We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 PGA Tour Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
1 review
“Golf Only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautiful property located on a legendary golf course. Decided to stay here as we had to use some Marriott vacation club points by the end of the year. If your objective is solely to play golf here, or at the many other courses in the area this is a good choice. However, from a accommodations perspective this property is just average. The main hotel seemed nice but the villas are very "1980's". Tired furniture, noisy heat / AC and fogged doors and windows detracted from the experience. Very low occupancy when we were here but were not asked if we would prefer the hotel or a villa. Other than golf not much to do in the area. St. Augustine is a half hour away, but other than the fort, a pure tourist trap.

Room Tip: Insist on the main hotel - avoid the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    88
    36
    15
    7
See reviews for
68
75
6
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The weekend we stayed here the hotel was full of Pittsburg Steelers players and in spite of the high profile guests and crowds, the staff were so friendly and the service was outstanding.

I had originally booked a room in the villas but we were pleasantly surprised to be put in a room in the main hotel overlooking the pond. The room was comfortable and quiet.

We ate a couple of the restaurants on site were very impressed with the dinner options. The soup bar was a neat concept. Only downside was the evening we took the shuttle to the beach club, not realizing the two restaurants at the beach club were closed that night. Check before you make the trip out there!

The deck area off the lobby bar was my favorite. What a pleasant way to relax with a cocktail!

We had stayed at this resort so that we could golf at the TPC course (which was amazing!) and we were very happy with our decision. We look forward to returning next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

1st class from check in ,rooms very comfortable ,views ,all bars just what u need including the pub staff incredible jessica and angela at the front desk fabuloulus fantastic bar service katie at the looby bar was great. this resort met all our expectations and more david the concerierge was very helpfull and met with our every need the tour of sawgrass was amazing and that clubhouse is a must see for any golfer the story teller was fantastic we will use this hotel again for sure mainly becauce ofvthe excellant service received from the great staff

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the central atrium if you dont like noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's nice to see Marriott is taking an overdue interest with improving the lodging accommodations. The hotel is now under Marriott international and working toward a JW status. The rooms are getting some overdue attention, they will also undergo more initiatives next year. Great place to stay, wonderful staff, outstanding golf and typical resort amenities. The overall price is a great value.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel for the price. At an $89 AAA rate, I can honestly say I wasn't expecting much. However, this hotel is a fantastic value, and I will definitely stay here again. All rooms open to the lobby, which isn't something you see often. The lobby bar was nice and 2 free drink tickets were a nice touch. Room was spacious and clean. The use of the hotel car to and from dinner was very much appreciated. Excellent hotel.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Usually we find Marriott hotels excellent, and this is no exception . . .EXCEPT. So, the property is magnificent. The hotel is spectacular. But the details. Watch out. We booked on line with a hotel booking service for a villa. When we arrived we were informed that we really had a hotel room--and that the villas were pretty much the same. OK, so we live with it. Then we find out that there is a daily $25 fee for COMPLEMENTARY SELF PARKING and internet. Wait a minute! If it is "complementary," then why am I being charged $25 a day? Of course, the $25 charge includes a lot of things I would never need, just to make it seem worth it. Like 2 bottle (8 ounces) of water. Golf bag storage. Access to the Cabana (I guess that "complementary" means I can WALK into the Cabana). I complained loudly. They nicely removed the fee since I was staying for less than 24 hours. Great, but why not tell me when I went to book online?

Internet - a pain trying to sign on. Seems like most hotels require a sign on every time you start up your computer, and I had a lot of trouble getting the password page to open.

I'm glad it was only 1 night.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the "villa," Seems like a marketing ploy to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this resort for five days and not for the golf or the swimming. From the moment the car jockey greeted my and my party to the farewells at the end of a long business trip, every and I mean every employee greeted us like it was the first time. Professionalism, great service, great food and a great room spelled a great trip.
I'm sure the 153 golf holes and spa would attract many, but if your stuck inside like we were, don't fret, you'll be fine.

Room Tip: I see from other that the Villas are not that nice, I didn't hear anything negative from other w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 1000 PGA Tour Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
Location: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the Florida coast in Ponte Vedra Beach, Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa stretches across 63 stunning acres and is a breathtaking destination for golf getaways, family vacations, romantic escapes and meetings. The resort offers 511 luxurious guest rooms, suites and residential-style Villas surrounded by a beautiful landscape of trees, lagoons, waterfalls and views to the green fairways of TPC Sawgrass. Play over 99 holes of championship golf, with direct cart path access to the courses at TPC Sawgrass, or treat yourself to a soothing treatment at the Sawgrass Spa. Whether you're looking for an iconic golf experience, relaxing beach getaway or the perfect meeting venue, the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa is the tranquil retreat you've been looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort And Spa
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Marriott Ponte Vedra Beach
Marriott Hotel Sawgrass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.