We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Coastal Grill

Sunset Coastal Grill
602 Monument Ave, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-1916
850-227-7900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Dessert
mexico beach
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We went early in the evening 5ish and were promptly sat and waited on. the server was very friendly. We had the banging shrimp as an appetizer it was pretty good would have been better with the sauce on the side so you could dip it instead of it getting soggy with the sauce on top. We had a lettuce wedge salad which was coated in blue cheese dressing. It would have been nice had it been on the side to. It was very good though once I scraped off some of the dressing. We also had the chicken penne which was good and my daughter had the chicken with the gouda which she said was great. The only thing I WOULD SUGGEST IS TO GET THE SAUCES AND DRESSINGS ON THE SIDE WHICH I USUALLY DO.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    103
    56
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“no fresh fish”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

here we are on the coast of Florida looking out on the Bay and they have no fresh fish!
what were were served was frozen and was not very tasty even though pricey for what it was.
location was good though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place with a great view of the bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere for a romantic dinner.
Service is friendly and the food is good!
Plan for a sunset meal and you won't regret it, the view of the bay is beautiful.
Try the crab and artichoke dip, awesome!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good food and good views!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ate at this restaurant while we were on vacation in florida. The food was good but nothing spectacular. We had a large group and everything took forever!!! We had kids so they got impatient and started getting into trouble. I would say call ahead or something for a group-couples they should do fine. I dont think you would be disappointed eating here but dont think they will knock your socks off either. You can see the bay while you eat...so plan for a sunset dinner if you try this restaurant out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Went for lunch, just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had the mahi mahi lunch special, and while it was very good, it was also a bit dry. My husband had the cajun shrimp salad. Why restaurants think cheddar cheese on a salad is required is beyond me. He said the shrimp was very good though.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Coastal Grill also viewed

Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sunset Coastal Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Coastal Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.