We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a wonderful cottage, by far the best in pompano beach fl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages by the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Cottages by the Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottages by the Ocean
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   3309 SE Third St, Pompano Beach, FL 33069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
2-for-1 Attractions Card!
Long Island City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This was a wonderful cottage, by far the best in pompano beach fl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I choose to stay in this cottage beacuse of all that it had to offer a place you can relax , a feel of home away from home.
I must say I was more than satisfied and definately will be back for another stay
.I got to meet Elaine as she welcomed us on our arrival and she was just addorable.
No complaints, simply beautiful and would recommend this cottage lounge for any couple looking to spend a great time and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

This is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beach. Our cottage was clean and perfectly appointed for a relaxing stay. The property has pretty landscaping and our cottage had a furnished screened in porch. If you are going to Pompano Beach this is so much nicer than a hotel. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Great location, near enough to the beach but off the road enough to be quiet. Very clean and well-kept. Nautical theme for decor. We wanted a restful, warm get-away and this hit the mark superbly!! The weather did not cooperate much, but the cottage's heat was more than adequate. Very nice accommodations!! We enjoyed it immensely!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

From the first day i booked this with Elaine it was very easy and she was very helpful, the cottage that myself and my wife had was very cozy and very clean, it was in a very quite area near the beach. The cottage had everything you needed if you were going to cook. The thing that stuck out the most with our stay was the King size bed in the cottage very comfortable slept very well had no complaints. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to have a quite stay with not all that hotel noise and drama. Two Thumbs Up :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

When we arrived, we had to clean the cottage. There was mold in the shower, black dust on the counters and chairs and dirt on the floors.
The towels are stained and not very clean - previous tenants are required to do the laundry.
The remote for the TV does not work, you have to manually change channels and volume control at the TV for any changes.
The air conditioner leaks water and the couch receives water stains accordingly - be careful and document everything before you settle in... afterall you are responsible for all cleaning, laundry and of course, you are required to provide a "departure" cleaning fee $75 for anything you may have missed (even if it wasn't clean).

Bottom line, this cottage was represented as a "white glove" place to live and it was the farthest thing from living at home... even though the manager likes to portray herself as the home away from home.

In twenty years of travel - this is the worst place I have ever stayed. It was dirty, moldy and not comfortable in any way.

Hopefully after several reviews, "Trip Advisor" will publish this review. It will appear that Trip Advisor only publishes reviews in favor of the property and new sales. If an honest review cannot be posted, then how can any person trust the site that represents the product.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elainebythebeach, Owner at Cottages by the Ocean, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
It is certainly a concern when any business receives a bad review, but we believe travelers who have read this will see through a “review” that is malicious for the pure point of being malicious. Every one of the earlier reviews shows that our guests believe they have received a first-rate experience. The Superior Small Lodging Association conducts lengthy and thorough surprise inspections of our Cottages, and it takes 100-percent excellence in housekeeping to be honored with a White Glove Award. We are proud to say that we are a multiple recipient of that award. We were also named the Pompano Beach Chamber’s 2009 Small Business of the Year. My staff and I work hard every day to go the extra mile in quality and service for our guests. We conduct our business honorably and to the highest standards, and we invite everyone to stay with us and enjoy our lovely cottages. Sincerely, Elaine Fitzgerald, Owner, Cottages by the Ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

If you could design a perfect Cottage away from home, with all the amenities needed to move right in, well, pack your bag and bring a tooth brush. That's all one needs to enjoy a relaxing, exciting, and wonderful fantasy away from home.
Quiet street, with lovely grounds. Classy people, clean and everything one needs to live comfortably.
The beach is at most a 5 minute walk. Chairs are supplied, beach towels, and other beach toys to use. Washer and dryer on premises. Elaine is there if you need her.
Great restaurants, night spots, casinos nearby.
Just a great get away. I can't wait to book my next trip to Cottages by the Ocean.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

My husband and I had a remarkable experience staying at this property. Impeccably clean rooms & property, owner left out no details (beach chairs, beach towels, ALL the comforts of home besides your toiletries!!)Very quiet, shady property - lovely screened porch to enjoy coffe in the am and cocktails in the pm. Walking distance to several restaurants, bars, Walgreens, etc. Beach is only a short walk (1.5 blocks at best). Oh - and the beach chairs - they are GREAT - wear them like a back pack and your hands-free walking to the beach. The property owner, Elaine Fitzgerald, was very accomodating as was the maintenance guy Paul. You are missing out on a great value if you pass up this property. Only drawback, no pool - but that wasn't important to us. Elaine told me though that one of the nearby hotels will allow you to use their pool if you buy food and beverages at the tiki bar outside (Sandpiper). We did some diving during our stay and the shower & hose directly behind our unit (and all units) allowed us to clean up our dive gear easily. And - it's only a 15 min or so drive to the Isle Casino and Horse Track - lots of fun if you've never seen harness racing. The casino was a blast too! We look forward to returning and sharing our "find" with all of our friends!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cottages by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages by the Ocean

Address: 3309 SE Third St, Pompano Beach, FL 33069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty lodging in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages by the Ocean 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming complex of six fully restored 1940s studio and one-bedroom cottages is nationally rated as a Superior Small Lodging. It's less than two blocks from our award-winning beach with lifeguards, lighthouse and fishing pier. Enjoy all the comforts of home with king beds, full kitchens, free Internet, BBQ and laundry facilities, screened porches overlooking tropical gardens. Cottages by the Ocean is a small, well-kept property of charming Key West-style studio and one-bedroom cottages. We are a White Glove award-winner and nationally rated as a Superior Small Lodging. Each restored 1940s cottage has a full kitchen, king or queen bed and sleeper sofa, lush, tropical garden views, large screened-in porches or open patio, private BBQ grills, with a central sundeck and coin laundry on site. The Cottages are centrally located on a quiet street in the safe, ocean side community of Pompano Beach, 15 minutes North of downtown Fort Lauderdale and 15 minutes South of Boca Raton. They are less than two blocks from one of South Florida's award-winning Blue Wave beaches (with life guards), and a short walk to dozens of restaurants, shops, nightspots, public fishing pier, snorkel/dive boats, charter fishing boats, jet ski and boat rentals, gym, day spa, drug store, gourmet fish market and more. It’s a five-minute drive to the new Pompano CitiCenter shopping mall, movie theaters, tennis and aquatics complex, dog park, air park for private planes and the Good Year Blimp base, 36-hole golf facility and driving range. The new ISLE Casino (smoke-free), next door to Pompano Harness Track, is a 15-minute drive. I-95 is a 10-minute drive for easy access to all South Florida business centers, shopping and attractions.Very clean, quiet and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cottages by the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages By The Ocean Hotel Pompano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages by the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.