We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New ownership has turned this place around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Players Cafe

Players Cafe
262 Solana Rd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082-2297
904-273-5595
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“New ownership has turned this place around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I went to The Players Cafe this morning for breakfast because I wanted to see what the new ownership has done to the place. Let me tell you that the place has changed so much for the better. The staff is very friendly, the place is clean and the food is very good. They have added some healthy items to the menu, one of them being the fresh vegetable of the day. The place was crowded so all of the old customers must be coming back. It's good to see that new owners Mike and Kimberlee Furgal have made this place great again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Place is dirty and food was bad. I used the men's restroom and it smelled awful and dirty. Told the owner and he said to leave.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“UGH”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

No food for healthy eaters. The waitstaff are very nice but the food is really bad. Canned vegetables. Nothing fresh. It comes out quickly but it tastes like it's all from a can.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Agree that it's slipping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hadn't been the Players Cafe since I left Jax over 10 yrs ago. Looked forward to going again on a recent visit. Same decor but the food and service were indifferent. This was a quiet weekday morning, it used to be packed. I wouldn't say that I would never eat there again but I wouldn't go out of my way to li
ke I used to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great spot that's slipping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've been going here for over 15 years for mostly breakfast/brunch. Always had been a nice casual spot with good service and good food. The last two times we went there were bugs crawling around the booth areas (both sides). Time to find a new breakfast spot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Players Cafe also viewed

Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
 
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
 

Been to Players Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Players Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.