We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing unspoiled beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape San Blas

Cape San Blas
131 McCosh Mill Road, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing unspoiled beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Cape San Blas was our destination for our most recent family vacation and we were far from disappointed. The beach's fine white sand is absolutely stunning and the lack of large commercial developments gives you the feeling of being the only people around. The state park at the end of the beach offers beach access on one site and access to St. Joe Bay on the other. St. Joe Bay gives users the option of snorkeling/wading and there is no limit to the amount of wild life you'll see. Sea urchins are so plentiful we quickly understood why some locals referred to them as the 'roaches of the sea'. We also saw stinkrays, numerous fish and were even able to wrangle up a few a few scallops that were in season at the time. NOTE!!! If you plan to snorkel, you must have a 'diver down' flag or state park employees will issue fines. Be sure to spend at least one evening outside under the stars as the night sky is one of the most beautiful you'll ever see. We spotted numerous constellations, shooting stars, and one evening, even saw the glow from the international space station as it crossed the heavens. We were also pleasantly surprised to find that beach bonfires were permitted on the island and provided a night of wonder that is seldom available on most beaches.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancyLou1120, Owner at Cape San Blas, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
The beautifull forgotten coast will be found by turists one day. The Cape is the best Kept Secret in Florida. Hopefully will stay as is for a while dog friendly and family walking the unspoiled beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    48
    13
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wetumpka, Alabama
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Fishing, Crabbiing, Eating, Lounging. Don't go if you expect Destin or Panama City. Don't miss coneheads to eat or the trading post for supplies.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you like the bonfires on a secluded beach, Cape San Blas is the place for you. I can't tell you how much my family loves this beach.. We have planned our family vacation for our 4th annual trip to CSB in June 2013 and also a Spring Break trip. SO ready to go!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Visit the lighthouse and buildings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nice place to see how the beach has changed over the years. We enjoyed walking up the lighthouse stairs (for a small fee) and talking to the locals in the historic buildings/museum. Not fancy or big, but a nice stop to get out of the car and take a break.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our favorite beach!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you hate the congested, touristy feel of Destin, Orange Beach,Seaside and Fort Waldon area then this is for you! We began visiting Cape San Blas, St George Island and Appalachicola about 10 years ago and have never gone back to the crowded beaches of the Destin area. Best part??NO HIGHRISES!!!! Just beautiful beach houses and a few apartments for rent. You have the Gulf on one side and the Port St Joe Bay on the other-from most areas on the pennisula you can see both at the same time. Beautiful water clarity-especially the closer you get to the park end. Not alot of places to eat,which is fine by us-we love to cook. Love the privacy on the beaches. Had a sea turtle lay eggs under our tent once-cool! You will not regret a trip here!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape San Blas also viewed

Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Cape San Blas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape San Blas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.