We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanview, not European - great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Resort and Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oceanview, not European - great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Most offers show a really great price for a European room. Don't do it, go ahead for atleast Oceanview for size and view. European room must be like continental breakfast. EXTREMELY small and basic. If you wait until you get there, they kind of take advantage for expensive upgrade.

That said, EXCELLENT staff from front desk, to maids to maintenace to bar/restaurant and poolside staff. Resort right on beach. My first room's A/C did not work and they reloted me to another without problem. Comfortable beds, clean rooms, kitchenette. No site of any bugs. Great view from Balcony Looks like full Ocean front room msut have great view of ocean.

Anthony Melchiorri(sp?) from Hotel Impossible has ruined me for expectations. Only real issues i saw was in a few public areas, painting really needed attention. I may never have noticed if not for Melchiorri. Did not ruin the ambiance but it did take alittle shine off of the apple. Cool hallway mouldings look like they took slabs of old coral and made wall mouldings. Nice pools with plenty of chaise loungers.

Nonetheless, very good South Florida Hotel. 5 or so miles from Ft. Lauderdale airport and maybe 30 from Miami and 10-15 from Delray Beach. So nightlife is near. Daytime fun is nearby too.

I went for business, second time here. Looks like it would be great for romantic stay or family stay too.

Especially if you consider the many 1940's and 50's style Motels all around, this and the Wyndham Time share buildings nearby seem like the only "H"otels worth staying at on Ocean in Pomano and Lauderdale by The Sea.

Room Tip: Look at the amenities anditness Center which i think is next door at the Whyndam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    267
    112
    55
    47
See reviews for
210
325
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our ten day stay at the Beachcomber in early August started well enough, check in was effortless. Next morning we started with breakfast, so so, appeared the kept warm variety, coffee weak (better @ the Beach Mart) / lunch was a letdown, potato skins , two spuds halved, very dry with a miniscule smear of yellow (cheese), with some rare speckles of brown (bacon)…. No green onions / scallions at all. BLAND. One more try, super, our first course The Beachcomber Authentic Greek Salad, ingredients listed, none of which mentioned lettuce, of course not, everyone knows Greek Salad does not contain lettuce…………. Well it did and lots of it….. We never ate at the hotel again, preferring breakfast across the street at Stingers, all cooked fresh and cheaper. (try their prime rib….. great!)…

The room was OK, great view, TV the tube variety, bed comfy, pillows to hard, the bottom sheet always came off, A/C quite noisy, WiFi patchy, sometimes working, sometimes not, I was almost glad when my laptop got wiped out by a virus and did not have to mess around with it again… Balcony nice, no privacy.

Pools great, the beach excellent, seaweed came and went, that’s the nature of the ocean, did not bother me at all, loved the calm days when the fish nibbled and bumped at one’s feet.

The staff, second to none, the greatest, nicest and polite people you could get, Margret at the front desk was a great help to us especially.

As said the hotel has been described as somewhat off the beaten track, a cab to FL runs between $20 / $25, however the bus that arrived pretty much on the hour and half hour right outside worked for us, @ $1.75. We enjoyed walking about and liked to visit the fishing pier a little north.

Is a nice place for families, the kids we saw where always having a blast.

Lots of people enjoyed the Tiki bar, the entertainment on Thursday and Sunday was good, however both times we saw him, he got rained out.

We never had the slightest problem with dishonesty at the Beachcomber and it was very safe there.

All in all we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: From airport by cab arriving $50 via interstate...... leaving along beachfront 1A1 $35....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a nice resort in a quiet part of the beach. We stayed for 5 days at the end of a busy vacation so were looking to relax which is what we did. The pools are great and it is nice to be able to sit on the pool desk but overlooking the beach, so many resorts do not have their pools near the beach. The food by the pool is very good, the food off the menu inside is okay, but not has good as outside. We had an ocean front room on an upper floor which is what I would recommend.

Room Tip: Oceanfront room on floor 5 or higher as there is a palm tree in front and if you are lower than 5 yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed at the Beachcomber during Lobster Mini Season July 25 to July 28 2012. The hotel and rooms were freshly decorated, clean, and modern. The staff was exceptional. The grounds were perfectly maintained and the pools sparkling clean. I can't say enough about how great my stay was. They are right on the ocean, just a few steps on the beach and your in the Atlantic. The location is great, central to a lot of destinations where we never left A1A. We went to the Beach in Boca Raton at Red Reef Park and snorkeled their reef that is right on the shore, perfect for kids. Lauderdale-by-the-Sea is a short 5 minute drive south of the hotel where you can fish the pier, go to the beach and dine at one of many indoor/outdoor restaurants. Hillsboro Inlet just to the north of the hotel offers fishing, diving, and snorkel charters for as little as $30 - we did a snorkel charter with Force-E and it was excellent. I will definately go back to this hotel, it is one of the best I stayed at for $100 a night in a long time! Absolutely not one complaint.

There were many comments on how the place need sprucing up. During my stay they were painting the whole outside of the buildings. The place was in tip-top condition.

I traveled alone and felt very safe at this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher your floor and further west (ocean), the better your view but you will pay for it. Almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of August for a short getaway. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. Margaret in reservations and Julene at the front desk were very welcoming. Matt, a poolside waiter, and Ronnie at the front desk gave us great suggestions for dinner. The breakfast ladies were bright and cheery both mornings; breakfast was delicious, but inconsistent. For example, the first morning, the breakfast potatoes were served with just a few well done onions; the second morning, they were loaded with onions and green peppers (which I can’t eat).
Room 504 was very accommodating with a great view of the pool and ocean thanks in part to the 'open' balcony design. (Lose a bit of privacy, but the design gives nearly every room a view.) This building has the charm of an older building that has been reasonably maintained. The only critiques we had were the slow drain in the tub combined with no treads or bath mat that made it very slippery, and the hinge of the cabinet door under the sink in the kitchenette needs repairing.
We had an entire day of thunderstorms & heavy rain, so we decided to watch the USA/Canada Women’s Olympic soccer match in our room. The channel wasn't available on our TV service, so we streamed the match live on our laptop via the resort wi fi. We were frustrated that the wi fi kept seizing up; we had to resubmit the password several times during the match to get the signal back.
The pool and beach areas were well maintained; landscaping made great use of even the small spaces and added to the lush, tropical feel. It was cool to see the stakes and ribbons marking off the turtle nests up and down the beach.
Overall, this was a great get-away for us. The staff makes this resort what it is. We would consider returning and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family and I arrived for a long weekend getaway. Our first impression was that it was quaint, but needed a little TLC. While checking in, Ed was extermelty friendly and accommodating. Just as promised, our room had a beautiful ocean view. We were on the 4th floor. The hallway had a foul musty odor, but our room was stinky poo poo!! Where do I begin.......The balconoy had two lounge chairs, but zero privacy as there are no walls . Even though the room was newly renovated, the bathroom, walls and carpeting were a disaster. The bathroom smelled of old urine, the tub didn't drain, the light kept flickering (which gave me a headache) and the vanity was falling apart. The ugly exposed PVC pipe was an eye sore as well. There were no bugs or hair, so I was grateful for that. The carpet was torn and smelled of mildew. We kept our shoes on when we were in the room. The dust was the worst. Layers of dust on certain spots. Especially on the top of the Armoire....What a joke! Just plain gross.

Another family member checked in and got a pool view. The stench was so bad in her room, we called to see if she could switch rooms. The Front Desk sent someone from maintenance. He came a few minutes later and sprayed some perfumed disinfectant on the carpet which was obviously just a temporary mask. It's quite obvious this hotel has had issues with moisture control over the years. I asked to send someone up to smell the room and see of they would like paying over 125.00 a night to stay there. No reply. Like our room, the carpet was disgusting. They have a 10 month old baby that crawled around the floor. I got very upset watching him crawling around the musty, dirty and stinky carpet. We were told at the front desk, that the smell was a combination of the a/c being off, the beach and the heat. Bull Crap! They have been neglecting spending money to fix these moisture issues the right way with technical improvements. When we asked and then demanded to move to another room, we were told that they were all booked and there was not a single room available even though the sign outside flashed "vacancy" all weekend. Again, i call "Bull Crap". Sorry about your "bad luck" attitude was the message. In the end my family decided to stay, but were extremely disappointed with the room.

In spite of what I just wrote, we had a great time! We met super nice people, went snorkeling, hung out on the hammocks and the pool temperature was perfect and crystal clear. Pool service was friendly and accomadting. The only draw back was that smoking is permitted by the pool area. Too many smokers and no place to get away from the smell. Also, no swimming after dusk? What gives?

Also, our room cleaning attendants were very slow and unfriendly. A smile and an acknowledgement when you say "hello" can go a long way.

Because I decided not to complain and not to make my family miserable. We had a lovely, relaxing time. We met some wonderful friendly people. But unfortunately, because of the lack of cleanliness, bad attitude and zero empathy with my niece's room, we won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I loved this place. It reminded me of the resorts in Mexico. Only much more quiet and reserved. This hotel has a layout exactly like that. The lobby area is much smaller than you would think. There are wonderful balcony rooms that look right out into the ocean. Those balcony rooms have great lounge chairs to relax on. I had a kitchenette room. The pools were wonderful. The sand and water were wonderful. The bed was comfortable. The pillows were perfect. The grounds were maintained with excellence. The check-in staff was excellent. My whole experience there was outstanding. The restuarant food was very good. I will caution you, there are not very many close restaurants to this hotel. You have to get into your car and drive to the Lauderdale-By-The Sea area or the South Beach area of Ft. Lauderdale to get a good choice of restaurants. The parking is pretty limited as well. Not the best choice in the Ft Lauderdale area if you are not going to have a car. Stay on South Beach if you are walking.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean front room as an upgrade. If they are not real busy, they will give it to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort and Villas

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pompano Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachcomber Resort and Villas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Beachcomber Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Resort And Villas Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Hotel Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Pompano Beach
Beachcomber Resort Villas
Pompano Beach Beachcomber

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Resort and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.