We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like the smell of mold, this is your place!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24440 Sandhill Blvd, Port Charlotte, FL 33983   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Port Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you like the smell of mold, this is your place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and let me just tell you, the smell of mold filled my nose the moment I walked in the lobby. My room wasn't much better. The staff mentioned they had recently renovated the rooms, well they should have included the bathrooms. My room was infested with ants and when I asked the staff, the only answer or solution they could give me was to move my room. I did so, and that room was worse then the first room. Mold! Mold! Mold!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Amanda C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all issues you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered which affected your stay negatively. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, we have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCares
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    30
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
38
33
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you want Quiet, this is the place. Not so much because of the setting, but because there is no one here, literally. There were two cars in the lot and when I had breakfast, i was the only ine there the entire time.i was here for 15 hours and saw one other guest in the hallway. It was like having a private hotel. Rooms are clean, new equipment in the gym, and staff was friendly. I will say the priority gift was lacking, being just a small bottle of water. There are not many places to eat that are convenient, but overall, I would stay again. My biggest problem was the phones. My kept ringing over and over at night, then started again at 5 am. When answering there was a clicking noise, so I am assuming it was something messed up with wake up call service. I finally disconnected both phones to sleep after front desk couldn't figure it out. It is on a beautiful lake, but you can't see it because the willows are so overgrown. Overall, if I am back in the area, I will stay here again because besides the phone thing, it was very quiet, relaxing, and peaceful to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
So glad you had a relaxing stay with us. We have the best clients staying with us even if the hotel was overflowing with guests, I believe you would have been just as satisfied with the atmosphere. We are always working hard to create A Great Hotel Guests Love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

While on a 4th of July motorcycle trip, we had the pleasure of staying here. We had been riding all day, stopped by a Harley shop in port Charlotte, then went to the holiday inn express for some much needed rest from the sun. As I was walking in, the heel from the boots I had just bought at the Harley shop popped off. I was at the desk calling the Harley shop to see if I could return them the next day. They were not open the following day. The thought of getting back on the MC and riding back there was not very appealing. The front desk manager had over heard my conversation and could evidently see my frustration; and offered to drive me to the Harley shop. Unbelievable! Who does this? Tracie drove me there and was so incredibly nice. Our overnight stay at this hotel was wonderful. A special thank you to Tracie. I hope the hotel management is aware of what an outstanding and friendly person they have representing their establishment.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Deidre,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites! I was very disappointed to hear of the problems in your journey to get here, and it was my pleasure to help you! I enjoyed it, as it’s a great feeling to know you made someone’s vacation a little brighter. I hope we will see you again very soon!

Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Great Hotels Guest Love!

Tracie Medina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We only stayed one night but were greeted with a friendly smile, a chocolate chip cookie, and helpful advice for restaurants in the area. Our room looked over a small lake with lots of birds and "probably" an alligator. The beds were very clean and comfortable, the air conditioner worked quite well, and the breakfast in the morning was really good--all kinds of warm and cold items. We would definitely stay there again while in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear MaryGinny,



I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Port Charlotte Holiday Inn Express & Suites. I am so happy to hear you were greeted with a smile, and that you enjoyed everything. I look forward to your return visits, and wish you safe travels until we see you again!



Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Great Hotels Guests Love



Tracie Medina, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two nights (Friday and Sunday) while in Florida for our granddaughter's wedding. We arrived on Friday a little tired after traveling almost all day. The desk clerk greeted us professionally yet was very warm and enthusiastic in her demeanor. She let us know there was complimentary juice as well as coffee. Our room was spacious and very clean and comfortable. Very nice to see the toiletries are now supplied from Bath & Body works (white citrus is my favorite new scent). Very refreshing/clean scent. We both got a good nights rest. When we checked in on Sunday night, a different clerk greeted us just as warmly and offered us bottles of water. We even got the same room as on Friday night. At breakfast the next day, the clerk that greeted us on Friday night was there at the desk and remembered us.

Room Tip: This being our first visit to the Port Charlotte hotel, we couldn't recommend one room or floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mary L,



The staff and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit during your granddaughter’s wedding! It’s such a special day for your family, and I’m happy the staff was warm and caring. We strive to be a Great Hotel that Guests Love, and the staff enjoys making guests smile! Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Charlotte! We hope you will return and visit us again. Thank you for sharing your feedback, which I always share with the staff as well!

Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Great Hotels Guest Love



Tracie Medina, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We picked this hotel for the location right off I-75. We went to Ft. Myers' waterfront, Venice Beach, Punta Gorda -- The Villages, Peace River, etc. These are areas that we figured would not have the Memorial weekend crowds and we were right. It was a quiet leisurely weekend at the hotel as well as our travel stops. The hotel provided a nice hot breakfast, comfortable beds, and big TV for late night relaxing. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear WD80,

Thank you for picking the Holiday Inn Express & Suites for your stay! Many of our guests love our location as well, as it’s an easy drive to so many great places! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hot breakfast, comfortable bed and 37” HD TV, and especially that you enjoyed yourselves! The staff and I look forward to your next visit, and thank you taking the time to share your feedback.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Great Hotels Guest Love

Tracie Medina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We are actually still at the Holiday Inn Express in Port Charlotte. I'm writing this review as I sit on my balcony overlooking a beautiful 20 acre lake! The balcony is a massive 10'x13' making it plenty big enough to enjoy.
My wife and I came down on a business /Pleasure trip.
The rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly as well as helpful. They were happy to give us a few tips to cut our drive time to the lovely town of Punta Gorda, located just about five miles from the hotel. They also suggested a very good and reasonably priced Mexican Resturant as well. If you get the opportunity to come down, make sure to get up and walk out on the balcony, look to the left portion of the lake and you just might see the resident gator making its rounds!

I assure you that if possible, we will be back soon!

Room Tip: As you can see, we loved the balcony room. S make sure to reserve one for your trip. Keep in mind ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Bullfrogbend,

I am so pleased to hear that your trip with us was such a great one! I especially appreciate the great description of our balcony rooms, guests always enjoy them! I can tell you talked to the staff, as you even know the name of our lake’s alligator! Everyone on the staff enjoys sharing tips and suggestions with guests, and we are so pleased that everything was enjoyed! We know you will be back as well, and look forward to your visit! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!

Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Great Hotels Guest Love

Tracie Medina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte

Address: 24440 Sandhill Blvd, Port Charlotte, FL 33983
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Charlotte, Florida is a unique change from the ordinary interstate hotel. We are proud of our newly remodeled hotel, ans hope you will visit us soon! With an excellent location in southwest Florida, this beautifully decorated 69 room hotel is situated directly on Lake Sandhill just east of I-75 at exit 170. A great destination for overnight trips or extended stays. Numerous dining and entertainment options are available within miles, including the new Applebees across the street.This newly renovated hotel is located within close proximity to major cities such as Sarasota, Fort Myers, and Arcadia. It is also a short drive from the growing Punta Gorda/North Fort Myers Airport. Hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed Internet, and 37" HD TV with HBO. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring hot options daily including eggs, breakfast meats and our new freshly made pancakes. Also, a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and yogurt. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Port Charlotte, FL and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Visit us and see why we're Great Hotels Guests Love! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte Hotel Port Charlotte
Holiday Inn Port Charlotte
Port Charlotte Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.