We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Organ, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Girls Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Recently stayed at this resort thanks to a great sale. We booked an ocean front room and so glad we did. We had a great view - above the palm trees. The beds were comfortable and the rooms are big. The balcony was a great place to relax although it could be a little slippery. Only complaint about the room - the bathroom door was difficult to close.

Great beach, two pools to relax by and fantastic bartenders. The employees were wonderful and very helpful with recommendations for dining off property.

My only con - the hotel food. Our first night we dined by the pool I had the calamari and it was straight from the freezer and thin with no flavor. The next morning we had breakfast again by the pool. We were looking forward to eggs benedict unfortunately it came swimming in hollandaise sauce. Hollandaise sauce is only suppose to be enough for flavoring - our plates were entirely covered in sauce.

The rooms were great, the staff was wonderful I would come again just maybe not eat on property.

Room Tip: Request a room above the palm trees otherwise your beach view may be blocked
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    320
    135
    60
    51
See reviews for
258
390
34
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here several times , first time. 30 yrs ago I must say the hotel has greatly improved!! The grill on the beach is fantastic. Good food for fair price. We stayed in room 110 great location ocean front!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here from June 23rd to June 27th. Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Mike the manager gave me the deal that week even if I had booked in January. Rooms were the best. We asked or ocean view and it was supper. Spent my mornings and nights there on the balcony. All the balconies are close but very cozy. Pool very clean, and well maintained. You can rent cabanas for the day, and exchange towels too. Food at the restaurant great. Had breakfast there every morning. Restaurant has a tiki look, and faces the ocean. Best spot to have breakfast in the morning, and watch the kids in the pool. One thing that could help would be put the tiki bar in the corner of the restaurant and make this a bigger hang out, I am sure it would double or triple business, and want guest to hang out there at night. I was very happy with my stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for higher rooms. Ocean view is as good as ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here the last night of our trip. While the outdoor amenities (e.g. right on the beach) were outstanding our room experience was not the best. We were on the 8th floor (specifically, 814). When we checked in around 2:00 pm there was a loud sound above our room. We believed it may have been washing machines or piping and figured the sound would not continue. We were wrong. The sound continued until we checked out the next morning around 6:00 am. The A/C was loud and that did help to drown the sound out somewhat but we still had problems falling asleep with the loud piping/machine sound. When booking our stay we had requested a top floor quiet room and instead received noise through out the night and yelling guests in the hall. The latter is not one I fault the hotel for. It sounded like teenagers who were excited to be checked in and in general lacked common courtesy. We did not contact the front desk about the machine/piping sound as it was the middle of the night and we needed to be up at 5:30 am and wanted to save the hassle of changing rooms and packing things back up.

Admittedly, the room was small, but we did not book this stay just for the room. We GREATLY enjoyed our time spent playing on the beach and a phenomenal dinner at the hotel restaurant! The wait staff was wonderful and the food was reasonably priced and delicious. Parking was ample and free, another perk! Overall, I would stay here again if our next room were quieter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A solid 3 Star with 5 Star service. Our family rented 3 rooms for 4th if July weekend. It is hard to get 7 adults to agree to anything. All of us agreed that this place is awesome for the price. Great location, comfortable and clean rooms (all 3). Free parking for guests, great restaurant and bar, tastefully decorated lobby, front desk, beach and pool areas. The entire staff was awesome. You want convenience.... there is a shopping plaza across the street with a Sports Bar, Laundry Mat, Pizza place plus a Mini Market.
The added bonus is that you can walk to the Pompano Beach fishing pier and renovated beach area, one of the best in Broward County.

Room Tip: A beachview is a must, the other rooms are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you are looking for 5 star perfection, this is not the place for you. I find 5 star too snobby, snooty and unfriendly!
The Beachcomber hit the mark for me. Check in was a breeze. The room was ok. The bed was a bit short (I'm 6' 2") so I slept diagonally (2 queen beds). Microwave, iron and board, fridge, coffee maker*, safe...pretty well equipped. I see someone else has put about noisy A/C.....I haven't, yet, come across a quiet one but it didn't give us any sleeplessness. A lovely balcony with two loungers was a bonus!! Anyway a room is somewhere to put your head on the pillow for the night and as long as it is clean, then fait a complete....and it was clean.
That's the room covered. Now the rest:- Brilliant...the location - superb - right on the beach,( oh and by the way peeps, seaweed is a fact of life...live with it! The guys do their best to minimise it.) Two super pools with the water temperature perfect; a smashing dining patio overlooking the beach and a fab tiki bar, just by the main pool, serving a plethora of cocktails and other libations.
The one thing that makes a good resort are the people and believe me when I say, the people here are great. All the staff are friendly and helpful and made time to have a chat but they weren't intrusive. Special mention to Steve at the tiki bar... Luiz, the towel man and Debbie, the waitress.
I can only take so much sunbathing so being able to have a couple of beers or perhaps a cocktail and chat to Steve and other guests, at the tiki bar, was a pleasure! And, if the wife wanted a refreshment whilst sunbathing on one of the many sunbeds, Debbie or one of the girls would take it to her.
All in all, I would highly recommend this resort.
* to the management... get rid of the filter coffee machines! They are as effective as an ashtray on a motor bike!! A small kettle is all that is required with some coffee sachets and tea bags. (Being English, I do like a nice cuppa...always travel with some Tetleys tea bags and Kenco coffee). Otherwise, keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better seaviews. We were on first floor, second furthest room from the sea but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The carpet in our room (109) was so dirty that if we walked from the bed to the bathroom and back, our feet were black. The A/C was noisy and barely kept the room comfortable no matter how we set the thermostat. The toilet did not flush properly, the sink did not drain properly, the room safe did not work. The bathroom needed paint. All the room lamps were falling apart. The outside of the hotel is beautiful as is the pools and dining areas. However we found the menu and drink prices too high. The dining room and bar were mostly empty because most guests went else where to eat and drink. No coolers are allowed on the beach. That is ridiculous!! We had to leave the beach and go back to our room for a drink. 55.00 for four drinks I think is too high. 5.00 for a can of bud too high. The entire staff was great and helpful. They will tell you where all the good restaurants are so you can eat reasonably. Will nerer go there again.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Sorry and quite disappointed to read Vincent A’s review about his recent stay with us. We are even more disappointed that he did not report the issues to us that he mentioned in his review. Instead, Vincent A chose to endure these issues and then post about them in a Trip Advisor review rather than letting us resolve these problems so he might have had a better experience with us during his stay. It is tough for us to correct problems that arise if we are not aware. He did however take the time to call our front desk to report that he saw a cooler around our pool area one evening that we did find sitting unattended which we stored until we could return it to its owner.

According to our housekeeping reports, Vincent A had a do not disturb sign on his guest room door over the course of his entire stay (at least for sure during the hours that our housekeeping department cleans our rooms). When we see a do not disturb sign hanging from a door, we do not disturb the guest, but we do slip a letter under their door saying that we saw the sign, respect their wishes, and if they do want service to call our front desk so we can service their room. At no point did Vincent A contact us to request housekeeping clean his room over the course of his stay which might be why he mentioned that he had cleanliness issues. Same may also hold true about the air conditioner in his room not cooling properly because we also have no record of any maintenance complaints either during his stay with us in that room.

We make sure we explain and properly disclose our policies regarding no coolers, no glass, and that all food and beverage consumed in our public areas (beach and pool included) must be provided by the resort since these areas are also considered food and beverage outlets where we serve the food and beverage we offer. Guest are certainly welcome to bring and consume whatever food or beverages they might bring along for their stay and enjoy that in their guest room, but sorry, not outside around our pools, on our beach or bring that into our dining room where we provide this service.

We certainly regret that Vincent A did not enjoy his stay with us and says he will not be returning to stay with us in the future; sure do wish we had an opportunity to address and resolve his issues during his stay so we might have made his experience with us better and avoid such a negative review. We ask that those who might read this particular review to please consider the many recent positive reviews and respectfully bear in mind that Vincent A may not agree with our pricing or like our policies regarding coolers or picnicking in the same areas where we offer food and beverage service (which might be a contributing factor that motivated Vincent A to post this type of review). However, we do take this review seriously and will thoroughly inspect room 109 for the issues outlined in this review and will certainly correct any problems we do find.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.