We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 4 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ROMANCE PACKAGE
Ranked #6 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Ocean City, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

In general hotel is very nice! Right on the beach nice location. Service was great everyone very friendly and helpful. Room was pretty big with nice balcony and lounge chairs. Ac was a little loud. Other than that pleasant experience with our stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    273
    112
    59
    45
See reviews for
202
302
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

My wife and I try to get to Florida at least once a year. If we aren't going on a cruise, we try to stay in the Fort Lauderdale area. This is one of the hotels that we frequent.

The hotel has a very Mediterranean feel to it, which we enjoy. The ocean view balconies are actually on the side of the building, overlooking the pool area. You can, indeed see the ocean from the room, but if you are towards the front of the building, the view looks pretty distant. We have stayed in rooms closer to the beach in the ocean view category that were very nice. There is probably only 40 yards difference between the two rooms' distance to the beach, but for some reason it seems to make a difference.

We have stayed in both low-floor and high-floor rooms... you want to request a high floor, as the pool can be somewhat noisy, and being on a lower floor exacerbates it.

The beach access is good, the sand is soft and clean, and the ocean is gorgeous. The pool area is very nice, the Tiki bar was very nice as well. The only employee that stood out to us was Kelly. She was very nice, very friendly, very accomodating. it has been at least a year since I have been to this resort, and I still remembered her name... and I usually can't remember $&*%^.... so that tells you something right there.

We didn't use the restaurant, so I can't comment on that. The room itself was pretty nice, but the door leading to the balcony was rusted a little and you could tell that they painted over the rust. I understand that there are salt water spray issues right by the ocean that can cause this sort of thing... but on a couple of the doors during our many stays, well, they should have been replaced. If someone wanted to come through the door, it wouldn't have taken much.

The WIFI sucked so bad that we had to turn on the hotspot feature on my phone. Routers are cheap, people... repeaters are cheap as well. No reason in this day and age to have crappy wifi signal.

We will definitely return to this hotel some day... probably sooner than later.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have returned for the 4th time, originally because of location. It is now obvious that the hotel is making major steps forward, the staff have always been friendly and helpful now the food is much improved and additions and renovations are underway.

The rooms are functional and maybe a little tired but large and comfortable, they do offer great value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean front room, worth a few dollars extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finley, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I picked this resort for my family to spend a short 3 day, last minute wedding weekend. My husband was diagnosed with a brian tumor and our original wedding cruise plans had to be cancelled.
We booked a villa and had 8 other rooms booked for the weekend. Our villa was the same size as one of the other guests regular room, which was disappointing since we paid much more. The beds and pillows were comfortable, although the sheets were to small for the bed, resulting in them sliding off the corners every night.
The only thing I expected from the hotel was to be able to have lunch from their restuarant after our own short private wedding. Just like any other guest at the hotel. Order off the regular menu, nothing special, no special accomadations other than asking if we could make a reservation or not. The food and beverage manager was not helpful or friendly. She was worried about us using their beach, and a special menu, and could not accomadate us for lunch at the time we asked.
As for the tiki bar, we had a great experience with all of the employees working except Kelly. I stood there while she swore not once but twice at customers in my party, all over making frozen drinks. Yes, the men had gone to a concert and had been drinking, but all of the women went to dinner and hung out in my villa. We had not been drinking prior to approaching Kelly at 11p when the guys returned.
If Kelly was closing, she should have said she was closing, if there are no frozen drinks after 10p, then she should simply say that. It still remains unacceptable to swear at guests or call them names. Very disappointing.
This resort has pros and cons. As well as good employees and bad employees. But customer service still remains a priority in any business. I worked in the airline industry for 15 years and have stayed in hotels all over the world. This was not a good experience.

Room Tip: Villas were quiet, however not worth the money. Do not order a frozen drink after 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Apparently the fallout and bashing on Social Media continues as a result of the incident that took place between Kelly, our bartender, and Ms. Halverson’s lady friends in her bridal party on Saturday, 12/7. We conducted a thorough investigation of this matter which not only involved a detailed conversation with Kelly as well as other guests not associated with the Ms. Halverson who voluntarily came forward on their own since they were upset by the way the lady requesting the frozen drinks addressed Kelly.

One thing is for certain here at the Beachcomber is that we will not tolerate any disrespect and especially foul language when it comes to the way any of our team members treat any of our guests. Rest assured that we deal with that swiftly, but also when a good employee is involved (who has a solid trend of praise and good remarks on Trip Advisor) who does not have any history of bad comments or poor customer service, we listen and get all the facts and then take appropriate action.

Again, we beg to differ on the time the situation took place; it was after midnight. Kelly did make the frozen drink that the lady ordered and then did say to the others still at the bar that she was giving last call and asked the others at the Tiki bar if they wanted any more frozen drinks before she prepared to close.

We came to find out that only the men in the wedding party left to go to the Hootie and the Blowfish concert that evening and the women stayed back (which is consistent with Ms. Halverson’s remarks about the girls hanging out in her Villa) and waited for the boys to return (which was after midnight). We did get some insight that some of the ladies were not too pleased that the men went out and returned a bit later than planned (possibly with the groom in tow on his wedding night) and left the ladies behind. For all we know this may have contributed to the dynamic of some of the ladies’ mindset that evening.

Others that knew the woman who got into the confrontation with Kelly used the B word, etc. and commented to us that the particular lady who wanted the frozen drink (not Ms. Halverson) was known for being aggressive, demanding and condescending to service people in general.

Our F&B manager did not deal with Ms. Halverson, but rather the 3 women (that posted the 3 other negative reviews) who seemed to be handling the plans for the ceremony who were involved in the first conversation that lead them to ask to speak to the GM (when they found out there were fees for the use of the beach for the wedding ceremony). We already covered this ground in our response to the 3 other negative reviews titled: Very Rude to Guests, Will never go back – DO NOT RECOMMEND, and Treated Extremely Poorly by Staff and Management. Ms. Halverson’s point of view is from the impressions she got from her friends, so of course this is a re-run of the take covered in the 3 negative reviews, not Ms. Halverson’s firsthand experience.

Again, their first intent was to hold the wedding on our beach and once they discovered there would be set up fees and planning involved, they opted to hold the wedding ceremony on the public beach (which is what they had a permit for to do from the onset). As for requesting a reservation for 20 people at 12 noon at our beach dining area (not inside in our dining room that was available), we did have reservations (made well in advance) for a Sweet 16 party (at our beach dining area) so we did ask if they could flex the time for their reservation and make it for 1 PM (which seemed to be acceptable to the ladies handling the plans). We were more than glad to accommodate their needs with respect to the other lunch reservations we had including the Sweet 16 party. Not really fair to minimize the concept of holding a private wedding ceremony and a lunch for 20 to follow as something that the typical hotel guest would do (with less than 24 hours notice). On Saturday afternoon, Lynn our F&B Manager (who the 3 ladies took a dislike to), went out to the wedding party lunch to say hello and ask how everything was; was given the cold shoulder by the ladies and only the gentleman at the head of the table acknowledged her. Please note that with regards Ms. Halverson’s comments about the difficulties her colleagues experienced with Lynn about the plans for the ceremony and the lunch, this version is through the eyes of the 3 women who had it out for Lynn; one of whom who had the confrontation with Kelly later on after midnight on Saturday.

As for the facts about our 1 Bedroom Villas, they are larger than our other rooms and the layout includes a private bedroom with 1 queen bed, full/private bathroom, a living area with love seat, L shaped couch with pull out queen sleeper sofa configuration, a small dinette area, and a galley sized kitchen with standard refrigerator, microwave, sink, coffee maker, counter and cabinet space (but not equipped with flatware, cookware, etc.). There is also a flat screen TV in the living room and one in the private bedroom; the living room has a high vaulted ceiling with a tropical ceiling fan. (The 1 bedroom Villa was large enough of a space for Ms. Halverson’s bridal party to gather and congregate and larger that our other typical rooms).

With all this being said, we respect Ms. Halverson’s point of view and her comments (as well as the other reviews posted by the others involved here). Once we saw the multiple negative reviews and their facebook postings; we gathered as much information as possible to get to the bottom of this rather acrimonious situation. She is and has good and loyal friends who traveled to assist her with her special day. We understand the passion.

We do appreciate her business and the business generated by her friends and family who traveled and stayed with us to celebrate with her. We apologize for the hard feelings. We also wish we had an opportunity to address these concerns internally between ourselves (instead of on this forum) and find a way to resolve our differences. At the end of the day, all that’s been accomplished here is that our reputation takes a hit and nothing gets done to resolve the issues; unless this is what Ms. Halverson and her friends really wanted to do, which has been effectively accomplished here. Sorry folks, we are truly committed to delivering top notch service and pleasing our guests; based on this review and the others related to it, we just have to say, the guest is always right and take our lumps.

Peace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for the last 14 years. The location is great, right on the ocean. The Tiki bar is really fun, Kelly the bartender at night is great. Always goes out of her way to make sure everyone is having a great time. I always make it a point to stop by the tiki bar even when I don't stay at they hotel just because of Kelly. I have recommended this place to all my friends to stay there when they come to Fl and they have all raved about how much fun it is especially the Tiki bar with Kelly. I would recommend it highly

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed for the first time at Beachcombers for a day before our cruise and for 2 days after. Personally I didn't want to leave to go on the cruise the hotel was so nice. The bartender Steve was wonderful - top notch. The food was to die for......they were under a bit of construction but that was fine too - not very noisy at all. Instead of going on another cruise we are going back for the week and staying at Beachcombers and I can't Wait!!

Room Tip: I love the rooms with ocean view - beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

One of the staff in the tiki bar was extremely rude, referring to my daughter as a f&@$ing b$@ch because she wanted a frozen drink. We spent a ton of money at the tiki bar, and she was the only bartender who was rude, perhaps she is in the wrong profession?

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
This is in response to this review and two others; one titled Will never go back - DONOT RECOMMEND!, and Treated extremely poorly by staff and management:

With all due respect to the fact that the Internet, Social Media, and sites like Trip Advisor provide people from all over the world a forum to share their opinions about all they see and do for all the world to see; we would hope that those who see these postings maintain a healthy skepticism as it relates to all the facts and the impact it might have on persons’ or businesses’ reputations.

The three individuals who posted these reviews were guests of the Beachcomber over the weekend of Dec. 6 through Dec. 8th and were part of a random group of folks who decided to stay at the Beachcomber to attend a wedding. It is important to note that this group of people did not contact us to set up any special group rates nor did they request (in advance) any special event plans for the wedding that they were going to have/attend that apparently was going to take place here at the Beachcomber. Even after their stay here, we still have no idea who was actually the main contact for this gathering (but no big deal either way).

Late Friday afternoon, the day before the wedding, 3 ladies (not the bride, not the bride’s mother, or from we could tell, not directly related to the bride or groom) approached our F&B Manager with a permit (issued by the City) in hand to hold a wedding on the beach and at first said they wanted to hold the wedding ceremony here on Beachcomber property. Please note that the permit was to allow for a wedding anywhere on a City of Pompano Beach public beach area. They also wanted to reserve our dining area on the beach for a party of 20 for 12 Noon on Saturday.

Our F&B Manager asked them how they wanted the beach set up for the wedding and started explaining the applicable fees we charge to hold an event with us, etc. We also had a Sweet 16 birthday party already booked for Saturday at about the same time (the 3 ladies wanted to hold the lunch) at our beach dining section, so we had to ask for some flexibility with the timing of their post wedding lunch and suggested 1 PM instead of 12 Noon. The three ladies did not like the news about our fee structure to hold and reserve space on our beach area for a wedding (or special event). Please note that they apparently had adequate time to obtain a City permit, but did not start planning with us until within 24 hours of the wedding the next day. Regardless, we too are flexible and willing to do what it takes, so our F&B Manager handled the dining part of the reservation and after that was arranged they came to the front desk to ask to speak with the General Manager.

I came out to meet with the 3 ladies along with our F&B Director and sat down with the ladies who were quite upset. While meeting with them, the story changed and they now told us they would be going to a spot on the public beach to hold the ceremony, but they felt put off by our F&B Manager and no longer felt welcome at our resort. We explained how we handle special events (on our beach areas), addressed their issues, apologized profusely, tried to explain that of course they were welcome, offer some kind consolation and allowed them to bring their own wedding cake and waived the cutting fee for the cake. We thought all was resolved and the next day, the post wedding lunch went smoothly and they seemed happy and satisfied. Please note that the wedding ceremony took place on the public beach elsewhere (not at the Beachcomber) at about noon. The attendees had started drinking at our Tiki bar (and in some in their rooms) by about 11 in the morning that day (Saturday).

After the lunch, most of the attendees continued to enjoy themselves at the resort and continued drinking throughout the day and into the evening. Some of them left the property in the evening and went to a local concert; Hootie and the Blowfish were playing somewhere in the area.

Fast forward to about 12 – 12:30 AM, late Saturday night/early Sunday morning which was about closing time at our Tiki Bar when some or all of the individuals who posted these reviews (and some of the same 3 ladies we met with about holding the wedding ceremony on our beach the prior day) returned to the property and headed for the Tiki Bar for some more drinks. We need to mention that we are very careful as it gets later into the evening at our Tiki Bar out of consideration to many of our guests who have retired for the night and we need to keep the noise down.

We beg to differ as to the time noted in one of the reviews; trust us, it was after midnight when these ladies approached the Tiki Bar as Kelly was closing. Someone in that party that posted one of the reviews was belligerent and aggressive in speaking with Kelly and the others at the bar did notice this. In fact, apparently someone in the group here for the wedding party was actually the one that used the B word (along with other expletives) and said that this person was well known for being a difficult person with service people (even when not under the influence). Again, beg to differ here, but the majority of the people attending this wedding had been drinking throughout the day and it was now past midnight.

Kelly has been bartending with us for over three years and has been mentioned here on Trip Advisor many times for her great service attitude (just like all of our other bartenders). Kelly is a professional and has many years of experience in the hospitality industry and has been empowered to maintain control and make the tough decision to make last call so we avoid complaints from other guests who have gone to bed and deserve a good night’s sleep. Please note that before the person who claims to have been mistreated by Kelly approached the Tiki Bar, this group of people came through the hotel lobby acting loud and boisterous, so much so that our security guard called Kelly to warn her they were on their way and to call him if she needed any assistance.

Once alcohol is added to the mix, perception is altered. Kelly is the one who has to maintain order and follow our responsible vendor guidelines (for our guests’ safety, etc.). With this said, rather than get vindictive here for people ganging up and posting some negative reviews about the Beachcomber, we will let the many positive reviews speak for themselves, balance the scales, and let you the people be the judge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber
Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.