We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong made right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach

Save Saved
You added Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   125 N Riverside Drive, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wrong made right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We made plans to stay here for 5 nights, and I called there directly, had a feeling 2 nights before we flew in to call and confirm, well the 1st girl I talked to said I was coming in a later date than my plan, I said impossible since I called with my calender in front of me and I just booked my flight. She more or less hung up on me and when I called back I got her supervisor who not only gave us a room, but a better one and at a lower price, great view, good food, great servers, great bartenders, great staff all around, yes they do have down fall, they need to re do pretty much the whole building, but we felt between the staff and the location we could over look the older decor.

Room Tip: get a room on the 7th or 8th floor for an outstanding view of the Intercoastal Waterway and the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    13
    3
    16
See reviews for
12
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Sands this past weekend. and were pleasantly surprised. We had a blast. The room is older but clean and I love the fact that there is an outside bar & restaurant downstairs where I don't have to walk to any other place. You're right on the Intracoastal with water views on all 4 sides that you can see from your balcony. Divers & boaters will love this place. Staff is friendly and the food is decent. You are also in walking distance to the beautifully renovated beach/walking area.
It can be a little noisy on weekends and the pool can be busy with kids but they seem to clear out later in the day. The only drawback for me was no breakfast at the hotel or within in walking distance that was decent.

Room Tip: Get a corner room where you have views of the ocean & waterways on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We always stay at Sands Harbor when diving from the marina next door. They offer a good rate to
scuba divers. This is a no frills hotel but more than adequate when diving. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly/helpful. The bathroom area is large with lots of space to hang gear. We enjoy the balcony with its view of the Intercoastal Waterway and the ocean. Parking can be difficult but we have always been able to park at the hotel. We do not leave after we get back from diving - many restaurants are within walking distance. The patio grill has limited choices but the food is good. It seems that the rooms are all smoking but we haver never had a problem with cigarette smoke smell.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Missouri
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

2nd stay at Sands Harbor Hotel. In the area to scuba dive. This hotel is short walk to several scuba boats (scubatyme, and 2boats from Pompano dive center). Also walking distance to Houston's restaurant, and a few other smaller food choices,as well as having its own Patio Bar/ Grill (food was pretty good, and decently priced).

Parking is a nightmare. The bar is popular with locals who park in the hotel lot. There is a public pay lot across the street but its expensive. I hate the parking situation.

We had room #801: great view, kitchenette, large room. I forgot to specify a non-smoking room... It had ash trays but did not smell smokey at all. The room was very dated; wall paper separating at seams, wooden doors splintering at bottom. However it seemed clean. Nice sized balcony with 2 chairs.

Maid staff were very friendly; front desk staff has improved since my last visit. One staff member was in the parking lot all day, every day. I don't know if he was security or just loafing, but he was friendly! I didn't feel the need for security in the area. One day, the maid was cleaning next door and she made it a point to make us aware of a weather alert that she had gotten on her phone. I thought that was very thoughtful of her.

I will stay at the Sands Harbor again only because of its location. I don't think I could recommend it to my friends, though, unless I explained how no-frills it is. No hair-dryer, no iron/ironing board. Thin, small bath towels. No pool towels. If I could find another hotel as conveniently located as this, I'd switch.

Please, Sands Harbor...consider updating your hotel rooms a little, and your female guests will be happier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very dated for the price you pay. We came with a group and when hanging out by the pool the had no seating for just the pool. They had lots of seats for the restaurant on the deck. However if you needed a chair you could not use one of those unless making a purchase. We said we were hotel guests they basically said we don't care. There are many other places with better prices, better service, and better amenities. Please look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Hotel needs a little renovation but other than that it is probably the best place to stay at Pompano for a good price. The room service was EXCEPTIONAL, not only was everything clean and organized but we had asked our maid for extra coffee and towels at the beginning of our stay and never had to ask again, she had remembered and kept our coffee and towels well in stock. The staff were all very friendly, especially at the bar and restaurant. Every waiter/waitress and bartender that we had encountered were extremely professional and personable. Sands is also in a very good location relative to other restaurants and stores. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone who is planning on staying at Pompano.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAPIN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Sands Harbor. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. I guess you could say the hotel is old. While our room was refurbished (new bed, curtains and tv), the fixtures were old. Great view, fairly quiet and free parking (for ANYONE so spaces go quickly).

My biggest gripe was no internet in the rooms and the tv got about 15 channels. Half were Shopping Network and the like. One day we didn't get our room serviced.

Would I stay there again? Yeah. Price and convenience to dive operators would be the reason.

Room Tip: The upper floors have been "refurbished".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsHarbor, General Manager at Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Sands Harbor provides complimentary WI-FI to our hotel guests. We are not sure this guest made us aware of a connection problem as we would have been happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach

Address: 125 N Riverside Drive, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Harbor is the complete Florida resort that includes 3 popular restaurants and a full service marina with fishing charters, snorkel & scuba diving trips, small boat and jet ski rentals plus monthly boat trips to tour the historic Hillsboro lighthouse. A million dollar renovation was just completed in 2014 that includes many improvements to our Superior rooms, a beautiful new public lobby and more. Come enjoy the best waterfront views and the friendliest staff in beautiful Pompano Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.