We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot of good food and a fun atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donato's Pasta Plus Italian

Donato's Pasta Plus Italian
1900 Tamiami Trl # 116, Port Charlotte, FL 33948
(941) 764-1600
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lot of good food and a fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went for dinner here and it's a lot of fun. They've put a lot of work into the decor and a lot of times when you see that, it seems the food lacks a bit. NOT SO here... I had the fusilli and sausage and it was great-order the spicy. The service was excellent and attentive and included a visit from the manager (owner?) which is always a great idea for a restaurant.

I plan on visiting again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    47
    18
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“2nd time and still consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I had lunch here a second time yesterday. The food, outstanding! The ambiance, outstanding! The server Megan was, well outstanding!!!! Megan was very attentive without being overly friendly. I can't stand it when you go out to eat and the server tries to tell you their life story. Megan was awesome, personable but not intrusive. Being in the restaurant industry myself for many years, I hope the owner realizes he has a jewel working here. We will be back but next time, I'm going for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Buon cibo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Charming, well decorated, cozy restaurant with very good food, large portions and reasonable prices.
Met friends here from the Chicago area for a night of memories and old times.
We found the service very good, along with an excellent server who was very pleasant and informative.
The pasta fagioli soup was different from what I am used to, but found it delicious none the less. The side of Italian sausage was excellent and the Lasagna was hot & tasty with a definite commitment to Italian seasoning, the likes which are hard to find in the generic type, run of the mill "Florida Italian" restaurant..
We all had good things to say about the food and service.
Thought about going to the Carrabba's restaurant across the street...so glad we didn't.
We will be back!
Ciao for now!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“donato's restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is the best Italian restaurant around the area. The decor is very nice, you feel like you are in Italy. The service is wonderful, very pleasant and cheerful.Food is excellent especially the bread.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“cute and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The decor is supposed to make you think you are back in the days of the "Godfather" movie set...complete with names of the Godfather family...Sonny, Michael, Fredo...kinda cheesey but cute. Back round music is great oldies from the era, etc. Now to the food and service. Been there twice in the last couple of months. both times the service was good... my entree was decent, and all in all a good value for the $$. My only problem was with their "house salad". Dressing tasted like it was bottled and now shaken before it was put on the greens. All I tasted was the oil, yuk.
Will I go back? Yes, if I am ever i the area again. I just won't order a salad

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donato's Pasta Plus Italian also viewed

Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
Port Charlotte, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Donato's Pasta Plus Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donato's Pasta Plus Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.