We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christina's Cafe

Christina's Cafe
2201 East Atlantic Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
954-782-2160
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 317 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Frankfort, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I've eaten at Greek restaurants from Athens to Chicago. Christina's is authentic and good. Christina meets you at the door and pays attention to every patron. It is small and good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    18
    3
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A very small personable restaurant. The owners greet every guest.
The food is good and very authentic.
I highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Lucky that Flanagan's Was Too Busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Because we weren't planning to go to Christina's. We found this place on Trip Advisor after going to Flanagan's across the street, and we didn't want to wait 40 minutes.
The King ordered the beef stew and the Queen had the chicken marsala. Both were excellent. Besides the quality of our meals, the service was outstanding. There were three waitresses and a busboy, and each took care of us during our dining experience at Christina's. And they all did it with genuine smiles. We plan to re-visit again shortly and will look forward to it until then. Forget about Flanagan's!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Greek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

There is quite a large selection of items considering the rather petite size of this lovely restaurant in Pompano Beach. Whether you're in the mood for hot or cold appetizers, a Greek salad, a vegetarian entrée, or a meat entrée, you will have plenty of choices. I eat gluten free and vegetarian and always find great selections. On this occasion, I chose stuffed grape leaves and a selection of dips with pita chips (I didn't eat those). My mother's Greek salad was large enough to share and to take some home. I always enjoy attentive service whether my server is Christina herself or another waitress. Ask about any specials.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Not authentic Greek food - poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

The only thing Greek about this place, is possibly the name. I seriously doubt that these people have actually been to Greece and tasted authentic Greek food. It's not that the food is bad, but it is certainly an apology for Greek food.
We came there and said we would have the special for $16 which is plastered over the outside of the restaurant and on the menu, and were told that " It's not availabe tonight".
We then ordered the gyro platter and greek salad. The gyro meat was not the usual sliced pieces of meat, but some concocted compacted meat slices fried, and layered over a bed of rice.
The greek salad of iceberg lettuce came with 1 olive and 2 small pieces of tomato.
The meat was actually tasteless and needed seasoning as was the salad.
We also ordered the lamb special for $26 which came dry with a lot of rice, and no gravy or olive oil.The lamb was ok but certainly didn't taste like standard greek lamb made in olive oil,lots of garlic, lemon,rosemary etc, and didn't come with roast potatoes.
Christina's is an overpriced restaurant which has very unauthentic poor greek food.
Even though service is good, this place is not worth a visit.
Christina should go back to Greek cooking school or come and take lessons from my wife who isn't even Greek, but whose lamb puts Christana's to shame.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christina's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Christina's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christina's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.