We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Beachcomber, Pompano Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Novi, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love the Beachcomber, Pompano Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had upgraded to a better room (after reading the trip advisor reviews) and we were not disappointed! We were in a corner room on the top floor (room 812) which had breathtaking views of the ocean looking north and east. Our wonderful perch allowed us to have coffee and quiet evening refreshments over looking the water on our private balcony above the palm trees. The Suite was tastefully done. A great place to go to get away from it all and reunite. We were there 6 nights. We took the bed & breakfast package and enjoyed that fact that breakfast was included in the bill. Breakfast was the only meal we ate in the hotel. Food was good. Loved being served breakfast on the beach. The hotel has 2 pools none of which we used but there was always people in them. Like any place in that area - parking is tight. Had dinner across the street at Stingers - highly recommend.
Frankly, the only downside to our stay was hanging out for an unfortunate short time at the Tiki bar. Unless you are interested in listening to Steve the bartender's personal infomercial about hawking his homemade bloody Mary mix and soliciting your potential business, I would visit when someone else is in command. That experience was so wrong. We wanted to unplug, relax and take in the scenery instead we felt like we should be looking for the hidden cameras.

Room Tip: Request a high floor - above the palm trees with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    290
    122
    55
    48
See reviews for
238
354
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights mid April 2014. Had a great time! The rooms are a little dated, but very clean. Stayed in a room with king bed and pullout couch for our son. Big oversized room (405) with mini fridge, sink and microwave with little table. The room view was pretty of the pool and the ocean. A little obstructed by Palm trees, which I liked anyway. If you get a little higher floor like 6 or above, no obstructions. The pool area great, service was excellent and attentive. The beach was beautiful also and we loved the drinks and food service that was very reasonable! We never left our chairs and relaxed. Our 7 year old loved everything about the place. Had the time of his life. We really enjoyed our stay!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Saw the pictures and decided to pay the high dollar rate for what I was told would be a nice ocean view with a balcony for are last day of are vacation. Arrived at around 9:30 am after getting of are cruise ship. Didnt really expect room to be ready but was hoping. Room was not given to us untill 4:PM and it was ground level with view of the pool. When we complained about the ground level there were two other parties complaining about the same thing and they were lucky enough to be on floor three. To really get a decent ocean view which at the desk they refer to diaginol ovean view you would at least have to be on floor #5. Very miss leading. Drinks at there bar were very expensive. The food was good and maost of the staff was nce.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just got back from the Beachcomber. We stayed 5 nights in unit 926, which is a two bedroom villa.

First, the room...the villas seem like a great idea. They are separate from the main hotel and each is like a small cottage. There is a small "private" pool in the villa area, which at first seemed great except they don't heat it, so it was very cold in early April. Our unit was expensive, about $400 a night plus tax, and honestly not worth that price. The room had marks on the walls everywhere (time to paint guys), most of the electrical plugs were used so much that you had to position your plug just right in order to get appliances, chargers, etc, to work. Even the maid had trouble keeping the vacuum cleaner going. Does no one at BC realize this? Not hard to change plugs! Also, given that it was a 2 bedroom cottage, I thought it would have a full kitchen, but it doesn't. It has a mini-refrigerator, a personal coffee maker, and a small microwave oven. No stove, and the freezer in the mini-fridge was weak at best. Furniture was decent, but dated. All wicker stuff, which is okay but not impressive at all. It was nice having a separated room, but for the price I expected luxury and it was more like run-down motel level. Maybe the tower is much better, I don't know.

The grounds are very nice, but not large. The main pool has too many lounges packed in too close together, but it is pretty out there. Lots of foliage, and clear wind barriers help. Attendants are asking constantly if they can bring you something, but beware, the prices are as if this is a five star hotel. $10 for any drink with ground up ice, and they are all made with pre-mix. The tiki bar would be a lot nicer if they cut their prices in half. We didn't try to the food because I didn't want to pay $10 for a chicken sandwich, and that was one of the cheaper items. The staff is very friendly, no complaints there. They also had some weird 'cards for towels' exchange thing that at first seemed complicated, and then even more so when no one seemed to be following the rules anyway. I realize it was designed to reduce towel theft or loss, but it was a nuisance.

Overall, I like the hotel as maybe a 2 or 3 star place. The grounds are beautiful and right on the beach, but the hotel has an identity crisis. It thinks it is a high class ritzy establishment and it is not. If they would lower prices to be more in line with where they truly rank in the marketplace, then I might consider going back, but I would not rent a villa again. If all the villas are like the one we had, they need major renovations before I would consider staying in one of those again. Honestly, I doubt I will ever go back. I feel like I was ripped off at the price I paid. I paid top of the market hoping to treat my family to a luxury experience and instead I got a roadside motel room. Not sure I can ever shake that no matter what they do.

If you stay here, rent in the tower. Don't expect condo-like amenities in any room, this is a hotel. Not really sure if the tower's rooms are better, but they looked nice from the outside. Generally speaking, this place is over-priced, so I suggest looking around a little more. There are many places in the area that are just as good for less.

Room Tip: Can't recommend a villa, ours was in bad shape. Try a tower room instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park Center, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in mid April 2014. Location is beautiful. The grounds & beach were gorgeous. The hotel is only OK. The lobby is extremely dated. The 1st room we were assigned was dark & no ocean view, which we pd for. We requested a chg & received a better, higher floor room. It is very dated, though the balcony was very nice with comfortable lounge chairs. The wifi didn't work at all. The drinks & food were good but high priced. Enjoyed our stay but probably won't be back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We loved this resort! Right on the beach. They have a waiter come right on the beach and brings you drinks! They have a very nice restaurant right on the beach too. Everyone was very nice! Will definitely go back! The maids keep out room very clean. They put clean sheets on the bed everyday !

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in an oceanfront room. Older hotel but it was clean and we loved the character of the place. Guests were all ages...older couples, families with young kids...really nice atmosphere. 2 thumbs up for the breakfast on the patio at the beach!! We also did a late lunch on the beach and it was great! Wish we could have stayed longer!!

Room Tip: We were in oceanfront but behind some palm trees. We should have requested a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.