We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai one on!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Cafe

Thai Cafe
4200 Tamiami Trl # G, Port Charlotte, FL
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 164 Restaurants in Port Charlotte
Cuisines: Thai
Description: (941) 629-0727
Restaurant details
Description: (941) 629-0727
Highlands, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Thai one on!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Located in a strip mall the appearance from outside isn't much. However, the interior is decorated very nicely and it's very clean. Service was prompt and efficient and prices were very reasonable. For $6.50 I got a cup of soup and a bowl of red curry chicken with a scoop of rice. The plate was delicious but I had asked for a "4" on their spicy scale of 1-5 and it tasted like a "1". The other two people in my party had ordered low on the scale so maybe there was some confusion between the server and the kitchen. It was still very good but I'm only giving as many points to them as what my spiciness level SHOULD have been. Will definitely try it again though and for the value it's hard to beat.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CONWAY
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Thai food !!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We ate here two nites in a row, the food was sooooo good. When you are looking for good Thai food, you will not be disappointed here. They have a great menu, and the prices are extremely reasonable. The waitresses are very pleasant, and the food arrives within 5 minutes of placing your order!!! Your GPS may not find the exact street number, but it is right next to a Binge establishment in a large strip mall. Eat here and you will leave very happy, as they say. Two nights in a row on a three night stay, what else can I say????

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, vt, usa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Usually, you don't get to have great service, great food, and reasonable prices in one place. But, Thai Cafe does it all. We have been eating here for years and it never disappoints. I love the spicy Duck and basil stir fry. The Pad Thai is awesome. They will "heat" a dish to any level. I usually take 4/5. But, if you ask for mild, you'll get it. And, if you ask for Thai spicy (like my husband does), don't share the dish with just anybody.

People are discovering Thai Cafe. I'm so happy for them, but it's getting harder to get a table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I really think that Suzy mobile who says she knows Thai food, has eaten too often at Americanised Thai restaurants. I can assure you all the staff, and the owner is Thai born and bred, and as can be seen by the vast majority of the reviews, the food is just about perfect. I suggest her part returns and gives them another try, all restaurants can have a bad day. As for me?, I have no connection with the Thai Cafe, other than a regular satisfied customer, who has never had a bad meal there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dont judge a book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My daughter and I decided to try this hidden gem. From outside the strip mall it seems dingy... that is deception at its finest! We have eaten there several times since. Food is always stellar.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Cafe also viewed

Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.