We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, would come again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, would come again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Let me start by saying, that we had a great time at the Beachcomber. That said, the property is old and needs major renovation. We initially were checked into a room with a very bad smell when we walked in, and a dirty bathtub. I was even thinking of looking for a different hotel. At the reception desk, we were given a smaller but cleaner room, with an awesome view. The room however did not have a fan in the bathroom and so the room was muggy due to poor ventilation. There was also some mildew on the shower curtain. Microwave and fridge were clean. Baby crib very clean.
Here are the huge pluses:
AWESOME LOCATION. Right on the beach. There is a 24 hour supermarket across the street.
Beautiful pool area. We only used the heated pool, and it was lots of fun.
Restaurant on site, which was great when you are traveling wit kids.
Free Internet and parking.
Friendly staff. Everyone had a smile on their face, from housekeeping to front desk.
All the above made my vacation with a 17 month old easy.
Thank you Beachcomber.

Room Tip: You have to get a room with a good ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We appreciate your business and the positive review (along with your feedback). Glad you enjoyed your stay and would choose to stay with us again in the future. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    319
    134
    59
    51
See reviews for
255
384
34
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I really wish they would update the rooms and hallways. We got a free upgrade to a junior suite but the pullout couch was so ragged and dirty I didn't want to sit on it. The covers and sheets on the pullout had holes in it and the plasticky couch had visible damage. The long seat by the foot of the bed was also broken.

Food in the dining room was good and the service was great. The pool and the beach was very close and convenient which is a big big plus. The staff in general seemed very accommodating.

Internet was down for 3 days when we were there which was very annoying. I hope it was just a fluke incident.

Because the its location and affordable price, I would stay here again but I would definitely bring a throw for the couch and scented candles because the hallways did smell like they were trying to cover something up.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberGM11, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you izzybelle666 for the feedback. We did send izzybelle666 an email via Trip Advisor (because we could not figure out what room they were specifically referring to in the review) so we could address the deficiencies they found with their room. Upon further review, they did report the broken leg on the upholstered bench/set when they were checking out and that has been repaired after we were informed about it and also addressed the other issues noted.

We did have some technical difficulties with our free Wi –Fi during the timeframe of issybelle666’s stay but that too has since been fixed and back to being stable again.

Glad to see that you did seem to enjoy your overall stay and would return which we certainly hope you will do.

We do appreciate your business and your comments which we do take seriously; without them we would not have an opportunity to improve where needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed there over March2/3. In the morning Cockroach on kitchen sink.. Managed to kill it/ another scurried away. Described as slightly over half inch/amber color. Have seen them before.
Took the dead bug to the front desk/ Apologies and asked to speak with Manager... Was advised that Manager/Owner would call me ASAP. As no reply was received later I left.... Now Late Tuesday evening and still no contact.
Should Google Cockroach. Not pleasant...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberJack, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We first want to thank Trip Advisor for providing us the opportunity to offer a response and our side of the story. Yes, apparently this guest did capture and kill a Palmetto bug; we know this for a fact because he brought it to the front desk and was rather enraged and more or less reached over the desk and put it within inches on our front desk agent’s face (as told to us by our employee). Our front desk agent did apologize and did say that she would pass it on to the Front Desk Manager (who was not on duty yet but would be in later on that Sunday morning). Not only did she apologize but explained that we would send one of our staff to spray for bugs (but please note that the guest was scheduled to depart that day). Sunday morning are quite busy and is typically our heaviest departure day. After the busy morning of heavy check outs our Front Desk Agent did inform the Front Office Manager about this guest’s issue. Please bear in mind that this guest had already departed so the Front Office Manager did attempt follow up in the early afternoon by calling the phone number that was dictated to us by the guest and entered by the Front Desk Agent who checked him into our computer system at the time of check in from the night before (as a walk in); he called the number we had on record but there was no answer or an opportunity to leave a voice message. Upon further review, the Front Desk Agent that checked the guest out forgot to point out that she jotted down a different contact phone number for this guest on the registration card which was different from the number we had in our computer system. We did not realize this until after this review was posted on Trip Advisor and we looked into this further. We tried to call the guest at the other number we had but they did not answer so we left a voice mail and sent an email in attempt to follow up (because their voicemail included an email contact info as well). We regret that we did not contact this guest on a more timely basis and understand why they might have been frustrated and may have prompted this negative review, but we have made our best efforts to follow up at this point.

We use a professional pest control company that is at the property once a week and we treat our rooms on a schedule so every room does get a professional pest control treatment at least once a month. Although not an excuse, Palmetto bugs are native to our area and we have numerous palm trees all over our property and these pests nest in palm trees. We also had a cold snap that weekend and sometimes the cold weather drives these bugs inside. The Beachcomber takes great pride in our quality housekeeping and cleanliness. We do apologize to this guest and hope that others reading this review and our response will view this particular incident as more of an exception rather than the rule. We also pride ourselves on taking good care of our guests and responding to any issues they might experience during their stay as evidenced by the many other positive reviews posted on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Beachcomber annually since 2009. I've visited the Beachcomber for both business and pleasure and have always had an awesome experience. The staff is friendly and I've grown used to seeing the same happy faces each year.

If you are looking for a laid-back environment without all the "corporate" feels that a chain-hotel has, stay at the Beachcomber. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Several options for ocean front and ocean views. There are rooms right off the pool for families wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here prior to departing for a cruise our of Port Everglades. We will be back to stay here as a destination! Great room; great pool; great beach; great staff! You definitely want a beach view room, because sunrise is speculator. There was live music poolside while we had a cocktail and then dinner. (its a hotel restaurant - not bad, but nothing off the charts.) Everything was so clean and the staff arranged a great shuttle to the cruise line. What a great find! Don't tell anybody - lets keep this our little secret!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room - you'll be glad you did! But not too low since its also the pool side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I felt like i was in a tropical paradise! The ocean view and sunrise we spectacular! The grounds surrounding thee resort were meticulous! And the friendliness of the workers,pleasant and always greeting us w hello and a smile .i would especially like to comment on the lovely girl that worked at the frt desk Latoria Johnson, she was friendly, helpful, knowledgable and above all professional . Our questions and concerns were handled promptly, this place is a gem as well as Latoria Johnson is! We will be back to visit them both.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPompano, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you AandMike for the nice review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Especially appreciate you making a special mention about Latoria's hospitable attitude. Latoria is one of our seasoned veterans and has been with us for almost a decade (If you saw her and knew that; you would think she started with us when she was 12 years old). We will make sure we recognize Latoria for being mentioned in your Trip Advisor review. Thanks for taking the time to post this review and for being our guest. We hope you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Recently spent seven days at the Beachcomber. Have stayed at this property multiple times the past ten years or so and have seen a number of different management groups in charge. I did encounter some service problems in the past but based on my recent stay the current management seems to be doing just fine. I always book the ocean front king rooms primarily for the large balconys with terrific views of the beach and ocean. The ocean front rooms do cost a bit more, but I still think they are reasonably priced compared to other ocean front rooms at similar properties in this area. For example, I often stay at the newer Wyndam hotel in Deerfield Beach which is a very nice newly remodeled property, but their ocean front kings go for around $300 a night compared to the Beachcombers $185 a night. My room on the 8th floor was just fine but a little worn in places and the TV is not high-definition with limited channels. However, the housekeeping was good with my room always serviced by at least 1:00 pm. Had room service one evening and the food was good and reasonably priced. Parking is free which is not usually the case at some of the other local properties. Overall, I would say that the price-point on this property more than makes up for the somewhat older and worn rooms and don't forget those terrific views from the ocean front rooms!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPompano, General Manager at Beachcomber Resort and Villas, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for the nice review Trekman, appreciate the compare and contrast in your narrative. Glad to see that you think we're doing a good job here. Also appreciate you pointing out that unlike other resorts located directly on the beach we do NOT charge for parking (nor do we charge a resort fee or for Wi-Fi).

Hope that when your travels bring you back to the area you will stay with us again as we do believe we do offer a the right price value for what the Beachcomber is all about in comparison to other properties with similar features, amenities, and location. Of course we also take great pride in our level of customer service.

Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.