We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Royal Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Royal Vista to your Saves list
Wyndham Royal Vista
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1110 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Fairfield Royal Vista)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“On the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

If you want to be on the beach this place is great. The units are spacious and well maintained. A car is necessary. The negatives are that there is only one person on the Front Desk most of the time and she does everything so the service can be a bit slow. Also, i requested an ocean view room on a high floor and ended up with the lowest floor room facing the main road! I, along with many other guests, had to change rooms midway through our stay - very inconvenient. One of the 2 pools is heated which is great.
If the weather is good and you want to hang out by the beach this is a great place. They could do a better job with more greenery; their Sister resort, Sea Gardens is much nicer gardens,

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view - be warned you may not get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    70
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
81
50
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a nice place, nestled among high-rise condos in an apparently senior citizen mecca. Very few young people here, mostly seniors, some with young grandkids. The beach is quite nice and liked that when an offshore storm dumped huge amounts of seaweed, it was promptly cleaned. There was loud construction (sounded like jackhammers) on the balconies of an adjacent building several days. The two pools are small but OK, heated nicely for November. There is a quiet tiki bar on the beach but most of the patrons came from other than this resort although there was entertainment on some evenings. Although no restaurant on-site, the lunchtime barbeque was yummy. Go to Lauderdale-by-the-sea (5-10 min), Fort Lauderdale (15-20 min) or Delray (10-15 min) for more restaurant choices and night-time action. A car is a must since there's virtually nothing within walking distance (small grocery, beach store and restaurant/bar across the street is it). The rooms are nice, modest rather than upscale. They really need to upgrade their bed and bathroom linens, which were the worst we'd had in years.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We traded our time share for a week here. The weather in FL is great in November. We found our unit to be very attractively decorated. The one bedroom unit has two complete baths, a very generously appointed kitchen and laundry machines in the bedroom. Lots of towels. It is right on the beach so it is easy to get out and take a walk in the morning. We brought our own beach chairs so didn't have to rent from the concession.
Very good atmospheric restaurant down A1A - called the Sea Watch. Great early bird dinner.
We went to the Miami Metro Zoo - an hour drive - but worth it. Marvelous place to bring kids. Went to Butterfly World - 15 minutes away. It was awesome and soothing. Beautiful butterflies and birds and music. It is worth the buck to feed the parrots. (Take your camera for that.) The Ft.Lauderdale Art Museum is worthwhile, too.
This is the kind of vacation you can do a lot or do little, They have activities here but we didn't do any of them - not that they aren't interesting but we were out and about most of the time. They have wifi in the units - free DVD rentals.
Staff was very helpful and friendly! Our unit had a view of the ocean and the inter-coastal waterway with a wrap around balcony.
In short, we had a superb time!

Room Tip: I called a month ahead and asked for an ocean view room - we got one but am not sure that it was bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

If you are planning to come to the place with children, I would recommend to read more about this resort, not much to do for kids. Its more to just relax and enjoy the weather, either by the pool or the beach. If going to the beach and have your own chairs and umbrella bring them because you would have to pay to rent them, not cheap. Rooms are nice, clean. Restaurants are not close by, transportation is needed. Employees are courteous and service is good. If you are not familar with this area, please get all the information what you want to do and see and plan it ahead, a must.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The resort was great, a little dated in places, but overall very good. Staff was very nice except the guys working the rental area by the beach. they were rude and really didn't care about you at all. They would not even honor their own resort coupon, so didn't do any business with them. Only a few minutes walk to the ocean and many midnight walks on the beach each night. Hard to beat this place. Easy to get around with a GPS as well.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for oceanfront room, you just gotta have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa,Fl.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Good times! No restaurant on grounds but plenty in area. Great concierge!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We are currently at Royal Vista, checking out tomorrow after 4 days. We have had a really fun stay. The property is very nice and the room is spacious and clean. We were able to get into our room around 2:30 so that was a bonus – and a nice ocean view. We were able to store our groceries in their fridge until the room was ready as we arrived at noon.

I was a little worried since people said the service wasn’t good – but we found the exact opposite. We called down many times and had prompt responses. We thought our fridge wasn’t working the first day (just took awhile to cool down…) and they sent someone right away the two times we called. One of our sliding glass doors wouldn’t latch and someone fixed it right away – same when we called because we couldn’t figure out the new coffee maker. We needed new sheets once and they arrived quickly. I was very very pleased with the level of service.

The kids loved all of the activities – especially the Wednesday animal show (not on the published list). The guy brought about 10 animals and the kids got to pet and hold them. We also did lots of things like pool contests, bingo, tote bag art, ice cream…. They enjoyed it all. The staff was great.

The pools aren’t that big but never seemed too crowded. We brought our own chairs and umbrellas but you can rent them at the beach. The beach was calm and the water was very clear while we were there. It was not very crowded during our stay. There is a small market across the street and Stingers Bar and Grill is there and is good – they deliver too. Everything else requires a car. Not much food is available onsite – a small market thing but they have only a few snacks and maybe sandwiches…

If I had to complain – the wifi is really horrid. It is free, but super slow – had a hard time using it. It might be different in different rooms, not sure… I wish they had a hard wired connection but they don’t. I had some work I needed to do and couldn’t since the connection was so slow.

Overall we enjoyed this stay very much and would definitely consider vacationing here again! Oh and no one mentioned a timeshare at all while here – I said I was the guest of an owner and we were three girlfriends traveling with kids (no husbands along). This was true – but I have also heard that is a good thing to say to get out of it. I never heard a peep.

Room Tip: requested ocean front and got ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
1.8 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
5.6 mi away
Royal Flamingo Villas
Royal Flamingo Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Sea Gardens
Wyndham Sea Gardens
#14 of 36 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Palm-Aire
Wyndham Palm-Aire
#12 of 36 in Pompano Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#6 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Vista

Address: 1110 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062 (Formerly Fairfield Royal Vista)
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Royal Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Royal Vista Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Hotel Pompano Beach
Wyndham Pompano Beach
Pompano Beach Wyndham
Fairfield Royal Vista Pompano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Royal Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.