We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of Everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24440 Sandhill Blvd, Port Charlotte, FL 33983   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Port Charlotte
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“In the middle of Everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We picked this hotel for the location right off I-75. We went to Ft. Myers' waterfront, Venice Beach, Punta Gorda -- The Villages, Peace River, etc. These are areas that we figured would not have the Memorial weekend crowds and we were right. It was a quiet leisurely weekend at the hotel as well as our travel stops. The hotel provided a nice hot breakfast, comfortable beds, and big TV for late night relaxing. We enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear WD80,

Thank you for picking the Holiday Inn Express & Suites for your stay! Many of our guests love our location as well, as it’s an easy drive to so many great places! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hot breakfast, comfortable bed and 37” HD TV, and especially that you enjoyed yourselves! The staff and I look forward to your next visit, and thank you taking the time to share your feedback.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Great Hotels Guest Love

Tracie Medina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
24
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We are actually still at the Holiday Inn Express in Port Charlotte. I'm writing this review as I sit on my balcony overlooking a beautiful 20 acre lake! The balcony is a massive 10'x13' making it plenty big enough to enjoy.
My wife and I came down on a business /Pleasure trip.
The rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly as well as helpful. They were happy to give us a few tips to cut our drive time to the lovely town of Punta Gorda, located just about five miles from the hotel. They also suggested a very good and reasonably priced Mexican Resturant as well. If you get the opportunity to come down, make sure to get up and walk out on the balcony, look to the left portion of the lake and you just might see the resident gator making its rounds!

I assure you that if possible, we will be back soon!

Room Tip: As you can see, we loved the balcony room. S make sure to reserve one for your trip. Keep in mind ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Bullfrogbend,

I am so pleased to hear that your trip with us was such a great one! I especially appreciate the great description of our balcony rooms, guests always enjoy them! I can tell you talked to the staff, as you even know the name of our lake’s alligator! Everyone on the staff enjoys sharing tips and suggestions with guests, and we are so pleased that everything was enjoyed! We know you will be back as well, and look forward to your visit! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!

Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Great Hotels Guest Love

Tracie Medina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had two room with rewards points. We requested room next to each other and that right where they were. Everyone was very friendly. Breakfast was great, love the pancakes. Beds were comfortable Very convenient to our day trips, love the Nav A Gator! We all enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Friends from The Villages,

We always enjoy your visits to the area, and thank you for staying with us! The staff and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and our Director of Sales is always happy to see your group!

I know we will see you again soon, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We really enjoy having you stay with us, and always do our best to meet any special requests! Our staff enjoys making your vacation perfect!

Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Great Hotels Guest Love

Tracie Medina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good - clean and updated. Great flat screen TV but didn't get CBS which was a real roblem since that's where the NCAA finals were! Standard HI breakfast - good selection. Common problem at most hotel breakfast rooms - either need twice as many trash bins or need to empty them more often!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Traveling Golf,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Charlotte! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We also appreciate the feedback, especially about the trash cans and more were ordered!

We hope we will see you again soon!

Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Great Hotels Guest Love

Tracie Medina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was my third time there, I personally walked through the other 5 properties in the area then settled on the holiday inn, I was very happy there for the past two years. Then...I tried the new "country inn" for a change... and it was a mistake...and we checked out and went back to our original choice of the holiday inn. They have the best pool, bar none and it is in a secluded area overlooking a nice marsh area and very private! the other one was bordered by the parking lot....terrible. The Breakfast (delicious lots of TLC) is by far the better of the others as well...people that care about what they do obviously work here! because it shows itself in all the areas. I will not be trying other properties upon my return which will be in October.

Kevin H.

Room Tip: Room #101 is under the gym which is open until 11:00pm..and when the tread mill is being used you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Kevin H,

Thank you for such a thoughtful review, and our staff appreciated it. We do strive to put our own special TLC into everything we do, from your arrival to departure. I agree, our staff really does care about all of our guests and your experience at our hotel. I am so pleased that you felt that!

We look forward to your return in October, and you know you will be greeted with a friendly smile and warm cookies!

Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Great Hotels Guest Love

Tracie Medina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity Fl
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Was doing video work down here & stayed for a couple of nights. Hotel was nice , & clean , beds were good , nice flat screen tv , frig & micro .nice view of a little lake. Breakfast was plentiful & good. Front desk people & breakfast people were very nice. Only down side is the only restaurant is Applebee's , and its awful ! Bartender is rude. Other then that this hotel is fine. Would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sean B,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Charlotte, and taking the time to share your feedback. We also have countless restaurants in the area, the next closest is about 1/4 a mile down Sandhill called Emil's. It is family owned and operated, as well as Nav-A-Gator that is about 2 miles away on the Peace River. We also have an amazing Italian Restaurant, where you can go only for dinner (or both dinner and comedy) called Visani's. There's other delicious restaurants near Publix and all within 1 mile. We also have one that's being built at the moment, and one breaking ground soon!

Please let the staff know on your next visit you're looking for dinner options, as we also have Go Waiter that delivers over 20 restaurants to you as well. We have plenty of options, and our staff is eager to direct you to the place that will satisfy you!

Thank you being our valued guest, and we look forward to your next visit.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites- Great Hotels Guest Love
Tracie Medina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations in every way. The rooms were very clean, housekeeping was excellent. The breakfast was phenomenal!!! The lady in charge of the breakfast area made sure that all breakfast items were refilled when necessary. She kept the entire area very clean. The entire staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medeovin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Twostepr,

Thank you taking the time to share your feedback with others. I agree our breakfast hostess enjoys her job, and making sure our guests feel welcome. It's our goal to exceed expectations, and I am so happy we did. I think it's clear from your review you could feel we strive to be a Great Hotel that Guests Love! We hope your travels bring you back to our hotel soon!

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Charlotte! We enjoyed having you as a valued guest.

Warm Regards,

Tracie Medina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte

Address: 24440 Sandhill Blvd, Port Charlotte, FL 33983
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Port Charlotte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Charlotte, Florida is a unique change from the ordinary interstate hotel. We are proud of our newly remodeled hotel, ans hope you will visit us soon! With an excellent location in southwest Florida, this beautifully decorated 69 room hotel is situated directly on Lake Sandhill just east of I-75 at exit 170. A great destination for overnight trips or extended stays. Numerous dining and entertainment options are available within miles, including the new Applebees across the street.This newly renovated hotel is located within close proximity to major cities such as Sarasota, Fort Myers, and Arcadia. It is also a short drive from the growing Punta Gorda/North Fort Myers Airport. Hotel features include free local phone calls, high-speed Internet, and 37" HD TV with HBO. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring hot options daily including eggs, breakfast meats and our new freshly made pancakes. Also, a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/ pastries, and yogurt. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Port Charlotte, FL and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Visit us and see why we're Great Hotels Guests Love! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte Hotel Port Charlotte
Holiday Inn Port Charlotte
Port Charlotte Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Port Charlotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.