen it before). The second, we needed directions to a doctors office as my wife became ill and other than the onsite nurse, they had no clue as to where any doctors were in the area we could go to. They didn't even seem to know how to find out. They also seem to have no concept that anything outside their resort exists. While waiting in line to talk to someone, people were asking about area activities and were told about shopping and a movie theater, and much like my experience, the desk didn't have any phone numbers or names of the movie theater and didn't offer to look it up. At most resorts I've stayed, the desk keeps track of the major local attractions contact information and readily hands that out to guests...not here...if it isn't inside the resort, they don't seem to know much about it.

But outside that it was a pretty good trip. The resort has a variety of daily activites you can attend, and the food was reasonable. A different buffet each night.

probably won't come back again but would consider another Club Med property though...

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2005

The rooms were large, but the cleaning left something to be desired. They give you a welcome drink upon arrival. My partially full cup sat on the dresser for the entire time we were there (5 days)...the cherry had bled into the drink, making it pink instead of lime colored! In addition, housekeeping did not leave washcloths for several of the days. We asked if they had any, and the housekeeper said "No."

The facility was large, but run-down. And watch out for the shower. It's VERY tricky. You have to figure out a complex series of maneuvers to make it work. Turn on the water, and flip this switch- but not all the way, or there is no water pressure. Now the water comes out of the hand-held shower head. To get it out of the main shower head, you have to turn another knob, and adjust the pressure up at the nozzle. Good luck!

The food was medium. There were some very good selections each night, but you had to look for them...most of the food was cold and overcooked. The bread, however, was excellent. "Gala night" had spectacular decorations- watermelon carvings and bouquets made of veggies... Only one restaurant, and they serve the same food as the buffet, only fewer selections. Plus, you have to make reservations at 12:30 everyday, and there is a long line.

They have a nice selection of fitness classes available everyday for adults. Yoga, water aerobics, bosu, to name a few, as well as free lessons in trapeze, trampoline, archery and golf. Very fun.

We did not see the children's productions, but the adult evening shows are lame. But as there is little to do right after dinner, you might as well go...

The staff was friendly, particularly the bartenders at the Sandbar. We camped out there every night and let them entertain us. There is this Club Med dance thing where some of the staff perform simple made-up dances to world music. You should join in at least once.

We didn't have any kids, but this is obviously the place to go if you have any. Lots of activities for the little ones all day.

All in all, it's great to be anywhere it's not snowing, but I would probably go somewhere else next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort wayne, Indiana
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2005

Club Med is a great family vacation. Great Food, Variety of Quality Childrens' Programs for all ages including Teens, Good night time entertainment. BEWARE: This resort is located on a river that is part salt water and part fresh water. The resort offers water skiing, tubing , etc. There are alligators in this water. This is confirmed by the locals. The resort states they have never had a problem with the alligators, but the locals have other things to say. The boats even drop off the guest (including children) in the marsh (very weedy) after water skiing and tubing. This is where alligators hang out. The Club Med workers say the boat engines scare the alligators away. The locals have seen 12 foot gators on the Club Med Beach. To be safe, DO NOT LET YOUR CHILDREN WATER SKI OR TUBE IN THIS WATER!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2005

This was the first time my wife and I ever traveled with our children (ages 5 and 15 months). What a pleasant surprise! Sandpiper has a kids' and babies' Club Med that could really be an entity unto itseld - a separate organization altogether. It's not just a couple of rooms with toys - it's a full-blown camp for kids with counselors (GO's) who really care - and who really work hard! While your children are enjoying a fun-filled day at camp, you can relax and do the things you'd like to do. You can sign your kids out of camp at any time of day if you'd like to be with them - and sign them right back in later! Go for it - no disappointments here......

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2005

THIS CLUB STUNK!!!!!!!!!!!! I went to the one in Mexico and it was 10x better. Don't go here you are wasting your money. Food is terible and the rooms smelled. Never again am i going here

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2005

I have been to this resort 5 times, once a year for the last 5 years. If you have children, especially young ones, there is no better place to go. I have always traveled in April and May and never had a bad week weather wise. If your kids will stay in the kids clubs, (they are excellent) you'll find some time to do some waterskiing or just get a massage. Otherwise you can enjoy some leisure time with your kids at one of the 3 pools that allow kids. I would not go to this resort if you don't have kids. They are everywhere. The dining room is loud and very kid friendly. High chairs and bibs are supplied. Milk and baby food is supplied in a separate room.When your kid is having a fit , no one else cares. The circus and shows in which your kids participate are the best. Amazing what the GOs do with the kids in less than a week.

The food is average but you can always find something to eat. Plenty of kid friendly choices. The food was always hot and always replenished every time I was there. Dining room service was never a problem. Its all buffet style.

The dining room, pool, and rooms were always clean but not fancy. Rooms are very spacious. You can get an extra connecting room for yr kids for a very small price. The plumbing and showers are fine. A few times I did have a problem, (i.e. ants...)
my room was changed timely and the problem resolved. The GOs are friendly and a pleasure to dine with. Many have very interesting stories to tell. And if you want to dine alone, just ask. Never a problem.

The entertainment at night is fun, although tends to repeat yr after yr. Most families here have children and after the first show of the night, tend to retire. There are usually 2 shows and then a party in the bar if you're up to it!!

One drawback..the river is not for swimming. This resort is not on the beach. You have to drive if you want the beach.

I would not go here during the winter. It is probably too cold to enjoy anything. I have encountered a few nasty front desk attendants. But you see that everywhere.

One Club Med disappointment: Never a freebie or an upgrade, even for someone frequent travelers.

Go and have fun with yr kids. Great place for a relaxing vacation. All inclusive and everything you need within walking distance, right on the grounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Sandpiper Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Sandpiper Bay

Address: 4500 S.E Pine Valley Street, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34952
Location: United States > Florida > Port Saint Lucie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
#7 Business Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Sandpiper Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Floridian charm in our renovated all-inclusive family resort of Sandpiper, nestled by the Saint Lucie River which provides fun and excitement on the beach or on sailboats. Travel to Club Med Sandpiper Bay with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst a full-amenity resort where families can discover incomparable sports and children's programs. Make the most of your vacation to discover tennis, golf and fitness with our top coaches in the Club Med Academies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Sandpiper Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Hotel Port Saint Lucie
Med Sandpiper Club
Club Med Sandpiper Florida
Club Med Port Saint Lucie
Sandpiper Club Med
Club Med Port St Lucie
Port Saint Lucie Club Med
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Florida/Port Saint Lucie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Sandpiper Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.