We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1000 PGA Tour Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% thru 5/3!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here two years ago and had to go back when we had the opportunity. The hotel is luxurious, modern, quiet, and peaceful at a great value. The rooms are quiet and clean with great views. The grounds are great for relaxing and enjoying the nice Florida weather. Located very convenient to the TPC Sawgrass golf course makes it the perfect place to stay; even if you are not playing golf. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review and appreciation of the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. It is wonderful to know that you were left with such a positive impression at your last visit two years ago that you were continuing to look forward to staying again. Our hotel does indeed offer the ideal accommodations while visiting one of the most stunning golfing locals in the nation, TPC. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and valued our luxurious accommodations and relaxing grounds. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for your next visit to the area.
Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    107
    48
    21
    8
See reviews for
85
101
8
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent five nights including our Christmas at the main building and had a great time. From the moment we checked in we felt welcomed and special. It is true that there is evidence of reconstruction and remodeling going on but who cares? They did their best to cover it up and our needs and expectations were met and exceeded by the team at this location. We have to point out three employees who deserve kudos from the Marriot management team, and they are Nicole and Louise at the front desk, they were both extremely helpful in advising us as what is a must see and how to get there. Then there was the true "Concierge" named David. This gentleman was so helpful and gave such perfect suggestions as to what to see and do in the local area. He made a lunch suggestion that was spot on. Look, we too have seen the comments about the remodeling, and we say give them a break. You try and change the oil on a car while it is in motion. An excellent resort with an excellent team in place. Good Job Sawgrass Marriot!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. It is such an honor to know that you found our associates to be so professional. We want each and every one of our guests to feel well cared for and I am glad that you experienced our efforts first hand and that any impact of our ongoing updates was minimal. I will be certain to share your kind words with everyone here. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to take advantage of all of the great changes taking place.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I feel like I am in public housing and cannot believe Marriott would put their name on this property - old, run down, and have a mildew stench. I cannot believe this is the "Sawgrass Marriott" villas....very disappointing. The only remedy would be to bull doze and start from scratch. if these are "remodeled", I can't imagine what they were like before. Would have to search hard and long to find a worse property.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Spent two nights here and it is a beautiful property. The negative- the hotel is being updated and you could hear some nail guns up above in some rooms that were being updated and I came back one afternoon to a very srong smell of wood varnish or something like that, which must have made its way in via the common bathroom vent system into my room. I opened my patio door to vent it and this cleared it up.

Nice Starbucks within the hotel for an early quick breakfast etc, great bar with friendly knowledgeable staff and some local microbrews. The adjoining health club was very nice with a steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, heated outdoor pool and a reflection room. They also offered spa services, which I didn't get a chance to use, as well as a nice workout room. Beyond the issue of some remodeling going on the place is gorgeous and the staff is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your impressions. I am delighted to read such positive feedback about your stay with us at the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. From your account of your visit to our Fitness facilities as well as the impeccable service you encountered, it is great to know all that you were able to appreciate while you were here. We truly have so much for guests to take advantage of from our outdoor pools, private Cabana Beach Club, Spa and more. As you mentioned, we are in the midst of a full update of all areas of our property and I hope that you were not too inconvenienced during your stay. It is our hope that you will visit again soon to enjoy even more that we have to offer.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

From the very beginning we were well taken care of by genuine people. A couple that were helpful: Matt the brunch chef was spectacular! I was shocked by his ability to hold conversations and make omelets! Try his own version of pico de gallo, very good! Mike from the gift shop was also helpful. You could tell everyone was happy to be working there. It was truly an amazing experience! Thank you!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing feedback of your time at the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa. I love to hear when our guests enjoy the personal and attentive service of our associates. Everyone here really does love to create the ultimate relaxing experience for all who visit and your acknowledgement of their efforts is appreciated. I do hope you will visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to have you.

Tom Manno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We found the hotel to be very nice and the staff was pleasant and helpful. The newly redesigned lobby was awesome, although we only spent one night it was wide open and comfortable and we enjoyed having a drink down at the bar. The rooms were a good size with plenty of space to move around. We had a king size bed which was very comfortable and the sitting area, desk, and bathroom had lots of space. Renovations were being completed on the floor we were on but we never heard any noise and were not inconvenienced. Wish we would have had a little more time to explore the campus bc it seemed like there was alot to do with golfing and the beach. Parking was a little out of the way and you had to walk through the covered valet lot to get to the regular parking area which I understand why they do it but come on, we already have to walk far to get from the lobby desk to the parking area. Would recommend to stay here if your planning any trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Whether visiting to enjoy a few rounds of golf, relaxing with a pampering spa treatment or just kicking back and enjoying our private beach club, the Sawgrass Golf Resort & Spa has something for everyone. I am so glad you and you enjoyed your time here, if only for one night. Our ReFresh is fully updating all areas of our property, as you have noted, and it is wonderful you are enjoying our transformation. I can appreciate your viewpoint that you've shared regarding our parking. Our lot is situated in such a way to maintain as much of the beauty of our natural setting as possible, but I do apologize if you were inconvenienced. Our valet is always on hand to provide parking services for the comfort of our guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future to take advantage of all that we have to offer. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We attended a wedding at the TPC Sawgrass and stayed at the Marriott Sawgrass. We had our dog with us so we stayed at the Villas. Although the Villas are under reconstruction, it was a wonderful place. The beds were comfortable and everything worked. It was clean and had the new construction scent. We ate breakfast (or should I say breakfeast) at Vernon's right off the main lobby. I heartily suggest the breakfast buffet. It is a great value for the money with such delicacies as smoked salmon and blintzes. We also had dinner there and it was great.
The staff and ambiance at the Marriott more than made up for the problems we had at the TPC Sawgrass. I can't conceive how the Marriott is even remotely connected with the TPC.
The entire staff at the Marriott from the parking valets to the chambermaids made this a memorable stay. The plus is that I am not a golfer but this Marriott made me a fan. This is quality!!!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottSawgrass, General Manager at Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. At the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa we wish for all of our guests to enjoy their stay and the very best of accommodations in every way. I am delighted to learn that you appreciated our villa accommodations, perfect for a visit with your four-legged friend and taking advantage of the extra space to spread out. As you mentioned, we are in the process of a resort-wide ReFresh that will create an even better experience for our guests and I am so happy you enjoyed the changes that are taking place. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 1000 PGA Tour Blvd, Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
Location: United States > Florida > Ponte Vedra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ponte Vedra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the Florida coast in Ponte Vedra Beach, Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa stretches across 63 stunning acres and is a breathtaking destination for golf getaways, family vacations, romantic escapes and meetings. The resort offers 511 luxurious guest rooms, suites and residential-style Villas surrounded by a beautiful landscape of trees, lagoons, waterfalls and views to the green fairways of TPC Sawgrass. Play over 99 holes of championship golf, with direct cart path access to the courses at TPC Sawgrass, or treat yourself to a soothing treatment at the Sawgrass Spa. Whether you're looking for an iconic golf experience, relaxing beach getaway or the perfect meeting venue, the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa is the tranquil retreat you've been looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort And Spa
Sawgrass Marriott Golf Hotel Ponte Vedra Beach
Marriott Ponte Vedra Beach
Marriott Hotel Sawgrass

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.