We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 PGA Tour Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Online Discounts
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of days for work. I thought the hotel would be closer to the beach but it is actually about 9 miles away from the beach. The address of the hotel is wrong as well the address for GPS is 1300 Sawgrass Village Drive, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL. The reception staff is really friendly, they do offer complimentary Starbucks coffee. Good selection of books in the waiting area. Gym is decent but is not 24 hours, the location is pretty very close to the PGA Golf Clubhouse. Walking distance to Publix, good restaurants around. The rooms are spacious, but I would carefully inspect for bugs. Overall an okay stay nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    94
    22
    7
    9
See reviews for
68
66
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at the Hilton Garden Inn Ponte Vedra/Jax to vacation at Jacksonville beach and visit St Augustine. Location was convenient to both Jacksonville beach and St Augustine along A1A route.
Positives: The lobby was welcoming. The Starbucks coffee, tea, and cookies in lobby was a nice touch. Front desk staff was courteous each day of my stay. My room was clean and spacious. Beds were comfortable. Nice HDTV. Second floor room with balcony was very nice. Cook to-order breakfast and breakfast bar was good at the Great American Grill restaurant in hotel. Fitness center was great and convenient to use. Hotel appearance overall was clean and well kept.

Negatives: There wasn't much negative to say about my stay here. My only comments is that: A/C unit ran loudly. It was great to have a personal thermostat in room unlike most hotels have, but unit was loud. The only reason it didn't keep me awake, was that I travel with ear plugs. And secondly, the room was musty and stuffy and irritated my sinuses, but once I got the A/C at a good temp it helped (room carpet probably needs cleaning).

Overall, I would stay again if I revisited the area again.

Room Tip: Recommend second floor room away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights while visiting family. Staff was accomodating and nice. Lobby offers coffee and tea, large selection of books, nice sitting area. Pool looked ok but we didn't get a chance to use it. Love the location with stores and grocery in walking distance. However, the rooms were another story. Musty smell to the point we had to buy an air freshener which didn't help much. While using the bathroom one night, we turned the light on and saw several roaches scurrying around!!!! We immediately called the desk and were offered a room change. The second room still had musty smell. No roaches in the bath, but we woke up and saw a very large bug on the window curtains. It is really too bad because the suites they have are configured great and just what we were looking for...sitting area and separate bedroom. Also love the location. But, returning to this hotel is out of the question. Also, the air conditioners are very noisy and the general noise level of guests kept us awake.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed two nights at HGI whilst visiting Jacksonville for the Scotland v USA soccer game. Hotel was clean and in a good, quiet location that was only a few minutes drive from the main beaches area. Ate breakfast in the neighbouring cafe on the first morning and in the hotel on the second morning. Both were fine.
Room was nice and clean but negatives were the curtains don't pull across the windows so you'd better not want to lie in the next morning in a bright room. Don't think I've ever been in a hotel before that didn't have closing curtains!
Walls are also very thin. There were guests in the room next door that had clearly been at a wedding and although they weren't being outrageous, they were talking loudly about their evening and I heard all about Heather #1, Heather #2 and the men having socks with left and right written on them!!! Eventually had to knock on their door and ask them to pipe down.
There was also an advertisement in the elevator about free tickets to the Brave movie if you stayed a weekend night. I asked about this twice at reception and nobody seemed to know anything about it. Each time the receptionist promised a manager would call me. Nobody ever did. After several other attempts (email, message on facebook, post on facebook page) I eventually got a response and my two tickets (thank you), but it just shouldn't be this difficult.
Overall, it was fine. I'd stay there again (bringing clothes pegs so I could hang towels over the windows!!)

Room Tip: Bring an eye mask to shut out the daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPVB, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Lulujambo,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review. We strive to provide every guest with an excellent experience at our hotel and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

We are very sorry about the confusion with the "Brave" elevator poster. The details of the offer were admittedly not clear, and the poster has been removed, brand-wide. We also apologize for any difficulty you experienced with our black-out drapes.

And thank you for your generous rating and the comment that you would "stay there again." If you do indeed stay with us again, or if you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free contact me directly at 904-280-1661, extension 1120 or email me at chuck.schoonmaker@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel is ok, your standard HGI. It is clean and updated. Located in a great shopping center with restaurants, Publix, and liquor store. It is located on A1A but not on the beach. There is nothing special to this hotel, nor, nothing poor to report. If you are looking for a run of the mill stay this is it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night and although I can't comment on the price as I did not pay for it I can say that the room and lobby were just "average". There is a spacious lobby with a good selection of Starbucks coffee and Tazo tea and there is a quaint seating area near a fireplace. The staff at the front desk were friendly and inviting.

Unfortunately, the spacious lobby and good coffee cannot make up for the uncomfortable beds, flat pillows, and loud air conditioning. My bed was hard as a rock and I had to stack three pillows because they were virtually just a piece of fabric. Also, because of the location of my room, the noise from the lobby made it difficult to sleep.

This hotel will not be at the top of my list if I need another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPVB, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Michael,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel and providing us with valuable feedback. We are sincerely sorry that you were less than satisfied with your accommodations. Please be assured that we thoroughly investigate all of our hotel’s reviews and make whatever changes are necessary to ensure future guests are not similarly dissatisfied.

Because you were so disappointed, we would appreciate a chance to make it up to you by giving you a free night’s stay when you next need a hotel in our area. We are confident that we can improve your opinion – we offer a variety of pillow types for the different needs or desires of our guests, and our king beds feature adjustable firmness controls.

If I can be of any other assistance to you, feel free to contact me directly at the hotel (904) 280-1661, extension 1120, or you can email me at Chuck.Schoonmaker@Hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The staff at the Hotel were not only friendly but went above and beyond for me. I stayed for only one night and had an interview across the street. I needed access to the business center and found everything to be user friendly and fast. During my day full of interviewing I had a short break that happened shortly after check out. The front desk communicated with housekeeping and let me back into the room I had checked out of in the morning. This was a great perk for me as I was stressed and used the time to re situate myself and gear up for the afternoon interviews. Jeanette, at the front desk also helped to arrange my ground transportation back to the airport and wished me well on my interview. This extra attention really made my day a lot smoother and less stressful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIPVB, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Nicole D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us on TripAdvisor! We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra. I am excited to post your review where our team members can all see it! Jeanette will be especially appreciative. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive review, which will serve as an encouragement as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you, your family and/or friends at the Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra

Address: 45 PGA Tour Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of renowned TPC Sawgrass, minutes from beautiful northeast Florida beaches, the award-winning Sawgrass Hilton Garden Inn in Ponte Vedra Beach offers a unique boutique hotel experience with all the amenities and service you expect from a Hilton hotel. Of our 127 large rooms, 61 are suites, some with whirlpools. Our unrivaled location in the middle of Florida’s First Coast of Golf ensures that we’re a golfer’s haven, but there’s plenty more for our guests to enjoy off the links. Several outstanding restaurants, a spa, and a large variety of upscale shops are within a few minutes’ walk in Sawgrass Village. If you’re in the mood to explore, stroll the beach at Mickler’s Landing, hike Guana River State Park by trail or by kayak, or charter a boat for some offshore fishing at nearby Mayport Naval Station or Vilano Beach. Of course, you don’t have to leave our northeast Florida Beaches Area hotel to find something to do. Start your day with our breakfast buffet or your own cooked-to-order breakfast. Take a refreshing dip in our heated outdoor pool or a soak in our whirlpool. Get your heart pumping in the complimentary fitness center, or relax by the fireplace in the lobby library with a good book. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel, including in the complimentary business center. If you’re planning a business meeting, conference, a beach wedding or social event, the Sawgrass Hilton can accommodate groups of up to 100 guests in more than 1900 square feet of configurable indoor and outdoor meeting space. Whether it’s a golf vacation, a romantic Florida getaway, business travel, or a social event, the Sawgrass Hilton Garden Inn in Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra is your ideal destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Hilton Ponte Vedra Beach
Ponte Vedra Beach Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Ponte Vedra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.