We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Somewhere Else !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach

Save Saved
You added Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   125 N Riverside Drive, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go Somewhere Else !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This place is old and tired. In bad need of a complete makeover. Food is mediocre, music is out of touch and the drinks are overpriced. Try Bokampers or the newly remodeled Shooters, you won't go back to the Sands.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    14
    3
    16
See reviews for
13
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lighthouse Point, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Been coming here a long time by boat to the marina every season and have seen great improvements! The restaurant here has very nice views and hotel's lobby was remodeled! The food is OK but the drinks are perfect. The place actually is really good for a family with kids (and 2 dogs lol ). Everything is decently run & our family will be really sorry to see the longtime dock-master leave when he moves on to relocate & retire out of state in a few months.

Room Tip: Have a Rum Runner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My friends and I pulled up to sands in my 32ft play boat and had a great time.
The drinks were really good and so were the fish tacos which we're recommend by our waitress Sarah. Who did a great job getting our drinks and food to us in a timely matter even though the place was packed.
I would recommend sands patio bar to any body. Stop in by boat or by car ask for Sarah and kick back and enjoy the tropics!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at the sands harbour with my mum . Great location and there was no issues with noise. We were on the 8th floor so had great views. The staff were fabulous, could not be faulted. We enjoyed the tiki bar and the food was good. General housekeeping was good. The room was comfortable and roomy enough for the two of us however it was dated and could do with a lick of paint. For a short stay Sands Harbour was just the job.

Room Tip: If you are staying in room 807 there was an issue with the amount of hot water. When I queried this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed at the Sands Harbor this past week. It was a perfect place to stay for us since we were staying just steps away from the Pompano Dive Center. This hotel offers great views of the harbor, spacious rooms and decks, and plenty of room to hang our diving gear. I saw one review saying there were no hairdryers in the rooms however the staff was happy to deliver one to my room. The staff were all very friendly and accomodating. We had a fully equipped kitchenette in our room which was a nice feature. The beds were also very comfortable and the rooms were suprisingly quiet.
It was nice to get away from the hotel chains and stay at a place with a more "homey" feel to it. The only complaint and suggestion I have would be the need to update their curtains to keep more light out of the room at night.
Overall, we loved this hotel and look forward to coming back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Live nearby, great location, right on intercoastal. Fun place to enjoy a drink and watch the boats go by. Food is good, has music few times a week. Good people, great wait staff.....fun night out with friends. Parking is in abundance across the street...and it's free!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We have been several times to the Sands for Dinner and drinks with friends. What a great time everyone had. The sun was setting, the drinks and beer were plentiful and the food was terrific, especially the chicken wings, hamburgers and sweet potato fires. For the vegetarians, they have great veggies on focaccia bread. For a fun night you have it all. We will be back.

Ginny V

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach

Address: 125 N Riverside Drive, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Harbor is the complete Florida resort that includes 3 popular restaurants and a full service marina with fishing charters, snorkel & scuba diving trips, small boat and jet ski rentals plus monthly boat trips to tour the historic Hillsboro lighthouse. A million dollar renovation was just completed in 2014 that includes many improvements to our Superior rooms, a beautiful new public lobby and more. Come enjoy the best waterfront views and the friendliest staff in beautiful Pompano Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.