We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Coastal Grill

Sunset Coastal Grill
602 Monument Ave, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-1916
850-227-7900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Dessert
NWFLA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Great place for family or couple's casual dining on St. Joe Bay and the Gulf Shore of NW Florida. Upscale menu for the area at a moderate price. Full bar Good service coupled with local seafood fare.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    103
    56
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trussville, AL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spend as much time as possible in this area, and SCG is definitely our favorite restaurant. We love the lobster bisque, shrimp & grits, lobster & shrimp salad, turkey panini, Gouda pasta, etc. Today I had grilled amberjack, and it was delicious. The servers are friendly & attentive despite being busy, and the view is excellent, sunset or not. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Walton Beach, FL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner and View.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Made a reservation just prior to sunset and we were not disappointed. What a great view and an outstanding meal as well! Our server (Vickie) was very attentive without being obtrusive. The food is as good as any we have eaten just about anywhere along this section of the Gulf coast and the prices are very reasonable. We will definitely come back on our next visit to the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Sunset Coastal Grill is the place to go and watch the sunset on the forgotten coast. The views are awesome. Sometimes you can catch the eagle sitting in the tree right outside the window. We love the martini's. When we eat there the ribeye steak and the blackened fish are my favorites. My husband also likes the pasta. The wait staff rocks.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Finally found my oysters!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I love fried oysters so that was one of the reasons we went to dinner here. We also
wanted to eat and have a view of the sunset. The waitress made sure we sat at one of the
better tables with a view.
We had a bottle of wine with our seafood and it was scrumptious! This place isn't real fancy
but also not fast food. It's about 15 min. drive from Cape san blas inn!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Coastal Grill also viewed

Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sunset Coastal Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Coastal Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.