We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bocca Lupo Coal Oven Pizza

Bocca Lupo Coal Oven Pizza
1900 Tamiami Trail, Port Charlotte, FL
(941) 206-9653
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 157 Restaurants in Port Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Has the largest coal oven on the market, everything homemade, pizza flippers front and center, full bar, dessert pizzas, owner trained by World Pizza Champ Tony Gemignani
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great spot!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great food, great service, great value.
Always friendly staff. Family deal great price. Bar is great too, sports on tv

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    36
    10
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Bring Back the Grease”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We read a lot of the reviews before we went and all the bad reviews said lots of grease. Well, in my opinion the best pizza is suppose to have grease/oil. They must have taken these bad reviews to heart, because we ordered pizza and a meatball sub. First let me say I loved the taste/flavor of the pizza and sub, but they were so dry, no oil, no grease and minimal marinara it was impossible to swallow without a drink. A couple of the meatballs in the sub were red inside and undercooked.
Maybe oil/grease is not such a bad thing. Bring back the grease!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best pizza in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've had pizza in a lot of places and this is hands down the best pizza in town. The dough is just so good!! The sauce is also very good. The service is over and beyond what to expect. I just love this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place and good dough.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Here half price pizza on full moons. Like the garlic knots floating in olive oil and garlic.The white pizza with prosciutto was great and also the new jersey pie is good . The also have the restaurant next door if you want to eat good italian food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
1 review
“Hands Down the Best in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I consider myself a regular now at Bocca Lupo since discovering them a months ago. The food and service there is outstanding! The pizza's are the best I've had since I moved to Florida 10 years ago along with the wings and garlic knots. Every time we go in we are always greeted with a smile and promt service, as long as you get there early. Other people have discovered my favorite place but its always worth the wait in line. I have had the pleasure of having Lindsey as my server many times and would recommend anyone to ask for her when visiting Bocca Lupo. She always has a warm smile and great attitude!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocca Lupo Coal Oven Pizza also viewed

Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bocca Lupo Coal Oven Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bocca Lupo Coal Oven Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.