We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something for everyone in the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Sandpiper Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Sandpiper Bay to your Saves list
Club Med Sandpiper Bay
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   4500 S.E Pine Valley Street, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34952   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Port Saint Lucie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“something for everyone in the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

spent 10 days in january with the whole family -- husband, three kids (teenager, 10-year and 4-year old), and a mother-in-law. Everyone had a great time, which is why we love club Med. It is a perfect family vacation -- the kids are occupied with organized activities for the little ones and optional choose-your-own schedule for the big ones, so there is no guilt for the parents to have alone time.
The camp programs are from 9am to 5pm, and there is an option for the little kids to have diner with the camp as well, or the whole family eats together -- play it by ear based on how you feel. No pressure. The activities for the kids are great -- a fun water-park pool with slides and sprinkles, arts and crafts in a designated building, circus school (trapeze, trampoline, juggling, etc), sports, paddle boarding on the lagoon, shows. The GO's (staff members whose jobs involve direct interaction with guests) are friendly and fun. The only downside is that there is no camp on wednesdays, but there are plenty of things to do provided the weather is good.
The food is buffet-style, good selection for all the meals. My favorite was the crepe station during lunch - yum! Lots of healthy options with fresh salads and vegetables. Even the picky kids usually had no problem with finding something to eat.
There is a separate room in the dining hall that is for adults only, nice when you are eating without the kids. It is a little small, so may not always find a table there during a busy season.
The bar is quite good and well designed with TVs, dance floor, hang-out seating and outdoor area. Evening fun is mainly dependent on the guests -- when people want to have fun, it is fun. But mainly the guests are families with young kids who turn in rather early, so don't expect fun late nights with dancing past 10-11. We have gone to Sandpiper two years in a row, and had not experienced a late dancing club night. Like I said, it is family-oriented.
Now for the TENNIS -- it is amazing!!!!!! the tennis academy is fantastic, world-class. Look it up on their website. There are many options for customizing your tennis experience for extra cost -- which is totally worth it, as the pros are incredible. But even if you only do the morning clinics (which are included in the cost), they are excellent. Gino is a very good professional coach, who organizes (and teaches) the morning clinics and the afternoon tournaments, which are usually mixed doubles, and very fun. Even if you don't play tennis, it is great to go and just watch the academy kids practice, these are real professionals and future champions from all over the world.
The 8;15 yoga class is excellent as well, Michelle is very good -- my mother enjoyed it very much. This was her first ClubMed experience, and she really liked it. She tried tennis for the first time in her life, she went to the pilates classes, zumba and water aerobics, and was free to choose wether to be active or relax.
There is a "quiet" pool for 18 and older only with a hot tub whirlpool overlooking the bay -- perfect spot for relaxation while the kids are at camp.
The rooms are not great. Basic amenities, no luxury, but serviceable. Last year we paid extra for the deluxe room, and that was much bigger than the basic club rooms, especially the bathrooms. However, the closet space is much better in the club room than in the deluxe, go figure. The family club room is a little deceptive in the website photos -- it appears that the kids have separate room -- it is more of partition walls with a curtain and a window between the parents' room and the kids' room (hmmm). But the kids do have their own TV -- important. All the rooms have a nice spacious balcony.
There are a couple of coin-fed washing machines and dryers, very useful to know with a big family -- ask at the front desk for their locations.
To recap, know what your priorities are -- for our family vacation it is important to have lots of different activities for adults, tennis is a must, and camp for the kids which they look forward to each day. Rooms are fine, food is good, everything is included in the price, it is easy not to have to think how to make everyone happy.

Room Tip: Building A is close to the main pool, the bar, and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Ana K,
Thanks for the review! We are so happy that you were pleased with our dining options, staff members, bar area, tennis, and exercise classes. Once again, thanks for sharing and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    756
    240
    118
    96
See reviews for
1,610
245
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had an amazingly relaxed time and found the whole experience a real escape from the daily grind. The GO's were really upbeat and created a very relaxed and fun time. I actually learned the basics of sailing thru the patience and encouragement of the sailing instructors!
A good time!

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the bay are very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear warren o,
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so happy that you were pleased with our staff and sailing programs! Once again, thanks for the review and we hope to see you soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Negatives:
Front desk staff not well trained. No one to help us to find our room and drag our bags in. (They mentioned we should look for this person to help us but did not tell us how to find her). Broken elevator so difficult to get bags to 2nd floor. Strangely elevator worked at night but broken again in the morning.
No signs to locate towels or ice cream in buffet room area.
TV directory wrong....channels don't correspond to wifi..have to pay for many channels
$200 charged at check in in case you use incidentals....why is this needed when they have a cc card on file
Tennis teacher for preteens was rough, demanding,...my child would not return for lessons.
Lousy unprofessional shows...day staff put on the singing and dancing shows (they were talented but NOT professionals and the shows were all similar)
Daily activity schedule only at main check in...not easy to find and when we wrote down times it wasn't followed anyway.
Facilities are rented to outside sports teams and clubs so guests can't play whenever they want to but only at specific times.
Dad reached into the creamers to find one and brought out lots of ants that crawled up his arms.

Positives:
We didn't get sick.
Most of the staff was friendly.
Chris with the Circus training was very sweet.
Great chocolate martinis helped us get through this.

I know this review sounds horrific but we spent so much $ had hoped for something special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear wnderw,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. Please know that this is not the norm for Club Med. We truly appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve. Once again, thank you for the review and we hope we get the chance to prove ourselves to you in the future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was my first time returning to a Club Med in approximately 20 years. I remember going to several Club Meds as a kid in the 80s with my parents. I loved Club Med vacations then, and I have to say, this vacation brought back many fabulous memories.
The GO's still have the same amazing spirit and energy, the singing and dancing in the bar is still fun and energizing and the programs/kids club have only gotten better. We went for one week, and had decent weather for 5 out of the 7 days. But even on the days when it poured there was so much to do. The staff go out of their way to be helpful, even putting up umbrellas so that you don't have to get wet in the rain walking from the dining room to the bar/theatre.
The food is amazing ---I must have gained at least 4-5 pounds thanks to the incredible breads (the white chocolate bread cannot be beat!) and pastries... In fact, overall the food was much better than what we've experienced at other high end (non Club Med) all-inclusives in Mexico and the Caribbean that we've journeyed to. I was very impressed with how equipped they are to cater to families with babies. When we arrived our room was equipped with a stroller, change table, bottle warmer, pack and play... and there was always a large supply of purees and finger foods available for the young clientele (ie. babies and toddlers.) And my 5-year-old daughter loved the food as well (and the fact that she could ask the bartender for fish crackers and virgin Miami Vice drinks.)
I can't say enough about the staff. Honourable mentions go to Shamika and Norma in the baby club, as well as Jesse, who does double duty dancing up a storm in the evening shows.
The GOs in the kids club (my daughter was a Gekko) were also great. My daughter especially loved Hannah, Artie, Josh and Isabella (who teach trapeze and circus), Tristen, Gina and Jake, who teaches a fun zumba class.
Marisa is a passionate and fiery fitness instructor. She's fun but tough... I especially loved her 10:30 a.m. circuit strength class.
In fact, all the GOs work tirelessly morning, noon and night and never lose steam.
We tried to put both our children in the kids club from 9-noon daily so that my husband and I could squeeze in a little "adult time." We would often venture to the tennis clinic at 9:15 followed by an hour or so spent lounging on one of the beds at the picturesque adult only pool.
The tennis instructors were great in the the intermediate clinics I took. My only quibble with those clinics is that they were a bit too crowded ... It would have been great if they had made the groups a little smaller.
Overall, I would definitely go back to this Club Med.
My only complaints are that:
1) The room we had was just ok. It was "renoed" but not to the same standard as other resorts we've been to, and our view of the garden was pretty ugly. That said, the lovely housekeepers kept it clean and tidy.
2) The beach is pretty but since it's not on the ocean, it's not in the same league as the beaches in the Caribbean or Mexico
3) The car seats they had for our transfers to and from the airport were old and not properly installed so my husband had to re-install them. On the way back to the airport following our week they didn't even have the right size car seat for our little one which was a bit annoying. I personally think Club Med should be working more closely with the company they contract out to make sure these problems are rectified.
But again, these complaints are small relative to the joy and fun our family had. Perfect example: when it was time to go home, our 5-year-old started to bawl her eyes out because she didn't want to leave! If that's not the sign of good holiday, what is?

Room Tip: We liked being in the A section as it was close to the dining room and pools. We were on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear sceneToronto,
Thank you for sharing this with us! We are thrilled that you returned to our resort and enjoyed our resort activities and dining options! We will be passing all of your kind words on to our staff members. Once again, thanks for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I booked this trip two weeks prior to departure as we wanted to get away from the cold snap in NYC for the President's Day weekend. We chose the Sandpiper as allows for a short visit, we stayed 4 days, 3 nights. Love the package program, including airfare, as everything is organized for you. (It is nice to have someone else take care of everything, super easy) Although the weather was poor, we made the most of our trip. Lionel and the GO's at Club Med were so kind, they tried their best to cheer us up as weather can make or break one's vacation. We exercised all day long. Attended Marisa's classes (3 back to back), she is the BEST trainer, full of energy and a beautiful person. I went swimming in the heated pool, the girls wrapped me in towels and sent me to the hot showers. We earned eating at the buffet and drinking El Sebastion wine for four days. (The white wine was actually quite good). We already are looking into booking our next trip via Club Med the end of the year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Suzanne D,
Thanks for sharing! We are very happy that you enjoyed our pool area, dining options, and service. We will pass your compliments on to our staff. Once again, thanks for the review and we hope you choose to stay with us in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

this was the most fantastic holiday the people here made it the best. EVERYONE is so friendly. the circus g.o s and latitude 27 g.os were fab. nick josh hannah artie chris and isabella , ethan and alison made the stay fabulous. the food was great and there was an amazing selection of food every night. the g.os sit down to talk wherever you are breakfast lunch or dinner. the sailing and pools were excellent too. we will most definitely be returning soon. thank you g.o s

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guestd321,
Thank you for the review! We're so happy you enjoyed our resort activities, dining options, and pool area. We will be passing your kind words on to our staff! Once again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Club Med charges a high premium to be at the resort for Presidents Week, but they don't staff up for the crowds.

Kids club - 30 kids in 8 to ten year old group and one GO at sailing. Kids have to wait and wAit and wait. Same for most activities and mini club/baby club. No additional staff for crowds.

Dinner is another problem. Everyone comes early due to young kids and shows. No seating last night! Manager of the resort did get involved and opened another room, but he said they had 800 guests and were doing their best. Not my problem. If you charge for that premium, I shouldn't have to wAit with ten minutes to get a hamburger or cup of sherbet. Could two people scoop ice cream?

The Internet is a disgrace. If this is all inclusive, why charge five dollars an hour for the Internet? Wifi should be included or fees should be more reasonable and include more than one device.

In my deluxe room, there is diet coke, but no hair conditioner. Just shampoo and soap.

The staff is great. They work hard and they are friendly.

Lots of included activities and enough room for everyone on 20 tennis courts. Tennis staff is good.

Bread, pastries are amazing. They try with the quantity of selection of food choices at each meal. It is fresh since they are preparing so much at each meal, but it is still a buffet for large crowds.

There is no outdoor bar. Bartenders at only bar are nice, but you have to ask for the secret stash of goldfish. No snacks except at dinner time.

This resort could be great, but they get so many of the little things wrong.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clubmedofficial, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Sandpiper Bay, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear pickymom6,
Thank you for sharing this review with us! We are glad you were pleased with our staff during your visit However, we are very sorry that other aspects of our resort did not meet your expectations. Please know that this is not the norm for Club Med Sandpiper Bay. We truly appreciate the feedback you have provided here. Once again, thanks for the review and we hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Your Club Med Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Sandpiper Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Sandpiper Bay

Address: 4500 S.E Pine Valley Street, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34952
Location: United States > Florida > Port Saint Lucie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Saint Lucie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Med Sandpiper Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Floridian charm in our renovated all-inclusive family resort of Sandpiper, nestled by the Saint Lucie River which provides fun and excitement on the beach or on sailboats. Travel to Club Med Sandpiper Bay with your family and enjoy a carefree all-inclusive vacation amidst a full-amenity resort where families can discover incomparable sports and children's programs. Make the most of your vacation to discover tennis, golf and fitness with our top coaches in the Club Med Academies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Club Med so you can book your Club Med Sandpiper Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Hotel Port Saint Lucie
Med Sandpiper Club
Club Med Sandpiper Florida
Club Med Port Saint Lucie
Sandpiper Club Med
Club Med Port St Lucie
Port Saint Lucie Club Med
Club Med Sandpiper Bay Florida/Port Saint Lucie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Sandpiper Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.