We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
manzanman
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Location Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I was a little skeptical about this hotel, because of some of the negative reviews but they were all dispelled from the moment I arrived. I stayed from August 30th- September 5th.

The hotel staff is wonderful, everyone was pleasant and always seemed happy to answer a question or assist in any other way. The hotel has some age but is well maintained .

I was on the eight floor my room had two double beds and a fantastic view, the room was clean, the bathroom was clean, and my family and I were happy with it .I stripped the beds down to the bare mattress and there were no stains and the linens were lilly white. There was some dust behind the bed and in hard to reach corners but no major issues.

The beach was clean, calm ,and very good for the little ones .The hotel restaurant serves good food at a reasonable price. Their breakfast was good , and their poolside bar is very good as well.

The free parking is another thing this hotel has going for it ,but you do have to rent the beach chairs( $5 ) or a beach cabana for ($25).

Room Tip: The standard rooms have no view, it's worth it to upgrade and get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    290
    121
    55
    48
See reviews for
238
353
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just got back from 5 days at Pompano. We had an oceanfront room with 2 double beds. When I booked the room I requested a pack n play for my toddler and it was already set up in the room when I arrived. The rooms seemed somewhat upgraded, if you count adding random granite counters as an upgrade. It had a small kitchenette with a microwave, medium sized fridge, and sink which is all I needed. The balcony had a couple nice lounge chairs and a lovely view. This was great so we could sit outside there once our children went to bed.
The staff was friendly. When my husband was busy working they helped get my family set up at the beach - including helping carry my 3 year old across the "hot" sand.
The food at the pool was really quite good. I wished I had eaten there before our final night. They have guitar music at the pool in the evenings which my daughters loved to dance to.
This isn't a fancy place, but it has everything we needed for a lovely family vacation.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront, but be sure to take a trip up to the 8th floor for a view of the city at suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simsbury, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Beachcomber Resort & Villas will be Our Destination Spot when in South Florida. Our room was huge, clean and the view of the Atlantic Ocean ...simply breathtaking. The hotel restaurant and bar ...the best. Then there was the musician ...again ...the best entertainment we have enjoyed in quite some time. Add to that free parking and attentive staff ...we will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in Room 604. The other rooms on this floor that I would ask for are: 605, 606.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just got back after spending labor day weekend at this hotel.

Me and my family rented two villas near the beach a 1bedroom 1 bath and a 2 bedroom 2 bath. First off, the amount of space you have in the villas is unparellel, you have a spacious bedroom and bathroom, a kitchen area with no stove, a dining table and a couch and flat screen in the living room. That being said thats where the positives kind of end.

The rooms are old, the buildings are old, the whole place could use a renovation, the bathrooms seem ancient, and the furniture is out dated. A fresh coat of paint a new bathroom and some updated furniture would go a long way in this place.

Other than that, the staff was kind, the price was decent, and you have a great beach lots of space, sort of a home away from home albeit a much older home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were originally in a European room and decided that we would like an Ocean View with Balcony and asked to upgrade. We were told that the only upgrade they had available was a two room suite with a balcony that overlooked the ocean. That was fine we were ok with paying the higher price as we wanted a better room. Well that was not the case. We moved into the room and the air was set at 80 so it was HOT, we turned the air down and it never got any cooler so we asked to move we moved into another suite in this suite it smelled horribly of Mildew, we slept there and in the morning we noticed a leak in the kitchen we called maintenance and they didn't know where it was coming from so had housekeeping clean it up we came back after going to Church and the puddle was larger and the smell was starting to give us both a headache, mgmt. decided that we should move again. We moved across the hall into yet another suite, this one seemed alright until we took showers in the morning and there was very little water pressure and the housekeeping decided to walk in on us at 9am check-out is 11. She knocked I answered and she proceeded to enter anyway. When we went to check out they charging full price for the weekend including all of the interruptions made to our visit. We were hoping for a stress free weekend that turned into the complete opposite. After talking with Mgmt. we were able to get 50.00 off. When a person upgrades and spends $200 a night you expect quality so not what we got.
Very disappointed

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Most offers show a really great price for a European room. Don't do it, go ahead for atleast Oceanview for size and view. European room must be like continental breakfast. EXTREMELY small and basic. If you wait until you get there, they kind of take advantage for expensive upgrade.

That said, EXCELLENT staff from front desk, to maids to maintenace to bar/restaurant and poolside staff. Resort right on beach. My first room's A/C did not work and they reloted me to another without problem. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, kitchenette. No site of any bugs. Great view from Balcony Looks like full Ocean front room msut have great view of ocean.

Anthony Melchiorri(sp?) from Hotel Impossible has ruined me for expectations. Only real issues i saw was in a few public areas, painting really needed attention. I may never have noticed if not for Melchiorri. Did not ruin the ambiance but it did take alittle shine off of the apple. Cool hallway mouldings look like they took slabs of old coral and made wall mouldings. Nice pools with plenty of chaise loungers.

Nonetheless, very good South Florida Hotel. 5 or so miles from Ft. Lauderdale airport and maybe 30 from Miami and 10-15 from Delray Beach. So nightlife is near. Daytime fun is nearby too.

I went for business, second time here. Looks like it would be great for romantic stay or family stay too.

Especially if you consider the many 1940's and 50's style Motels all around, this and the Wyndham Time share buildings nearby seem like the only "H"otels worth staying at on Ocean in Pomano and Lauderdale by The Sea.

Room Tip: Look at the amenities anditness Center which i think is next door at the Whyndam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our ten day stay at the Beachcomber in early August started well enough, check in was effortless. Next morning we started with breakfast, so so, appeared the kept warm variety, coffee weak (better @ the Beach Mart) / lunch was a letdown, potato skins , two spuds halved, very dry with a miniscule smear of yellow (cheese), with some rare speckles of brown (bacon)…. No green onions / scallions at all. BLAND. One more try, super, our first course The Beachcomber Authentic Greek Salad, ingredients listed, none of which mentioned lettuce, of course not, everyone knows Greek Salad does not contain lettuce…………. Well it did and lots of it….. We never ate at the hotel again, preferring breakfast across the street at Stingers, all cooked fresh and cheaper. (try their prime rib….. great!)…

The room was OK, great view, TV the tube variety, bed comfy, pillows to hard, the bottom sheet always came off, A/C quite noisy, WiFi patchy, sometimes working, sometimes not, I was almost glad when my laptop got wiped out by a virus and did not have to mess around with it again… Balcony nice, no privacy.

Pools great, the beach excellent, seaweed came and went, that’s the nature of the ocean, did not bother me at all, loved the calm days when the fish nibbled and bumped at one’s feet.

The staff, second to none, the greatest, nicest and polite people you could get, Margret at the front desk was a great help to us especially.

As said the hotel has been described as somewhat off the beaten track, a cab to FL runs between $20 / $25, however the bus that arrived pretty much on the hour and half hour right outside worked for us, @ $1.75. We enjoyed walking about and liked to visit the fishing pier a little north.

Is a nice place for families, the kids we saw where always having a blast.

Lots of people enjoyed the Tiki bar, the entertainment on Thursday and Sunday was good, however both times we saw him, he got rained out.

We never had the slightest problem with dishonesty at the Beachcomber and it was very safe there.

All in all we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: From airport by cab arriving $50 via interstate...... leaving along beachfront 1A1 $35....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.