We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with lovely grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 PGA Tour Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with lovely grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Sawgrass Marriott while attending a conference; this was my second visit. On my first trip I stayed in the villas, but I was in the main hotel this time and liked the room and the convenience of the location. The restaurants in the hotel are very good, the staff is attentive, and the entire property is attractively landscaped. My only complaint concerns the hotel gym; for a hotel with 500 rooms, it doesn't have very much equipment, so I paid to use the gym in the spa. Even that facility has its equipment limitations, and the charge to use it ($25) seems excessive, although one can also use the whirlpool and sauna. Another positive about the hotel is that it is a very short walk to a good shopping center with a Publix, a CVS drug store, and an excellent Italian restaurant, Caffe Andiamo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    50
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
38
47
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from a trip to Sawgrass for my son's 17th birthday. We brought along a couple of his friends to celebrate. They stayed 1 one villa with 2 double beds while my wife and I stayed in another villa with King room. The Villas are the best way to go with any kind of a group. While they are close to the main hotel building and swimming pool complex, they give you a very private feeling because of the way the buildings are arranged.
Reasons to stay at the property:
1.) Complimentary shuttle to/from the Beach Club which has a snack bar, a nice inside/outside restaurant bar and a higher end restaurant on the second level.
Couple those amenities with a nice pool and wide beach and you have a winner.
2.) Lots of activities at the hotel
You can throw darts, shoot pool, play table shuffleboard, check out backgammon/chess/checker sets
3.) Kids Program
4.) Several good dining/drinking options
5.) Great staff, very friendly and knowledgeable.

Great location for families, golfers and couples.
They have a Kids program

Room Tip: I prefer the second floor of either of 1500/1400/1300 buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at the golf villas for some added space. We had a one bedroom unit with a den and kitchen "efficiency." We added a connecting 2 queen bed room with a separate bathroom to our room for 2 teenage boys. There isn't much information about these golf villas on the Marriott website, and so the setup of the rooms were a little different than I expected. The kitchen had a half-sized refrigerator, sink and microwave. It had tons of cabinet space and a small table for four. The only problem was, there was nothing in the cabinets! There wasn't a single cup, plate, knife, spoon, glass, mug, etc. in the cabinets. We got take out food one night and found the space to be somewhat lacking.
The hotel itself is beautiful- spacious lobby and pool area. We enjoyed the fire pit tables at night and played cards at the cozy areas at the downstairs bar. Temperature was cold in March, so the hot tubs were nice.
The boys enjoyed the pool, hot tub and putt putt course. We went out to the beach also. The Marriott facility on the beach is very nice also.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great for golfers but not very high end in regards to service. My family and I stayed at the sawgrass marriott on the way up to our lake house in new york and on the way back. We had a small baby with us, and booked a suite. The suite was nice and the rooms are really great if you want a separate area for the kids. The restaurants were not bad, but the service was horrible. On both trips we specifically asked for sheets for the pullout for our nanny and both times they did not leave them for us and we had to wait over an hour for housekeeping to bring them when it was late at night and we were all ready to go to bed. Apparently there is some kind of major delays to get anything from room service or housekeeping, particularly in the suites/ villas as the coffee from room service also took over an hour to bring. When we called to see what was going on regarding the delays the staff argued with us and seemed to act like it was normal. I will probably stay at the ponte vedra inn next time as the service was much better there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort was beautiful! We loved the private beach club. The shuttle picks you up in front of your door and drops you off at the beach. Great location! Many good restaurants nearby. Cvs and publix almost within walking distance. Loved the villa that we stayed in. It was quieter than the main hotel. It was only a short walk to the main hotel where you can find excellent dining options. Ate at the pub and at the beach club overlooking the ocean. Both restaurants were good and reasonably priced. They offered casual dining. Only had 5 days to spend. Wish we had more! Will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great and relaxing stay when in the JAX area and want to mix business and relaxation. A short ride from Southside. Once at the resort, the staff is helpful and friendly, without being overbearing. Good restaurants in the resort as well as a short drive. The beach is a short ride away on a shuttle. Whether you golf or not, take a ride on the golf cart to the clubhouse. Great take. Some of the most attentive and caring staff I have encountered.

Clean rooms, nice pools, very relaxing and laid back. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for letting us know about your stay and for sharing your appreciation for Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. I can’t think of a better way to enjoy a business trip than mixing in a little pleasure as well and our resort truly offers the best ways to relax. With TPC Sawgrass right next door and access to some of the most beautiful beaches in the state while visiting our private Cabana Beach Club, our guests can find luxury and fun convenient to Jacksonville and the surrounding area and I am glad you agree. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is outstanding.! It is a Category 5 in the Marriott rating system but what it has available, seems much higher. A world class Spa, beautiful pool, Pete & Alice Dye Pub and Vernon's fine restaurant, gift shop, golf attire shop and convention center - all right there on the immediate grounds. Then you can take a golf cart ride over to the TPS Sawgrass Golf Course and the Nineteenth hole restaurant & bar in the beautiful Club House w/tours of the historic golfers and events held there over the years. The grounds are all exquisitely landscaped. The staff is very good throughout the hotel from the moment you arrive, thru check in, room service, dining staff, drivers, etc. A couple of tips - the lobby lounge is excellent for drinks and great TV viewing of sports events. The Restaurant's Lounge - outside Vernon's has great happy hour specials on drinks and very unusual varieties & tasty appetizers; also good wine selections. Also they have a free shuttle to take you over to the beach anytime, which has a club house, pool, outdoor eating and indoor fine dining at night - 619 Ocean View. The free shuttle will also take you to nearby shopping and restaurants. All combined, an incredibly positive experience at a very good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you so much for your review! We are truly honored by your high appreciation for all that we offer. With spacious guest room accommodations as well as thoughtful amenities and services, it is wonderful to know you found your stay to be so positive. When ready for some recreation, our proximity to TPC Sawgrass is ideal for golf while our sparkling outdoor pools and Cabana Beach Club can certainly provide all you need to relax. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 1000 PGA Tour Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort And Spa
Marriott Ponte Vedra Beach
Marriott Hotel Sawgrass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.