We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a sunny Florida weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Dubuque, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for a sunny Florida weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

My wife and I try to get to Florida at least once a year. If we aren't going on a cruise, we try to stay in the Fort Lauderdale area. This is one of the hotels that we frequent.

The hotel has a very Mediterranean feel to it, which we enjoy. The ocean view balconies are actually on the side of the building, overlooking the pool area. You can, indeed see the ocean from the room, but if you are towards the front of the building, the view looks pretty distant. We have stayed in rooms closer to the beach in the ocean view category that were very nice. There is probably only 40 yards difference between the two rooms' distance to the beach, but for some reason it seems to make a difference.

We have stayed in both low-floor and high-floor rooms... you want to request a high floor, as the pool can be somewhat noisy, and being on a lower floor exacerbates it.

The beach access is good, the sand is soft and clean, and the ocean is gorgeous. The pool area is very nice, the Tiki bar was very nice as well. The only employee that stood out to us was Kelly. She was very nice, very friendly, very accomodating. it has been at least a year since I have been to this resort, and I still remembered her name... and I usually can't remember $&*%^.... so that tells you something right there.

We didn't use the restaurant, so I can't comment on that. The room itself was pretty nice, but the door leading to the balcony was rusted a little and you could tell that they painted over the rust. I understand that there are salt water spray issues right by the ocean that can cause this sort of thing... but on a couple of the doors during our many stays, well, they should have been replaced. If someone wanted to come through the door, it wouldn't have taken much.

The WIFI sucked so bad that we had to turn on the hotspot feature on my phone. Routers are cheap, people... repeaters are cheap as well. No reason in this day and age to have crappy wifi signal.

We will definitely return to this hotel some day... probably sooner than later.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    276
    115
    55
    48
See reviews for
220
333
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have returned for the 4th time, originally because of location. It is now obvious that the hotel is making major steps forward, the staff have always been friendly and helpful now the food is much improved and additions and renovations are underway.

The rooms are functional and maybe a little tired but large and comfortable, they do offer great value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean front room, worth a few dollars extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finley, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I picked this resort for my family to spend a short 3 day, last minute wedding weekend. My husband was diagnosed with a brian tumor and our original wedding cruise plans had to be cancelled.
We booked a villa and had 8 other rooms booked for the weekend. Our villa was the same size as one of the other guests regular room, which was disappointing since we paid much more. The beds and pillows were comfortable, although the sheets were to small for the bed, resulting in them sliding off the corners every night.
The only thing I expected from the hotel was to be able to have lunch from their restuarant after our own short private wedding. Just like any other guest at the hotel. Order off the regular menu, nothing special, no special accomadations other than asking if we could make a reservation or not. The food and beverage manager was not helpful or friendly. She was worried about us using their beach, and a special menu, and could not accomadate us for lunch at the time we asked.
As for the tiki bar, we had a great experience with all of the employees working except Kelly. I stood there while she swore not once but twice at customers in my party, all over making frozen drinks. Yes, the men had gone to a concert and had been drinking, but all of the women went to dinner and hung out in my villa. We had not been drinking prior to approaching Kelly at 11p when the guys returned.
If Kelly was closing, she should have said she was closing, if there are no frozen drinks after 10p, then she should simply say that. It still remains unacceptable to swear at guests or call them names. Very disappointing.
This resort has pros and cons. As well as good employees and bad employees. But customer service still remains a priority in any business. I worked in the airline industry for 15 years and have stayed in hotels all over the world. This was not a good experience.

Room Tip: Villas were quiet, however not worth the money. Do not order a frozen drink after 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Apparently the fallout and bashing on Social Media continues as a result of the incident that took place between Kelly, our bartender, and Ms. Halverson’s lady friends in her bridal party on Saturday, 12/7. We conducted a thorough investigation of this matter which not only involved a detailed conversation with Kelly as well as other guests not associated with the Ms. Halverson who voluntarily came forward on their own since they were upset by the way the lady requesting the frozen drinks addressed Kelly.

One thing is for certain here at the Beachcomber is that we will not tolerate any disrespect and especially foul language when it comes to the way any of our team members treat any of our guests. Rest assured that we deal with that swiftly, but also when a good employee is involved (who has a solid trend of praise and good remarks on Trip Advisor) who does not have any history of bad comments or poor customer service, we listen and get all the facts and then take appropriate action.

Again, we beg to differ on the time the situation took place; it was after midnight. Kelly did make the frozen drink that the lady ordered and then did say to the others still at the bar that she was giving last call and asked the others at the Tiki bar if they wanted any more frozen drinks before she prepared to close.

We came to find out that only the men in the wedding party left to go to the Hootie and the Blowfish concert that evening and the women stayed back (which is consistent with Ms. Halverson’s remarks about the girls hanging out in her Villa) and waited for the boys to return (which was after midnight). We did get some insight that some of the ladies were not too pleased that the men went out and returned a bit later than planned (possibly with the groom in tow on his wedding night) and left the ladies behind. For all we know this may have contributed to the dynamic of some of the ladies’ mindset that evening.

Others that knew the woman who got into the confrontation with Kelly used the B word, etc. and commented to us that the particular lady who wanted the frozen drink (not Ms. Halverson) was known for being aggressive, demanding and condescending to service people in general.

Our F&B manager did not deal with Ms. Halverson, but rather the 3 women (that posted the 3 other negative reviews) who seemed to be handling the plans for the ceremony who were involved in the first conversation that lead them to ask to speak to the GM (when they found out there were fees for the use of the beach for the wedding ceremony). We already covered this ground in our response to the 3 other negative reviews titled: Very Rude to Guests, Will never go back – DO NOT RECOMMEND, and Treated Extremely Poorly by Staff and Management. Ms. Halverson’s point of view is from the impressions she got from her friends, so of course this is a re-run of the take covered in the 3 negative reviews, not Ms. Halverson’s firsthand experience.

Again, their first intent was to hold the wedding on our beach and once they discovered there would be set up fees and planning involved, they opted to hold the wedding ceremony on the public beach (which is what they had a permit for to do from the onset). As for requesting a reservation for 20 people at 12 noon at our beach dining area (not inside in our dining room that was available), we did have reservations (made well in advance) for a Sweet 16 party (at our beach dining area) so we did ask if they could flex the time for their reservation and make it for 1 PM (which seemed to be acceptable to the ladies handling the plans). We were more than glad to accommodate their needs with respect to the other lunch reservations we had including the Sweet 16 party. Not really fair to minimize the concept of holding a private wedding ceremony and a lunch for 20 to follow as something that the typical hotel guest would do (with less than 24 hours notice). On Saturday afternoon, Lynn our F&B Manager (who the 3 ladies took a dislike to), went out to the wedding party lunch to say hello and ask how everything was; was given the cold shoulder by the ladies and only the gentleman at the head of the table acknowledged her. Please note that with regards Ms. Halverson’s comments about the difficulties her colleagues experienced with Lynn about the plans for the ceremony and the lunch, this version is through the eyes of the 3 women who had it out for Lynn; one of whom who had the confrontation with Kelly later on after midnight on Saturday.

As for the facts about our 1 Bedroom Villas, they are larger than our other rooms and the layout includes a private bedroom with 1 queen bed, full/private bathroom, a living area with love seat, L shaped couch with pull out queen sleeper sofa configuration, a small dinette area, and a galley sized kitchen with standard refrigerator, microwave, sink, coffee maker, counter and cabinet space (but not equipped with flatware, cookware, etc.). There is also a flat screen TV in the living room and one in the private bedroom; the living room has a high vaulted ceiling with a tropical ceiling fan. (The 1 bedroom Villa was large enough of a space for Ms. Halverson’s bridal party to gather and congregate and larger that our other typical rooms).

With all this being said, we respect Ms. Halverson’s point of view and her comments (as well as the other reviews posted by the others involved here). Once we saw the multiple negative reviews and their facebook postings; we gathered as much information as possible to get to the bottom of this rather acrimonious situation. She is and has good and loyal friends who traveled to assist her with her special day. We understand the passion.

We do appreciate her business and the business generated by her friends and family who traveled and stayed with us to celebrate with her. We apologize for the hard feelings. We also wish we had an opportunity to address these concerns internally between ourselves (instead of on this forum) and find a way to resolve our differences. At the end of the day, all that’s been accomplished here is that our reputation takes a hit and nothing gets done to resolve the issues; unless this is what Ms. Halverson and her friends really wanted to do, which has been effectively accomplished here. Sorry folks, we are truly committed to delivering top notch service and pleasing our guests; based on this review and the others related to it, we just have to say, the guest is always right and take our lumps.

Peace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for the last 14 years. The location is great, right on the ocean. The Tiki bar is really fun, Kelly the bartender at night is great. Always goes out of her way to make sure everyone is having a great time. I always make it a point to stop by the tiki bar even when I don't stay at they hotel just because of Kelly. I have recommended this place to all my friends to stay there when they come to Fl and they have all raved about how much fun it is especially the Tiki bar with Kelly. I would recommend it highly

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed for the first time at Beachcombers for a day before our cruise and for 2 days after. Personally I didn't want to leave to go on the cruise the hotel was so nice. The bartender Steve was wonderful - top notch. The food was to die for......they were under a bit of construction but that was fine too - not very noisy at all. Instead of going on another cruise we are going back for the week and staying at Beachcombers and I can't Wait!!

Room Tip: I love the rooms with ocean view - beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcrest, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked this thru our travel agent and paid in advance. We were meeting friends from the southern part of our state in Ca. We made these reservations 6months in advance but still when we arrived 75 minutes apart we couldn't get rooms even somewhat near each other them on the 3rd floor us on the 7th. They will run a tab to your room at the bar for a few hundred dollars, but at 10:30 at night when we needed to set up a shuttle to catch our cruise they made us come down and give them 20.00 cash to arrange it. We were tired and just wanted to sleep so we could get up early. I think they could be a little more accomadatiing. Then they were rude about it. Hotel nice. Staff not so!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for giving us a nice overall score, but sorry to see that you had you had some issues with us being able to assign a room close to the others who were also staying with us from the Golden State. Also see you were frustrated with the booking process for the shuttle.

With regards to being able to get you close to your friends, very sorry about that. Not sure if both were booked with similar room types or if the proper remarks were noted on both reservations when reserved. We really do try to accommodate special location requests, but we can only work with what we have available due to other guests who may have already arrived days prior to your arrival. Our primary commitment is to provide the proper type of room reserved and the bedding configuration, most everything else as far as floor or room assignments is done on the day of arrival based on availability. Since we have over a dozen room types with 143 rooms, Suites and Villas; sometimes we cannot always fulfill every request. Again, our apologies.

As for the deposit for the shuttle, we do not operate the shuttle and the company we work with requires us to collect cash deposits to guarantee their services. The shuttle service is independent from the Beachcomber and offered as a service to our guests. The shuttle service is less expensive that a cab, but does require advanced reservations. Do apologize if when explaining why we could not apply this charge to your bill, our inability to charge this to your room was perceived as rudeness. Do understand it might have been a bit late for you that evening and frustrating that we had to ask you to come to our front desk to make a deposit for that shuttle pick up for the next day and apologize that we could not have made that process any more convenient.

Thank you for a favorable score and the feedback in your review. We do appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again down the line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2013 as a group of 20 people. On the third night, we had some drinks at the tiki bar early in the night, went out for supper (we had ate at the hotel the previous nights) and returned around 11pm. There were about 7 people in and around the tiki bar. My husband ordered a pin a colada. The bartender, a blonde named Kelly, replied with "Are you f!*%¥#@ kidding me?" She proceeded to tell him that she is allowed to shut down the tiki bar anytime after 10pm, and she wouldn't be making any more frozen drinks that night. When asked why, she said that she had already cleaned the blenders. Two others in the party tried to order frozen drinks, and we were given the exact same response, basically telling us that we were lucky she was even still open. When I asked her why she would close a bar with 25 paying customers in it, and why she had swore at a customer, she became angry with me and called security. (Without reason, I simply asked her a question and had not had a drink all night, so I was not intoxicated).

About 10 minutes later, my sister was talking to her while ordering a drink and Kelly (the bartender) told her that she would not put up with drunk people, that I was a "huge b!$@&" and she could not believe that I did not let her keep the change from my drink order as a tip. I have never in my life been called a derogatory name by a service industry employee or had someone complain to a customer about their tip. (Especially when we had tipped her over $100 as a group when we were there earlier that night.)

There were some other instances of poor service at this resort, but this one took the cake. Speaking with management did not help, as management did not seem very receptive to criticism of their hotel or staff. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again. We travel very often for leisure and have never had this poor of service.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Please see our response to this review under the review titled: Very rude to guests.
(Same group of people).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.