We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach

Save Saved
You added Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   125 N Riverside Drive, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Room with a View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The waterway views from the balconies of this hotel are spectacular. The ocean - about two blocks away is also visible. Otherwise the hotel is rather dated and lacking in modern amenities (no wifi or hair dryers in rooms). There is no room service. The hotel restaurants serve lunch and dinner - not breakfast. A minimal complimentary continental breakfast is available. The decor is rather retro beach. Go for the view and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    13
    3
    16
See reviews for
12
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is like a slice of Old Florida. The building is older and undoubtedly has seen a few hurricanes, but it is clean and well-maintained with a very friendly staff. Staying here is a good way to get a gorgeous balcony view of the Intracoastal Waterway at a reasonable price. Special rates are available if you are diving with Pompano Dive Center which is two short blocks away.

Our room was quite large and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Everything in the room worked properly except for one wall outlet into which plugs fit loosely and didn't always make contact. There was no fan in the bathroom though, and no hair dryer, so plan to bring your own. Our room didn't have a fridge, but there are several large ice machines downstairs with big scoops for filling ice chests. The high-speed Internet connection in our room was free and reliable.

I didn't try the indoor seafood restaurant, but the outdoor bar and grill made a good blackened mahi sandwich and my waiter was very friendly and attentive. A continental breakfast of coffee, juice, prepackaged muffins and pastries, yogurt and fruit is provided.

Finding a parking space can be a bit of a challenge, but there is an ATM in the hotel and a bank across the street, and a Publix within walking distance for groceries, so we didn't have to move our vehicle too often. There are restaurants within walking distance as well. A coin-op washer and dryer are available for guest use.

If you are there for the diving, I think this is a good place to stay. Divers don't necessarily want to have fancy furnishings or carpeted hallways to worry about if they are hauling wet dive gear back and forth from their room, so the concrete stairs and walkways and the tile-floored entry hall and fiberglass-walled bathroom area just inside the door of our room were ideal as far as I was concerned. We had a nice, quiet, relaxing stay, and the diving was great as always.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Another long weekend of diving, eating and sleeping in Pompano Beach, Florida. Stayed at the Sands Harbor Hotel again and all was good. People were friendly and took good care of us. ScubaTyme Dive Charter took us out each day for diving. The weather was great despite a recent run in with tropical storm Debbie.
By Sunday we had 100' visablitly.
Till next time.... Thank You Pompano Beach....Dive Safe...
Brad

Room Tip: Higher up the better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

In spite of seeing some mixed reviews on tripadvisor, three friends and I decided that Sands Harbor Resort sounded very interesting and booked an efficiency suite for three days. We thoroughly enjoyed it! From the view, to the front desk staff, to the bar and restaurant and even the housekeeping services, we weren't disappointed.

First of all, this is an older property (but attractive) and is not full of marble and interior design touches like an upscale chain resort. It is well kept and very clean. The rooms were quite large. Our arrangement was a double room with adjoining kitchenette that had a double bed and fold out couch that was comfortable enough. Bring your hair dryer because they are not provided. Sergio, who was on duty at the front desk when we arrived, put us on the 8th floor, with fantastic views of both the ocean and intercoastal.

We had booked a holiday weekend package which included a $25 dinner voucher for two, and free welcome cocktails for everyone. The restaurant was very good and there were lots of good people-watching opportunities at the bar! They had live music on the pool deck on Saturday afternoon.

As others have mentioned, Sands Harbor is within easy walking distance of a variety of restaurants, bars, and shops. There is also a new Publix grocery store right behind it.

To summarize, if you like staying at unique properties at a very reasonable price and walking around to explore an interesting area, give Sands Harbor a try. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The higher the better because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I want to thank Mike in reservations for your courtesy. Appreciate your phone etiquette and understanding of my situation.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is an older Hotel but the views of the ocean and the intercoastal are fantastic!.Siting at the bar on the water watching all the boats pull in for lunch was a plus.The hotel is perfect for someone not wanting a car as every thing is in walking distance including the beach,pubs a variaty of eating places and even a drug store and dollar store.Also if you need a tooth pulled a couple of dentist's are near by.!!!My wife and I have decided to stay in country and support our fello Americans and the Sands was a great choice for us this year.We will be back next year for longer.By the way the party who degraded these hard working folks by claiming bed bugs are full of it. Bob and Coolie Newburyport Ma. Thanks

Room Tip: Southside best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

If you want to be some bugs dinners then go to the SANDS HARBOR!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsHarbor, General Manager at Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Every hotel at every level has had a bed bug brought into one of their rooms at some time, but I can assure you there is not a bed bug problem at Sands Harbor. Please see the many positive reviews by others. We give you an absolute guarantee you will not have a problem and will enjoy your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach

Address: 125 N Riverside Drive, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Harbor is the complete Florida resort that includes 3 popular restaurants and a full service marina with fishing charters, snorkel & scuba diving trips, small boat and jet ski rentals plus monthly boat trips to tour the historic Hillsboro lighthouse. A million dollar renovation was just completed in 2014 that includes many improvements to our Superior rooms, a beautiful new public lobby and more. Come enjoy the best waterfront views and the friendliest staff in beautiful Pompano Beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Harbor Hotel and Marina Pompano Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.