We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boat rentals at Cape San Blas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorse Water Safaris

Seahorse Water Safaris
340 Marina Drive, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456
850 227-1099
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Boat rentals at Cape San Blas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Seahorse offers fiberglass hull pontoons. They are clean and well maintained but not fancy. The business offers Snorkel Trips and Sunset Cruises. We had a really great time with Captain Gary on his snorkel trip that we rented a pontoon and did it again. Saint Joe Bay is very pretty and very nice. A bit chilly yet this time of year but we really had a great day.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    9
    1
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Outing but not high quality boat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We rented a 20 foot boat from Seahorse to go to tip of St. Joseph Peninsula. We had a beautiful day at the tip finding incredible shells on unspoiled beaches. The bay was pretty smooth on the way over so it was an easy 30 minute trip over. However, these are flat bottom boats and the bay was a bit rough on our way back and this boat took on lots of water. We were drenched with ice cold water unless we went extremely slow. At first we went fast so we could make it back in the required time but we were so cold and drenched, we finally gave up and had to drive slowly. It took us 1:15 minutes to get back. I do not recommend these flat bottom boats as they can't handle any wave action. I would recommend an outfitter that has motor boats with higher sides that can handle different waters. Upon our arrival, we mentioned to an employee about getting drenched and this person stated "Oh, this is the boat that sank last week. We plan on selling this boat soon." That was real comforting. Not!!! While I highly recommend going to the tip of the peninsula, I do not recommend these boats.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great sunset cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Captain let little kids and a couple of dad's steer the boat. He knows the town's history to a great depth. Saw dolphins, pelicans, and seagulls galore. Sunset was beautiful. Only $50 for family of four. I tipped him after and recommend same. Great!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“History Lesson & a Sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Short but sweet sunset "cruise" aboard a small passenger boat in the Port St. Joe bay. Captain Gary gives a lively and detailed account of the interesting (but often sad) history of Port St. Joe - Florida's Constitution city. The hour long trip takes you only a short distance from the marina - but you will see a boat graveyard, dolphins, local fisherman and - weather permitting - a FAB sunset! It's BYOB but that's OK! Only $12 - and worth it! Dress casual and don't wear your good shoes because the floor of the boat get's splashed a bit in the slightly choppy bay.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We went on their Sunset Cruise. For $12.00 a person, you definitely get more than your monies worth. Gary, the owner takes you out for a 1 1/2 hrs to not only watch the sunset from the water, he is wealth of knowledge about the entire Forgoten Coast of old Florida history. Great for families! BYOB also!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seahorse Water Safaris also viewed

Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
Port Saint Joe, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Seahorse Water Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahorse Water Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.