We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located directly on the Beach. Clean facility. Convenient.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Located directly on the Beach. Clean facility. Convenient.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed 4 nights--the weekend was very noisy at night, but the other nights were perfectly quite. I stayed on the 7th floor--you could here the live entertainment (poolside) Sat/Sun nights all the way up there, even with the balcony door closed, but it was over by 10pm, so no big deal. The king size bed had 6 pillows, all of which were flat and should be replaced with newer, fluffy ones. My room was listed as "partial" ocean view, but it actually had a much bigger and better view than I expected, so you can save a few bucks by choosing that over ocean front if your budget is tight. My room also overlooked the swimming pool, which looked very clean and was NEVER crowded. It was surrounded by plenty of beach chairs, some with umbrellas. There is also a poolside bar and outdoor dining available poolside or on the beach. On the weekend I got whiffs of food, not the ocean from the dining room, but the rest of my stay I didn't notice it. The hotel phone was out of service for 2 days, but I didn't view that as a big deal, since I had a cell phone, plus I left and walked past the front counter everyday if I needed anything...but, if there should have been a fire or your needed a wake up call, that could be a real issue. Those are really the only negatives. Now let me list the positives...

It's right on the beach with lovely landscaping and plenty of free chairs and a couple of hammocks for your use on the beach (lounge chairs on the beach may be extra). My room and the rest of the grounds was very clean. The room I stayed in had a kitchenette--a small microwave, a mini-fridge, a coffee maker & a small sink with a full counter and cabinets to store your goodies if you are staying there for any length of time. The room also had a small safe to store your valuables.

The room was very spacious and had a small hallway (within your room) to the bathroom that had an additional table and large mirror, which was convenient for dressing and styling hair when the bathroom was in use by someone else. Oh yeah, the bathroom actually had a phone on the side of the vanity.

The balcony wasn't your typical generic square balcony with cheap iron railing or a solid concrete wall that blocks your view--this one was deluxe! First of all it was a semi-circle, with white, colonial balusters, two nice quality, adjustable lounge chairs with thick cushions (not those cheap white plastic chairs you find poolside at budget motor lodges), and even another chair and foot stool tucked away in the corner--all perfect for watching sunrises and sunsets (even lightning over the ocean at night is fascinating).

I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel restaurant. I only had breakfast there due to my schedule, but if I go again, I will definitely try dinner the next time. One day I had the "crispy" French toast, which was very good, and looked so appetizing on the plate with the garnishment they added. Prices were very reasonable compared to what major hotel chains charge for meals in their on-site restaurants.

The location was convenient to highways, the airport, and major malls. When I first pulled up in the parking lot, I thought oh no, what have I done--this place looks tacky! A painting on the front of the building looks very amateur and hokey and dated, and because of that I'm sure a lot of people would pass this place right by and not book a room--I would have done the same thing if I had seen it online first. But, once you're inside it's all good! I would gladly stay here again and prefer it over staying at a well known hotel chain that isn't on the beach. This place has all of the same amenities and is clean. To be clear, this is not a luxury hotel, but it's on an even playing field with Hampton Inns and hotels of that range.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    277
    115
    58
    47
See reviews for
209
322
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklinville, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Highly recommend staying in ocean front room with balcony. I believe ours was on the 11th floor. Nicely decorated and very relaxing. Balcony was spacious with several lounge chairs. Food at the restaurant was excellent, would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Built in 1957 this hotel exudes the charm and detail to service that I have not seen in years. The staff was outstanding ,from the front desk to the maintenance employees . They all greeted you with a smile and were happy to fulfill your request. Our car did not leave the parking lot for 7days. Food was outstanding ,breakfast,lunch,dinner . Tiki bar served a great drink by a great bartender! Beautiful beach with plenty of wildlife if you know where to look. Everything from crab,flounder,baby turtles,tarpon and an osprey catching his dinner. Across the street is a good pizza joint, 24hr convenience store and a beach variety store. The room was clean and the decor was perfect for the time period of the hotel. Our first 4 nights we stayed in a ocean front room. We loved the hotel so much we decided to say two more nights. We had to move to an ocean view room but because of the staff it was painless. If you want a vacation to just relax this is the place. Enjoy!

Room Tip: When requesting a room due to the lush landscaping request a room fifth floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Beachcomber Resort and Villas is old but kept in very good condition. The staff is very helpful and gracious. It has a very nice restaurant on the premises and the food is very good. The pool areas are very well maintained and beautifully landscaped. Their is a clean beach and chairs and umbrellas can be rented at a small fee. I recommend this as a great place for a vacation at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the ocean, but the oceanfront rooms are really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

It is a really cool place. It is right on the beach with a lot of things to do locally. Even the pizza place accross the street was great.They have things to do on the beach, laundry facilities, a really nice pool with the restaurant right there and the staff was very friendly. The view from the room is awesome too.


Good food. Good location. Service was great!

Room Tip: pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I met a couple of friends at the Beachcomber for a few days in early August, 2013. We had an ocean front patio. The patio is huge and the room is really big too with a kitchenette and fridge. The resort has everything you could want on site, wi-fi, beach, restaurants, beach dining, pool drinks and bar. We pretty much put on our bathing suits in the morning and took them off around 11 pm. We had dinner on the beach every night and drinks in the pool. It's well-kept and the staff is very nice. Drinks were kind of expensive, but we didn't really care, because we didn't want to move. Wifi was slow if you wanted to download movies.

Room Tip: The best rooms are at the end of the long hall and are directly ocean front. Stay on level 3 or hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're looking for a friendly "old Florida style"place to stay that's on the beach, with the friendliest staff, with all the amenities so you never have to leave the premises, then this is your place. We consider it our home away from home whenever we get to travel to Florida.

Room Tip: We've stayed in the towers as well as the villas and either are good choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.