We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Costa Beach Club Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Costa Beach Club Resort to your Saves list
La Costa Beach Club Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1504 North Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Florence, Kentucky
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We are not owners, but were renters. We were at the La Costa for 2 weeks and this was the closest to the ocean we have ever been. We had an ocean front and it was wonderful sitting on the balcony overlooking the ocean. The beach was so close, I actually could have tossed a ball onto the sand. It was not very crowded so we almost had the whole place to ourselves during our stay. The grounds are beautiful. There are 3 quite nice size pools, 2 outdoors, one of those heated and a nice size pool inside with a very lovely sitting area all around. There are several patio areas and 4 grills at 2 different locations. The activity director was very adept in keeping things moving along with the Wii games and karaoke, making it a lot of fun for us.
We had a one bedroom condo which was dated but was large and had all the amenities we could have wanted. A dishwasher and 2 large TV sets was a bonus. The kitchen was fully stocked and they give you enough soaps and tissue to get you started but as with many other time shares we have been to, this is standard. You need to go out and restock. We went to the Dollar Tree just a few miles away and for around $10 got everything we needed. A Walmart is next door to the Dollar Tree and we were set for 2 weeks.
Nick, a very kind and helpful employee came up to the room to help us set the alarm clock so we could be sure and get up our last day to catch our plane. The employees at the linen exchange were a real mix, one time one would be very kind and the next time another could be very rude. Same at the front desk, some were nice others seemed as tho you were bothering them.
But overall, everyone was pretty good.
You really can't walk to any restaurants or stores, so a car is needed, but within 5 miles there are a couple of Walmarts, a wonderful Golden Corral, Ruby Tuesdays, Publix, Walgreens, CVS, a library, the Festival Flea Market, most anything you would want that is reasonable.
We definitely plan on going back and hope the next time it is updated, then it will be perfect instead of just great !!!

Room Tip: We noticed the people with small children being on the ground units with walk outs to the pool was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCosta_GM, Front Office Manager at La Costa Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We really appreciate your kind words about our resort. We are working on updating our property and hopefully when you come back you will see more changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    49
    10
    6
    9
See reviews for
29
33
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have been here a few times now and each time I am completely satisfied with the customer service. It's clean, and the view is gorgeous. Request ocean front if you can! http://www.trippinwithtara.com/pompano-beach-la-costa-beach-club/

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCosta_GM, Front Office Manager at La Costa Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are so happy you loved your stay with us!!! Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just got back from our second trip to La Costa Beach Club Resort. Last year we were in unit 724 which gives you a wonderful view of the ocean the Hillsboro Lighthouse. This year we were still oceanfront and still had a spectacular view of the ocean. The units are a bit dated but the location makes up for any minor problems in décor this resort may have. We love this resort so much we actually bought a permanent annual week. Same unit for the same week each year! We are so excited. Publix grocery store is about 5 minutes away. Shopping. The Tiki Hut Bar next door is a great place to grab a burger and get free live entertainment. Thursday nights are our favorites at the Tiki Hut. Cabanas on the beach are awesome when its really hot. Check in with Bob and he will take care of you. The best part of this beach is getting to watch kiteboarding up close and personal. People who complain about lack of room service and the place being outdated should probably find a different resort or even a hotel to stay in. This is a timeshare resort and room service just isn't provided. Go and enjoy! We've had wonderful vacations at this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCosta_GM, Front Office Manager at La Costa Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are so pleased that you loved your stay with us and even purchased a week. Can't wait to see you when you return!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a time-share exchange and couldn't fly in until mid-week. We arrived late in the evening and were checked in by security since the office was closed. Our unit was very small and dated. Our unit was right next to the heated pool( there are two pools, one heated) and our patio doors led right out to the beach. Family friends of ours were staying on the third floor of a different building. They had a much larger unit, although also for 4 people, with a king sized bed and much larger living room. So not all units are the same size, although for the same amount of people. We spent our days at the beach, both the one outside our door and further down the coast at Hollywood Beach. We didn't use our kitchen at all, it seemed to have the necessities but I would have probably rewashed any untelsils before use. We only stayed for the 3 nights out of 7. The kids liked the basic pool, the water was a nice temperature. It seemed very quiet. Not many guests around and we had the pool outside our unit all to ourselves every time .Had we stayed for all seven nights, we would've tried to switch units for a little more space.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCosta_GM, Front Office Manager at La Costa Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. We hope you will consider staying with us again, and would love for you to call us prior to your vacation so we can make sure your have a great stay the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just finishing up our one week stay at La Costa and wanted to comment on the pleasant experience we've had and the recent upgrades the resort has made. We are owners here an (d have two oceanfront units (one in the summer/July and one in December) but we haven't been here in 3 years (due to other non-Florida vacations). La Costa and the resort management have made a ton of improvements (some structural that non-owners may not care about). This resort is a hidden gem on North Ocean Blvd. La Costa has direct beach access (no crossing the street here like), 3 outdoor pools, 1 indoor pool and hot tub. The condo unit we stayed in was a 1 bedroom unit. Kitchen area was sufficient for cooking our meals and eating breakfast. The condo is in the process of updating the furniture, appliances, kitchen cabinets, etc. The oceanfront unit we stayed in was on the 4th floor and did not have the updates that I mentioned but that was not a deal breaker for us. What makes this place is the direct ocean access, the size ( I do not feel crowded) and friendly staff. As an owner, the maintenance fees are reasonable and the resort management is a great steward of our HOA dues. You get a GREAT value here for your price/resort trade. Granted, this is not the Ritz, but if you know that up front you won't be disappointed. They have upgraded the door locks with key card reader access, two flat panel TVs in our unit. Full size microwave, a small stove, full size fridge and dish washer and small kitchen appliances. Bedding is new. Bath towels are adequate and beach towels are provided. Free WiFi. We first came here over 10 years ago and stayed at the Sea Garden on an RCI trade from a Wyndham (Fairfield back then). I was not impressed with that resort, or the fact that we had to cross the street to get to the ocean. We happened upon La Costa by accident and knew when we saw this that this was a hidden gem. The Hillsboro Lighthouse is nearby. A small park is next door. More expensive rental units are our neighbors. Again, my expectations are in check and money is in my pocket when I leave.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front room but be prepared that this may not be available during certain periods...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCosta_GM, Front Office Manager at La Costa Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about our resort and recognizing the improvements that have been done and we are continuing to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days. 2 in room 224. They consider this a ocean front. Your view is obstructed from trees and dune. You could only see a small portion of ocean. Get a room higher than 3 rd floor. Our bathroom had no curtain, not even frosted window. We had to use our kick boards as curtains. The high rises next door, could definitely see you showering or changing! Living room area A/C didn't work. A/C in bedroom did, but was loud and noisy. Room was very outdated. Would not stay in 224. Last 2 days was spent in room 330, pool view. It was more updated, smaller, had a wonderful frosted window in bathroom! Central a/c. Smaller, but we liked it a lot more. The tile floor in kitchen area coming up. This is not a high end hotel. Perfect for family with little kids. Pool area nice. Laundry facility clean. The staff is helpful. The overnight security guard such a nice guy. We did see two sea turtles laying their eggs on the beach. If you are coming to Pompano Beach for blue or green ocean water, this is not the beach. If they get a lot of rain and open canals, it drains into ocean right in front of hotel. It left water brown and smelly for a few days. I would go further south.

Room Tip: Choose updated room and above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCosta_GM, Front Office Manager at La Costa Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The updated rooms at La Costa Beach Club Resort are fresh and immaculate. La Costa has THREE sparkling swimming pools, including one indoor pool, which came in handy when I visited during the August 2012 hurricane. The staff is friendly and happy to answer your questions about the area. Best of all, a beautiful (nearly private) beach is only a few steps from your door! Pompano Beach is a lovely area with many activities and sights to see. I will return to La Costa every chance I get.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. First-floor rooms are handy if you spend much time at the pools or beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCosta_GM, Front Office Manager at La Costa Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are so happy you loved your stay with us and that you will be back every chance you get...hopefully we will see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Costa Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Costa Beach Club Resort

Address: 1504 North Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Costa Beach Club Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax and rejuvenate at La Costa Beach Club Resort, where you will find a friendly and family-oriented atmosphere. Take advantage of the sand and sea or relax in one of our three pools or two hot tubs.Feel like snorkeling or scuba diving? Experience the delight of exploring the vast coral reef just a few hundred yards off our beach.La Costa Beach Club Resort offers 300 feet of private beach. Our rooms include studios, 1-bedroom, 1-bedroom townhouses and 2-bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Costa Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Beach Club Hotel Pompano Beach
La Costa Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Costa Beach Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.