We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time..nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Royal Vista

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Royal Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Vista
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1110 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Fairfield Royal Vista)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great time..nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

i booke dthrought interval 2 bed 2 bath unit and stayed a week.....

when i read these some of these reviews i cant help but laugh...this place was great....ive been to many places, stayed at all types of hotels and timesares and the royal vista was just fine! first of all if you really look deep you might find little things that may not be "up to you standings". bt than if you are so picky why arnt you staying at a 500 hundred a night hotel....and from experience they also may have little particulars the might annoy a person looking for something to get mad at....

the rooms were above average beach rooms...nice decor, clean kitchen and bathroom, great air conditioning......a central system in the room, a bit loud but is that enough to upset you? i mean it cooled the room and did it well.....

great beach and pools....not the greates pools ive ever seen but 2 very nice clean kidney pools which fit perfectly on property...hotel staff was help full when called upon...they didnt suck up to your every move,always said hello, but once again this isnt the Plaza or Waldorf...its more or less a condo with a great beach, pool and location..

the beach is probably the best in the area. there is a lot to do as watersports boat rentals and beach chairs umbrellas all available directly on beach outsde tiki bar past one of the hotel pools...steps from rooms....

i could stay here a month or two easy..once again its not exclusive where you have people waiting on you hand and foot, but a very great experience for couples looking ot get away or familys on a vacation..

ive stayed at much worse hotels in florida, and for a lot more money, with much worse staff and a lot less to do beachfront..

overall a great time...i would go in a back in a heart beat and this is coming from a person who lives in a nieghborhood with more ritz, fine restaurants, shops and boutiques that anywhere in the world....
the place was very enjoyable...

  • Liked — clean rooms and great beach location
  • Disliked — i like a restaurant on property
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    54
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
63
40
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
DFW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

The property located on a nice area of Pompano Beachfront. However, it's downhill from there. The property is most definitely showing it's age with no real attempts to turn things around. Some of the front desk staff seemed just to be passing time at their job with little or no efforts to be of any assistance. There seemed to be a great deal of staff but it's hard to say that anyone was really doing any work other than walking about the building. As previously mentioned, carpets look worn and dirty in many areas. Furniture and decor is worn and dated. We were in 7701. The master shower had mold in it. The guest bathroom had a hole in the wall. The patio door closed but made a terrible noise when it did. The patio floor was grungy. Apparently, all the A/C units are very loud because we asked about this and were told that they were all that way that nothing was wrong with it. After this experience we won't comeback to this property again. Also, check in time at 4 p.m. and check out time @ 10 a.m. Could they cut us a break--we're on vacation??

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

Units are spacious and comfortable. The best part for me was the oceanfront location of our two bedroom/2 bath unit. I agree with those who describe the property as showing its age. The pools are small and not especially attractive. In addition there were always many small children in the adult pools. In an entire week neither my husband, teenage daughter, or myself ever used the pools or lounge chairs around the pool. We much preferred staying on the beach and going into the ocean. There are plenty of restaurants and shops in the area, some within walking distance. The front desk was inflexible re late check out; indicating anything beyond half and hour would be billed at $100/hour. Perhaps it is different if you are a unit owner. Overall we were happy with our stay.

  • Liked — beachfront unit, spacious and comfortable
  • Disliked — property somewhat dated
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boalsburg, PA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

My wife and I went on a cruise out of Port Everglades in Fort Lauderdale at the end of February in 2008. We flew into West Palm Beach on a Saturday morning and left on the cruise on Sunday afternoon, so we needed a place to stay on Saturday night. My aunt is a timeshare owner, so she booked that night for us at the Wyndham Royal Vista in Pompano Beach (just north of Fort Lauderdale and 45 minutes south of West Palm Beach).

We arrived an hour before the check-in time, but they graciously allowed us to check into our room early. We had a two-bedroom suite on the fifth floor, which was much more than we needed, but it was wonderful. The king bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable. The master bathroom was huge, with a gloriously spacious shower. Perplexingly, there was only one sink, even though there was plenty of counter space for a second one. Outside the master bathroom, essentially in the master bedroom, was the jacuzzi tub. Because of its unusual placement, we were able to soak in the jacuzzi tub and watch the TV in the bedroom.

We really didn't use much of the rest of the suite. There was another bedroom with two beds and a full bathroom. There was a full kitchen. There was a washer and dryer. None of that was necessary for two people on an overnight stay.

The furniture was comfortable and beautiful. The decorations were very appropriate for a beach resort. The balcony had a view of the ocean.

Did I mention the location? This place borders the beach, so we were able to walk out the back of the lobby, past the pool, past the outdoor bar, and right onto the beach. It couldn't be any more perfectly located.

Downstairs in the lobby, we appreciated free wireless internet, as well as a computer room with several computer stations and a free printer. The Wyndham Royal Vista is near many restaurants, though I'm not sure how many are within walking distance. There is easy access to I-95.

Overall, we loved this place. We were disappointed that we hadn't arranged to stay here for a few days, as it was a wonderful hotel. I'd recommend it to anyone and hope to return there someday.

  • Liked — proximity to beach, free wifi
  • Disliked — parking garage was very confusing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

Although this place shows its age, it is wonderful. Whenever we stay here we stay in one of the two bedroom beach front rooms and never regret it. We have had no problems at this location.

  • Liked — Closeness to beach
  • Disliked — Shows its age
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

This was my 3rd trip to the Royal Vista! Location, Location, loacation!! If you're into the beach and water activities this is the place to be. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are well kept and comfortable with all the amenties needed. The Tiki bar is a fun place to kick back and enjoy a few. Planning on our 4th trip back to the Vista in Oct. Wonderful near by resturants!..a great vacation stay...keeps us coming back for more :)

  • Liked — Location, beach
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

We stayed the last week of June. It started out great. Though we had read about poor front desk service, we experienced superior service at check-in. Elizabeth could not have been more helpful. We then met with the concierge who provided a great deal of good information about activities and the area. The condo was beautiful - well appointed, clean, equipped with all the usual conveniences, plus a great view of the ocean.

Things spiraled downward when trying to follow up on our promised gift for attending a session for member services. If you want to purchase extra tickets for guests over the limit of 2, be sure to have cash ready. Two of the staff were extremely uncooperative. This experience practically ruined our long-awaited vacation. After talking to a VP, we felt better and did not allow this episode to ruin the rest of the week.

The property has done a good job working on customer service and it shows in most cases. Most of the staff speak to you as you walk down the halls or navigate the property. Most are very friendly and seek to assist. In addition to the marketing staff mentioned above, one front desk worker was repeatedly rude to us and we witnessed the same treatment to other guests while in the lobby area.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — marketing ploys and staff
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Royal Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Vista

Address: 1110 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Fairfield Royal Vista)
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Royal Vista 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Royal Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Royal Vista Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Pompano Beach Wyndham
Fairfield Royal Vista Pompano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Royal Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.