We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ponte Vedra Lodge - April, 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach to your Saves list
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   607 Ponte Vedra Boulevard, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stir the Fire!
Taylor Mill, Kentucky
1 review
“Ponte Vedra Lodge - April, 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, kind of a second honeymoon, and absolutely loved it. Every room has a view of the ocean and beautiful Ponte Vedra Beach, and we liked that the resort was only 2 stories tall so it was a short walk to anywhere we wanted to go. The room was beautiful - not your typical rectangular room. We stayed in an Ocean suite and loved having the kitchen area for eating most of our breakfast and lunch in the room, and would go out every night for dinner, We enjoyed the outside fire pit for sitting beachside at dark as the air was still a bit chilly when the sun went down. All of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and accommodating. We ordered room service for breakfast on our anniversary and the food and the service were wonderful. We loved the adult only pool by the beach (Families can use the pool next to the gym), and the gym suited our needs perfectly. I took an exercise class that had some of the local "members" in it, and they went out of their way to make me feel welcome. We didn't eat dinner at the indoor restaurant- but ate at the poolside Oasis a few times and the food was excellent, not to mention the atmosphere next to the pool and beach. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    30
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
89
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Came here with a large family group. The location is good and rooms are fine. The main issues I have are the snooty attitudes if members, who appear to have issues with anyone who isn't a local blue blood and an incredibly bad experience at the supposedly high dining experience at the Sea Foam Room. If high dining means waiting an hour to receive a menu and another 30 minutes to get a drink, I'll stick with regular dining. Food was ok, but nothing extraordinary. I'm afraid the lousy taste left by the experience would have made anything average, though. In my opinion, this place is overpriced and trading off its reputation.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were treated with such friendly staff the moment we arrived at Ponte Vedra Lodge. Any questions that we had or information about the resort was delivered with a smile. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. The pools, beach, spa, etc. were so nice. We plan to make this a yearly trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The smaller size of this hotel and club, along with the Mediterranean decor, present a warm and intimate feel. The outdoor cafe service is decent, but for the same price you can go upstairs to the dining room with formal service and experienced servers. The ocean view from the upstairs dining room is panoramic, and the white linen service is exceptional. The guest rooms are gorgeous with excellent bedding. The Lodge is a lovely place to host a wedding, and they have a beautifully landscaped courtyard area that makes a wonderful back drop for photography.
This resort is managed impeccably with the highest standards of excellence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've been both a Lodge member and occasional guest for over 10 years - the location is wonderful and the staff is always generally friendly and helpful. Unless you live in an oceanfront home, this is the best beach location in Ponte Vedra Beach to relax on a mostly uncrowded stretch of sand - with pool, restrooms and bar/food nearby.
The oceanfront bar and (small) pool are often very crowded on weekends and holidays when the weather is warm - between local members and guests. I've seen many weddings take place here and it's a nice setting for a small/mid-sized wedding and reception. It's often breezy though and people can get "wind blown" in their formal attire. Recently updated gym equipment and remodeled locker rooms are a nice addition. Some areas of the Lodge are looking a little run down. The family pool is larger but across the street from the beach. All in all, the Lodge is worthy of it's #2 ranking for Ponte Vedra Beach hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Lodge was recommended by a colleague for a short night stay before a full day of meetings in St. Augustine. Although I only stayed one night, I am already talking about a repeat trip to spend more time. The grounds and facilities are pristine and the service is exceptional. The lodge is award-winning for a reason. Located directly on the beach, I enjoyed a delicious dinner overlooking the water and coffee by a firepit after dark. Every member of the staff I encountered treated me as if I were royalty. Thank you for a wonderful night's stay!

Room Tip: Ground level rooms have doors that walk right out onto the courtyard and/or beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This property is well maintained, and in an excellent location on the beach. The facilities are up to date and attractive (and in the process of further renovation as I write this). The resort staff were, for us, universally friendly and helpful. I honestly cannot think of a bad thing to say about the Lodge and Club; we had a very pleasant stay there.

Room Tip: an ocean view is worth extra money for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach

Address: 607 Ponte Vedra Boulevard, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Jacksonville and St. Augustine, The Lodge & Club is situated in the lovely seaside setting of Ponte Vedra Beach. Framed by graceful palms and rolling dunes, the intimate AAA Four-Diamond boutique hotel has charmed guests with world-class amenities and gracious service since its debut in 1989. Panoramic vistas of the Atlantic provide an awe-inspiring setting for The Lodge's 66 luxurious rooms and suites. Indulgent days are spent enjoying the Atlantic surf, shelling along the beach, swimming, cycling, sampling The Lodge's inventive cuisine and enjoying high tea, the highlight of each afternoon. Nearby, guests have access privileges to oceanfront golf, world-class tennis, a relaxing spa, sea fishing and horseback riding. The Lodge & Club and its nearby sister property, Ponte Vedra Inn & Club, comprise the oceanfront luxury vacation experience known as Ponte Vedra Beach Resorts. Hotel guests enjoy reciprocal access to the amenities of both establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Club At Ponte Vedra Beach Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.