We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights last Tuesday and Wednesday in an OceanFront room. Beautiful room and view! Best hotel we stayed in on our 2 week trip down to the Florida Keys. Most impressed with this Resort. Dining was good, too. Tables by the pool and on the beach. The staff was helpful and friendly. The beach was relaxing and the water was warm and inviting.
Would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room facing the ocean and it was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    330
    138
    62
    51
See reviews for
266
407
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Smallest room ever, the air freshener was very strong throughout the hotel common areas and rooms. The remote did not work, could not control the A/C as it was wedged behind the furniture, NO Phones working in the hotel, We were refused a refrigerator and we had to put our insulin on ice!!!! We were refused a microwave. The counter was made of varnished plywood just cheep and junky, Not as advertised by hotels.com and the hotel refused to help us as we did not book directly through them but used hotels.com. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful and just plain flat out did not care. No sound buffers as you can hear everyone in the hallway all day and night.

Room Tip: do not get a ground floor room by the pool people can and will look right into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We're certainly sorry that Candice P felt this way about her recent stay with us; it really is not consistent with the way we operate here. We work very closely with and have a strong relationship with Expedia and Hotels.com and do not distinguish between those guests who choose to make their hotel reservations via these distribution channels. In fact we are very careful to disclose all pertinent information about our rooms' features and amenities within the hotel descriptions that these web sites present on our behalf. Candice P reserved one of our value priced European rooms with 1 Queen bed on the day of the night of her one stay with us. Our description on Hotels.com does not indicate that the European room includes either a refrigerator or a microwave (as it does with the other rooms that include these features). Beg to differ here on us refusing Candice P a refrigerator or a microwave. We most certainly do offer both a microwave and/or a refrigerator for an additional fee if someone requests them. All we can say is sorry if we offered this option and she did not chose to take us up on it.

As for the comments about the aroma of air freshener; we recently installed new state of the art aroma diffusers throughout the public areas and guest room corridors to enhance our guests' sensory experience. These diffusers are used in many upscale and branded hotels throughout the country. We change the fragrance monthly. Suppose that it might have been overwhelming in this case. Everyone does have different sensory sensitivities. We can control the concentration, so I guess we'll work on dialing it back.

The evening that Candice P stayed with us; our phone system did go down and all phones in the hotel were not in service. The power supply failed on our switchboard equipment and we could not get a replacement part until the following day. We did have the phones up and running the next day by about 11 AM but that was after Candice P had already checked out.

We apparently missed the mark with Candice P as far as her stay with us is concerned and are sorry about that. We will take her remarks constructively and improve where we fell short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was an incredible hotel for a 3 day getaway. The tiled walkways and lush tropical plantings made it feel very Caribbean-like. The staff was extremely friendly, and the dining in the pool/bar area was wonderfully relaxing. They have tables set out for dining on the sand, under the palms, as well. The room appointments, with the dark wood, rattan-like surfaces, and palm tree art was perfect. The beds were comfortable and sipping coffee on the padded chaises on our balcony watching the ocean was the best!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have an ocean view. The higher the room, the better the view. We were on 4th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Beachcomber turned out to be a great resort for our April getaway. Great beach, very nice pool/bar area and a helpful staff. Our oceanview, poolside room was clean and had a very nice balcony. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Poolside, oceanview rooms are best, particularly on the upper floors.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just came back from Beachcomber Resort, where we spent 4 days. We expected it to be like any beach hotel, but it was much more. It was really a mini-resort. They do say it in the name, but so do many places that you can't call a resort. The amenities are awesome. There are two pools, decks with chairs and umbrellas, the beach is right there, and the restaurant was very decent. We ended up eating there most of the time. We loved our time and will be going back for another mini-getaway in the future.

The reason I gave this place 4 stars is that there is basically almost no sound barriers in the rooms. We were in the main building on 4th floor facing the courtyard. We could hear everything that was going on in the courtyard with doors and windows closed. It is not a problem, unless there is a party of drunk guests at the bar, who are having an awesome time at midnight, then it is kind of hard to sleep. The other sound problem was in the room, hearing all the noises from the hallway. If the resort did some upgrades to increase the sound barriers, then this would be a perfect place for an unforgettable escape.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is in a good location. I found the staff to be very helpful. I first checked in and did not like the room location. Manager was able to find us a better room. I did have a little problem with bed linens, that the staff and housekeeping quickly took care of. I found all the staff to be extremely helpful. The pool staff nice. Ate breakfast on the beach and highly recommend it.
The main pool wasn't as heated as I would of liked. Did not like the 2nd pool. Very hard to get in and out of, not used as often and not as clean.
Front desk was very helpful in picking out some places to go and eat, and telling us what was in the area. Expensive to rent chairs and umbrellas. I think the pads for chairs should be included and maybe on the beach a voucher for may be 1 or 2 days.
Otherwise I would reccommend trying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Me and my girlfriend have been staying at the Beachcomber for the past 4 years. Our first weekend away together as a couple was there, so it seemed like an obvious place where I should set up our engagement. I contacted the hotel in advance and spoke to Harris. I explained to him the whole situation and he was more than helpful. With his help and Mike's help I was able to accomplish everything I had hoped for for our engagement. Upon arrival with my fiancé the front desk person, who knew the whole time what was going on, was extremely professional. He made no reference to me having been there earlier in the day. Our stay was magical. We stayed in one of the two Presidential Ocean Front rooms. The wrap around Balconies give you an amazing view especially upon waking in the morning. When dinner time came around we had to jump on the oppurtunity to dine on the sand from the Ocean Grill, the Beachcombers onsite restaurant. The plantain and alouette encrusted Mahi Mahi was AMAZING!!!! I cannot thank Harris, Mike and the rest of the Beachcomber staff that helped make it all possible! Thanks again guys. And if you are considering renting at the Beachcomber, and are looking for a nice relaxing weekend this is the place to rent. You will not be disappointed. Look forward to going back soon!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
First and foremost, congratulations on your engagement robert8185. Thanks for your loyal patronage and choosing us to pop the question. Thanks also for recognizing Mike and Harris for their helpfulness. We always make a big deal when members of our team get mentioned on Trip Advisor and we had some fun with that.

You made the right call in reserving one of our spacious and spectacular Presidential Ocean Front Suites for your very special proposal evening. Just so others know, since we only have 2 suites like this, you can only reserve one by calling us directly; these are virtually our best rooms with the ultimate view and are quite popular.

So glad you really enjoyed one of our new signature dishes and your overall experience with us here at the Beachcomber. We just recently rolled out all new menus with some very unique and creative appetizers and entrees with a local flair. Chef Janice has got her juices flowing.

Question: Now what are your plans for the wedding? Hope you keep a good thing going and consider planning the wedding and honeymoon with us. What better way to tie the knot than a memorable beach wedding and reception at the Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Give us a call so we can save the date.

Thanks for being our guest, the very kind review, and making us a part of your important memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompano Beach
1.8 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
5.7 mi away
Royal Flamingo Villas
Royal Flamingo Villas
#2 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Pompano Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 36 in Pompano Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
4.8 mi away
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A Noble House Resort
Pelican Grand Beach Resort, A No...
#13 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.