We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place! Nice room. Great beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pompano Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Cove Resort
Save Saved
You added Lighthouse Cove Resort to your Saves list
1406 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun place! Nice room. Great beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011 via mobile

A smoker's paradise but we loved it anyway. Music every night. Nice pool. Great beach. Lighthouse less than a mile away. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    46
    16
    15
    12
See reviews for
42
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We booked for one week the last week of April 2011. Our first clue about this place should have been the fact that we were unable to contact the resort prior to our stay. No one answers the phone and messages left were not returned and the same thing with emails. Upon check in we were assigned a room on the second floor directly overlooking the back of the tiki bar complete with trash and various pieces of discarded junk. The person checking us in informed us " if you have a problem with your room don't bother complaining because I can't change it" (next clue perhaps???).This location also afforded us all of the smoke and grease from the tiki bar grill therefore we were unable to open the patio doors or use the balcony at all!!! Our room was the size of my master bath and closet together. Furniture shoved everywhere, very cluttered and dark. Every surface of our room felt as if it was covered with grease, the carpet was torn, wallpaper border was peeling from the wall and best of all, there was no cold water in the bathroom. Good luck washing your face, hands or brushing your teeth.
The studio was supposed to sleep four offering both a murphy bed as well as a sleeper sofa. The murphy bed was trash!! Lumps and sloped so badly that we put it away and decided to use the sleeper sofa. WRONG! The sleeper sofa did not have a mattress at all but was a platform (rock hard, no cushion) covered by a glorified gym mat. By the way, this was our honeymoon and it was the worst night either of us ever had.
The resort is old and tired and everything looks dirty and worn. The tiki bar is open to locals and populated with geriatric drunks. Not a pretty sight! The food is atrocious however the drinks aren't skimpy with the booze. One would have to consume copious amounts of it in order to see this resort (and I do use that term loosely here) as anything other than the dilapidated rat-hole that it is.
The next morning we spoke with the front desk to share our concerns and were told to tell it to RCI because they aren't going to do anything about it. I called the agency and shared our pain(lol) and they placed me on hold in order to call Lighthouse Cove. I went to the front office and observed the employees horsing around and loudly discussing their personal lives. What they did not do was answer the phone and speak to the agent. The agent came back on and apologized stating that he had been unable to reach the resort. I replied that I was in the front office and I could see why as the employees were busy interacting with one another, not guests. I received another phone call from another agent who apologized and booked us into a one bedroom condo in a resort two buildings south of The Lighthouse Cove. Night and day difference, staff was friendly and helpful, grounds were immaculate, room was clean and bed was comfortable. This resort was also right on the beach and has three pools, two hot tubs and a real workout facility as well. I would not recommend The Lighthouse Cove to a friend, I would not recommend this resort to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: To get the best room stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Nice comfortable updated rooms. right on the beach with a great pool, sauna and tiki bar. Many great restaurants within a short driving distance.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I don't know what all the fuss is about. I didn't even get as far as getting to stay there. Their phone staff and reservation people are completely moronic. If I can get further then the front desk, I can hardly expect to have a good stay. I've had an easier time on the phone with someone who can't speak English.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We booked our stay through an RCI timeshare. We switched to Lighthouse Cove in Pompano Beach for a whole week instead of our home resort in Hilton Head. It was a relaxing stay. We were awarded a high floor FRONT-center of the full ocean front view in the main big tower. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath condo. It had a brand new kitchen with granite and stainless steel. The beds were also new with pillowtop mattress toppers. The master bedroom had a sliding glass door to the balcony and the master was especially spacious. We had a huge long slender balcony with lots of lawn chairs and tables to enjoy the views.The other bedroom was just small enough to walk around the bed. The bathrooms had plenty of towels. There was also plenty of bright yellow beach towels in which you can use for days (you can also exchange them in the lobby for fresh new ones.) The linens that you use like the sheets on your bed and the white washcloths and towels WILL BE INSPECTED when you walk down into the basement area to be exchanged. I found this rather degrading and wierd that they literally checked every single space on the sheets and pillowcases and towels. So make sure you dont have any mascara on your washcloths. They will charge you for this kind of thing. The linen ladies weren't friendly at all! We had our 2 year old with us also, so make sure that your child doesn't stain any towels with food or anything of that sort either, we found that it was easier at times to wash them yourself. We loved the views of the beautiful grounds and the kitchen had everything we needed. The music downstairs was nice. We never thought it was too loud. We liked it! The main thing that we had trouble with, was WE FLEW, so we did not rent a car. The resort is NOT within walking distance to any type of store/drugstore/ or grocery store. You absolutely need a car to enjoy the area! we took the bus several places and a cab a few times. When visiting the resort with a baby or small children it is really a must to have a car! The nearest grocery is around 2 miles and you have to walk over the causeway bridge to get to it. That was not the safest thing with a baby. The elevators broke while we were there and we had to use the stairs (7 flights) with a stroller and baby plus bags for several days. That wasn't very fun. The pools were kept very clean and they have floats and noodles for everyone to enjoy. The restaraunt food was okay. It was priced a little high for the quality. We cooked most of our meals in the condo. I accidentally broke a plate while I was there. I notified them immediately in the lobby, and I had to pay 10.00 to replace the single plate. It was okay since I did break it unloading the dishwasher, but I was a little shocked that a cheaper chinet type of plate would be TEN dollars. but okay. One of the beach showers were broken so alot of the people had to dip in the pool to remove the sand, but they always were on top of cleaning the pools and it never seemed too bothersome. The weather was perfect in late September and all in all we really enjoyed our stay. We loved the view and the beach was secluded and fun for our 2 year old. We probably wont return again unless we drive, and honestly with children traveling we will pick a different place. I think this place would be excellent for a couple with a car. Its a really secluded beach and area of town!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

My fiancée and I were gifted a week’s stay at LHC from my parents in 2004. We immediately loved the location, view of the ocean, pool area and huge private white sand beach. By the end of our week we couldn’t wait to return and decided to purchase a room with a week that would coincide with our wedding/anniversary every year. We returned for our honeymoon in 2005 and every anniversary since. The poolside music is always a blast. The Tiki bar can’t be beat for breakfast or a snack. The on-site restaurant, Christine’s by the Sea, opened on our last stay there and was fantastic. LHC is just minutes from Fort Lauderdale. There are so many excellent restaurants and night spots along the inter-coastal and along A1A and Fed Hwy 1 within 1-3 miles of LHC. The full kitchen really comes in handy with a Publix grocery store right across the causeway. Every year we find ourselves venturing away from the property less and less and just totally decompressing on site. The staff is friendly and helpful. The other guests are fun and respectful. We can’t say enough great things about this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

If you are looking for a great resort with nice people then this is the place. We stay in October 2010 and loved everything about this resort. We arrived at 11:30 and check in wasn't until 4 and they said they would call us as soon as it was ready, well at noon our room was ready and they let us in so that was very nice. We had a great view of the light house and ocean, it was nice and quiet by our room with the windows open. The balcony was also a very nice bonus. The rooms were nice and big and very clean. They kitchens were very nice, all new stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops. and The pool was hot tub were a great temperature. We had our 9 month old daughter with us and this resort is very stroller/wheelchair friendly. They have a private beach for resort guests only which was also very nice. If you like walking/running, there is a park just 1.5 miles away that has great walking paths, tennis and basketball courts, etc. Publix and any other store you would want it within a 5 min drive from the resort so that was also very nice. There are 2 food places on the resort, a tiki bar and a formal restaurant. We tried the tiki bar and the food was very good.

Now for the negatives of the resort, parking is a huge issue because of the restaurant, it seems to be the place to be in Pompano. If you left before 5 pm don't expect to get a spot anywhere close to the resort before 8:30 pm. The resort has a parking lot across the road which you can park in but i believe the restaurant patrons should have to park there and the resort guests can park near there rooms because they typically have things to carry, groceries, children, etc. Not a deal breaker but an annoyance especially with a baby. The other issue was in the room with the air conditioner, it would cool your whole room down in 20 min which was great but it was very noisy to the point it would startle all of us in the middle of the night because it was loud. Again not a deal breaker just be prepared for it and wear ear plugs if you can't get back to sleep easily after being woken up. The last thing that happens at every resort is people reserving chairs by the pool, they even have signs up at this resort saying they will remove towels and such and people don't care. There was a table with belongings on it for 2 hours and not 1 person came near it so we moved the stuff aside and sat there for another 2 hours before someone came out and the lady was very rude and we told her we would share the table with her but we weren't moving since it was 4 hours. So just be warned about people reserving as there are not a lot of tables by the pool but seemed to be lots of lounge chairs.

Someone called us in the room in the middle of the week saying they wanted to come up and chat with us, didn't say why or anything like that. We were on our way out and told them so and they said they would call back and never did. Turned out it was the timeshare people but we were never bugged by them so be warned if someone wants to chat with you and you aren't interested.

Overall a great resort and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Cove Resort

Address: 1406 N. Ocean Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Pompano Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Pompano Beach
Number of rooms: 113
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Cove Hotel Pompano Beach
Lighthouse Cove Pompano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.