We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thanksgiving get away!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach

Save Saved
You added The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   607 Ponte Vedra Boulevard, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Special
Naples, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Thanksgiving get away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A special Thanksgiving away. The service was amazing, we were called by our names the entire time. The beach... the food.... the service... perfect.
Two rooms, one was kept much cleaner than the other but nothing major. Little seashells on our pillows at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    30
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
86
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We just returned from another wonderful visit to one of our favorites. The staff is great.... rooms real nice... food very good... ocean views terrific. What more can one ask for? We look forward to another great visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at The Lodge. Beautiful hotel lobby and ocean views from our 2nd floor balcony. The service everywhere was great. Elegant afternoon tea was served and we had drinks at the Inlet bar and breakfast and dinner in the Inlet Dining Room. We reserved an Ocean Front Suite. Our only disappointment was the shabby furniture in our suite. Banged up chairs, barstools, coffee table and questionable grout around the soaking tub. Don't even look up at the shower head.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A friend who was a member took us there for lunch during our time in Ponte Vedra Beach.

Great food, service, and a spectacular beach view from the 2nd story dining area. It was a bit chilly and rainy to sit out on the patio when we visited.

It was between seasons so we had almost the entire facility to ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I took a birthday vacation to The Lodge and Spa and had a wonderful time. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. The hotel grounds were spotless, and the oceanfront pool was great. Everyone on the hotel staff that we encountered were very professional and polite. On our drive back to Charleston, South Carolina my wife and I decided to make this a yearly destination for us. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The nice part: Spannish style building, beach seeting, and at the most part nice friendly staff.
The other part:
- check your bills carefuly; the resort is charging (billing) for the services (Oasis restaurant ) which you never had and presenting the bills without your signature; guest services or resort has not provided an explanation of this fradulent charge;
--grossly overpriced throughout ( $249 -360 plus $ 20 resort fee plus $25 tax) for old and out of style and color furniture is small room with noisy roof inslatted airconditioning fans; or rooms next to the mechanical rooms;
-bathroom warned out fans and mini microwave sounded like Russian Kalashnikov.
-room daily cleaning services and their supervisors have theirs ups and downs and not particulary friendly; in the contrary the evening bed prep service/crew was profrssional and nice;
- beach rental service was mostly OK( when Graig was in charge),but other days we have to call for the service;
-;bech chair or umbrela is $ 15.00 each so for 2 you'll pay $ 45.00/day ( 2 chars and umbrela);
-kitchen corner was without a kitchen knife, bottle opener etc.with only spare glassware and plates (2 each per room);
-beach shower stands are warned out with on/off valve not working and substituted with an old garden hose ;
- family pool and fitness center are outside of property over the busy road ( unsafe for the children);
-spa, tennis and golf are 2-3 miles away, not on the property like other resorts;

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was our third time staying at the Lodge and we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. The staff is first class and the beach is awesome! We were there during the last weeks of August so there were not many other people there. All the staff seemed to quickly get to know us and our 11 year-old daughter.

We had an Ocean Suite and were very happy with the room: extra large space, large walk-in closet, fireplace, good size kitchen, large bathroom, and very comfortable bed. My daughter ended up sleeping on the large window seat rather than the sleeper-sofa, and the maid took care of making up the window seat with sheets and pillows. The only two things we did not like about this particular room was that it was not directly on the beach (it had an view and smallish balcony, but was tucked in over the courtyard) and that there are no hangers/hooks in the bathroom, save one (with wet clothes from the beach and bath towels, it makes sense to have lots of hooks to help dry the clothes).

The food, and room service, are all top notch. We went out just a few times to other places but ate most of our meals at the Lodge.

The staff is very pleasant and helpful. In fact, Susan (?), a hostess for the restaurant, offered up her personal bottle of aloe for our daughter when she noticed that her cheeks for a bit too pink from the sun.

The beach was spectacular. Great sand, warm water, just enough waves to have fun. We were there right after the hurricane came through Florida so there was one day where it was really rough. Being the off season (at least for a couple of weeks), there was hardly any one there, so it felt like a private beach to us.

We like to go to the spa wherever we travel and while at home, and this was the first place that just didn't even allow our daughter to walk in the front door of the spa. The Wentworth (our local resort ranked in the top-20 resorts of the US) knows us by first name, so taking her to the spa was not some kind of one-time thing. We even tried to book a private suite, but they refused.

One MAJOR flaw that is different from the last time we were there - they closed the family pool that was on the beach front and now made the families go across the street to the health club and use that pool. Unfortunately, because my daughter was under 13, she was barely allowed to walk around that facility. The woman who showed us around when we first went over there showed us the rooms for working out, steam rooms, etc, but was constantly saying 'but she can't go in there ...' We felt very unwanted there. The pool was large but half of it was used for lapping and it seemed that if any kids even went close to the lap lanes we would be kicked out. I would have to say that if we knew about this change, we would have opted not to stay at the Lodge, probably go stay at the Inn where they are more family-friendly.

We did go up to the Inn a few times for swimming as they have a much larger and family-friendly pool. It is 1.5 miles north so they had vans/cars that would take us back and forth, and the wait wasn't too bad, sometimes maybe 15 minutes at the longest.

Usually we would swim in the ocean and hang out on the beach for the morning and head up to the Inn in the early afternoon. The first time we did this we wanted to have lunch and drinks delivered to us at the pool, but apparently they don't do that. The only food available at the time was some over-cooked hotdogs at a tiny little bar. This was very disappointing, and the service was not up to the standards at the rest of the resorts - there were three staff at the bar, and two of them kept talking so loud to each other that it was impossible to talk to the other one, who was taking our order. We had to keep asking her to talk louder and louder, which just made the other two start talking even louder. Apparently they didn't want us there, or something.

The Inn is supposed to be a 5-Diamond award winner, but I would have to say that the little interaction I had there made me wonder what they actually look at when they decide a resort should get that kind of award.

Overall, it is a great place, but the little things keep it from being awesome (or rating it a 5). We just wanted to go there and be pampered, but without pool-side service, the lack of a family-friendly pool at the Lodge, and the inconvenience of having to be driven back-and-forth to the Inn, just slightly diminished our thoughts on the PV resorts.

We did ask to look at the suites at the Inn and were pleased with the room - it actually had a door and steps to the beach, which the rooms at the Lodge did not have. If we go back, we will probably stay at the Inn as the Lodge appears to be less family-friendly these days (not they are not family-friendly, it is just that the Inn appears to cater to families more).

Room Tip: Some rooms can be quite a long walk from the restaurants and bar, so see if you can get one closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach

Address: 607 Ponte Vedra Boulevard, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Jacksonville and St. Augustine, The Lodge & Club is situated in the lovely seaside setting of Ponte Vedra Beach. Framed by graceful palms and rolling dunes, the intimate AAA Four-Diamond boutique hotel has charmed guests with world-class amenities and gracious service since its debut in 1989. Panoramic vistas of the Atlantic provide an awe-inspiring setting for The Lodge's 66 luxurious rooms and suites. Indulgent days are spent enjoying the Atlantic surf, shelling along the beach, swimming, cycling, sampling The Lodge's inventive cuisine and enjoying high tea, the highlight of each afternoon. Nearby, guests have access privileges to oceanfront golf, world-class tennis, a relaxing spa, sea fishing and horseback riding. The Lodge & Club and its nearby sister property, Ponte Vedra Inn & Club, comprise the oceanfront luxury vacation experience known as Ponte Vedra Beach Resorts. Hotel guests enjoy reciprocal access to the amenities of both establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Club At Ponte Vedra Beach Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge and Club at Ponte Vedra Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.