We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for one or more weeks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages by the Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cottages by the Ocean to your Saves list
Cottages by the Ocean
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   3309 SE Third St, Pompano Beach, FL 33069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ENJOY $100 DINNER ON US!
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good for one or more weeks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Place is good situated near the beach, shops and Miami, Everglades etc. Clean place with all needed for a week or so and possibilities to cook and/or BBQ. If you want more than just a hotelbed and you appreciate the possibilities to cook and to sit outside this is a very good place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Spent two weeks here in October - November 2011. Nice place, Bed was comfy, room was great, staff was friendly, minutes from the beach. Nice patio and BBQ. We enjoyed it a lot. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Well-equipped kitchen. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yura1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I choose to stay in this cottage beacuse of all that it had to offer a place you can relax , a feel of home away from home.
I must say I was more than satisfied and definately will be back for another stay
.I got to meet Elaine as she welcomed us on our arrival and she was just addorable.
No complaints, simply beautiful and would recommend this cottage lounge for any couple looking to spend a great time and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 48080Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

This is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beach. Our cottage was clean and perfectly appointed for a relaxing stay. The property has pretty landscaping and our cottage had a furnished screened in porch. If you are going to Pompano Beach this is so much nicer than a hotel. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurfTrvlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Great location, near enough to the beach but off the road enough to be quiet. Very clean and well-kept. Nautical theme for decor. We wanted a restful, warm get-away and this hit the mark superbly!! The weather did not cooperate much, but the cottage's heat was more than adequate. Very nice accommodations!! We enjoyed it immensely!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

From the first day i booked this with Elaine it was very easy and she was very helpful, the cottage that myself and my wife had was very cozy and very clean, it was in a very quite area near the beach. The cottage had everything you needed if you were going to cook. The thing that stuck out the most with our stay was the King size bed in the cottage very comfortable slept very well had no complaints. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to have a quite stay with not all that hotel noise and drama. Two Thumbs Up :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

When we arrived, we had to clean the cottage. There was mold in the shower, black dust on the counters and chairs and dirt on the floors.
The towels are stained and not very clean - previous tenants are required to do the laundry.
The remote for the TV does not work, you have to manually change channels and volume control at the TV for any changes.
The air conditioner leaks water and the couch receives water stains accordingly - be careful and document everything before you settle in... afterall you are responsible for all cleaning, laundry and of course, you are required to provide a "departure" cleaning fee $75 for anything you may have missed (even if it wasn't clean).

Bottom line, this cottage was represented as a "white glove" place to live and it was the farthest thing from living at home... even though the manager likes to portray herself as the home away from home.

In twenty years of travel - this is the worst place I have ever stayed. It was dirty, moldy and not comfortable in any way.

Hopefully after several reviews, "Trip Advisor" will publish this review. It will appear that Trip Advisor only publishes reviews in favor of the property and new sales. If an honest review cannot be posted, then how can any person trust the site that represents the product.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrFoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainebythebeach, Owner at Cottages by the Ocean, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
It is certainly a concern when any business receives a bad review, but we believe travelers who have read this will see through a “review” that is malicious for the pure point of being malicious. Every one of the earlier reviews shows that our guests believe they have received a first-rate experience. The Superior Small Lodging Association conducts lengthy and thorough surprise inspections of our Cottages, and it takes 100-percent excellence in housekeeping to be honored with a White Glove Award. We are proud to say that we are a multiple recipient of that award. We were also named the Pompano Beach Chamber’s 2009 Small Business of the Year. My staff and I work hard every day to go the extra mile in quality and service for our guests. We conduct our business honorably and to the highest standards, and we invite everyone to stay with us and enjoy our lovely cottages. Sincerely, Elaine Fitzgerald, Owner, Cottages by the Ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompano Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Resort in Pompano Beach, Florida
1.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Bahama Beach Club Apartments
Bahama Beach Club Apartments
#7 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 36 in Pompano Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
Beachcomber Resort and Villas
#9 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#5 of 36 in Pompano Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages by the Ocean

Address: 3309 SE Third St, Pompano Beach, FL 33069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages by the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming complex of six fully restored 1940s studio and one-bedroom cottages is nationally rated as a Superior Small Lodging. It's less than two blocks from our award-winning beach with lifeguards, lighthouse and fishing pier. Enjoy all the comforts of home with king beds, full kitchens, free Internet, BBQ and laundry facilities, screened porches overlooking tropical gardens. Cottages by the Ocean is a small, well-kept property of charming Key West-style studio and one-bedroom cottages. We are a White Glove award-winner and nationally rated as a Superior Small Lodging. Each restored 1940s cottage has a full kitchen, king or queen bed and sleeper sofa, lush, tropical garden views, large screened-in porches or open patio, private BBQ grills, with a central sundeck and coin laundry on site. The Cottages are centrally located on a quiet street in the safe, ocean side community of Pompano Beach, 15 minutes North of downtown Fort Lauderdale and 15 minutes South of Boca Raton. They are less than two blocks from one of South Florida's award-winning Blue Wave beaches (with life guards), and a short walk to dozens of restaurants, shops, nightspots, public fishing pier, snorkel/dive boats, charter fishing boats, jet ski and boat rentals, gym, day spa, drug store, gourmet fish market and more. It’s a five-minute drive to the new Pompano CitiCenter shopping mall, movie theaters, tennis and aquatics complex, dog park, air park for private planes and the Good Year Blimp base, 36-hole golf facility and driving range. The new ISLE Casino (smoke-free), next door to Pompano Harness Track, is a 15-minute drive. I-95 is a 10-minute drive for easy access to all South Florida business centers, shopping and attractions.Very clean, quiet and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cottages by the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Ocean Hotel Pompano Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing