We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priced out of the market” 2 of 5 stars
Review of PGA Golf Club in PGA Village - Dye Course

PGA Golf Club in PGA Village - Dye Course
1916 Perfect Drive, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34986
(772)467-1300
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Priced out of the market”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I used to make the I hour trek up the coast to PGA Village because the courses especially the Dye course were so good. But these price hike are crazy and so it is with sadness that I will not be making the trip until hopefully the market tells you have gone too far.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    7
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

wonderful place to stay and to play. Especially in the "off' season. I am lucky enough to live right around the corner, so to speak, so am able to enjoy all that the PGA has to offer, the museum, the learning center, and the courses. If you cannot find something to your liking here, then you are not a golfer!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Play like a Pro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

These 3 courses are on a par with any TCP course. If you are lucky enough to book during the off season then the cost will knock your socks off. Last April the Dye course was just $45.00 cart included! To make it even better there's no waiting because (you guessed it) its off season! If you find the green fees too high during the winter then there are a ton of courses in Port St Lucie that are under $50.00 with cart.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
“A great day of golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

First, as far as price goes we booked a last minute package through Golfpac to stay and play at the three courses at PGA Village in Port St. Lucie. We were given an overall quote which I was quite satisfied with. In my experience Pete Dye courses are in great demand and on the high end of what you would expect to pay for a resort course. The quote I accepted included green fees all three days so I have no idea what it would cost just to play the Dye course.

We played the Wanamaker course the day before and at least three separate rain cells passed through, finally driving us off the course at 18. The weather was scheduled to be somewhat iffy the next day as well. We knew that it would be cart path only, which usually makes for a miserable round of golf if only because you have to guess at the right club and in my experience usually wrongly. Also Murphy's Law kicks in and you can always expect your ball to land as far from the cart path as possible. Therefore we had the makings of a perfect golf storm - bad weather, cart path golf and the brutality of a Pete Dye course. Apparently that got to a lot of other people, but luckily not us.

The next day dawned bright, warm and very windy, but no rain clouds. After warming up we took the relatively long ride to the Dye course which is completely separate from the other two courses at PGA Village. The starter told us that four foursomes in front had cancelled and we had the course to ourselves. That turned out to be true - one singleton went through at 14 and that was it. We played as if we owned the course.

I asked the starter if the course was as hard as most Pete Dye courses and he said not really. The previous year we played his beautiful Gasparilla course at Boca Grande and knew that Pete has a gentler side, but after a few holes we realized that is a relative term. This Dye course has a tremendous amount of undulation to the fairways and the greens - much more so than at most Florida courses. Pete moved a lot of earth here. He really puts a new meaning into the word 'swale'. Dali would have been impressed. In addition to the undulation Pete throws in a hellish number of bunkers in all sizes and shapes including elevated pot and eyebrow fairway bunkers that will snag a perfect drive the way an outfielder will jump at the fence to rob a hitter of a home run. Other bunkers were so ridiculously small that it seemed almost impossible to hit one, until you did.

One of Pete's other usual design features was a boon in terms of neutering the agony of cart path golf - almost all holes have waste bunkers down each side of the fairway so that you never need to make that walk all across the fairway, unless of course both of you hit to opposite sides.

The best feature of this course is how well the greens are protected, not only by bunkers and water, but elevation changes around the green that make a good short game the most important asset to bring to play. Since most people don't have a good short game, getting close to the pin is well nigh impossible. On top of that the greens are tricky to read. So I guess what I am saying is - don't expect to score well, but enjoy the challenge. The course is in terrific shape from tee to green and wildlife is abundant, There are houses on only a few holes and only two fairways are adjoining. I would rate this course as higher than very good and just below excellent - four and a half stars.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Massive Price Hike”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

In the past a wonderful place to play golf. Three Terrific Golf Courses combined with the PGA Center for Golf Learning and Performance made this a great place for Golf. However prices and policies were recently revamped doing away with twilight rates and nine hole rates . Bigger prices hikes are coming in December ($150 rounds) The learning center ( a golf range) is $30 for entry to hit balls This has put the place out of reach for ordinary folks and driving away local customers. A shame but there are many less costly alternatives in the area and tourists should seek to avoid being gouged. Too bad the PGA of America is more interested in profit . Their website states that their mission is "promoting the game of golf to everyone, everywhere". That does not seem to be the case anymore. A shame. Hopefully they will reconsider.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PGA Golf Club in PGA Village - Dye Course also viewed

 

Been to PGA Golf Club in PGA Village - Dye Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PGA Golf Club in PGA Village - Dye Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.