We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from Saturday night.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Veranda

La Veranda
2121 E Atlantic Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-5207
954-943-7390
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 302 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Petersburg NJ USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay away from Saturday night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Visited on a busy Saturday night with another couple. Had read the mixed, mostly favorable reviews. All had an excellent meal. The chicken cacciatore was superb. From soup/salad to dessert, all delicious. Like I said, busy Saturday night, we felt rushed. Drinks arrived, followed by a couple of requests for our order and our order arrived quickly. The outside area was nice, but arriving diners paraded through it to the hostess. Will visit again, but not on a weekend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    5
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Throw your customers out before meal ends and if they don't like it ask the policeman sitting outside to join in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a tasteless, over-sauced pasta and some wine and before I had finished my glass, the maitre d'/owner started to turn the lights out. Presumably he wanted to go home - it was 9.30pm. When my husband told me to sit still and finish my wine, the owner shouted over to us "We're closed". My husband asked him to return the tip he'd just paid - owner made a phone call and hey presto! a policeman at the door, who was extremely aggressive to both of us. On returning home, I rang and spoke to their Chief of Police who apologised profusely for the behaviour of his policeman and assured me that the fact that he was parked right outside the venue was simply a coincidence... I wonder! Obviously I would rather starve than go back there. The owner was unpleasant and the food wasn't much better. Glutinous - NOT the standard I'm using to consuming in Europe. Sorry, didn't like anything about it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a great evening here! The courtyard is lovely. We called ahead for reservations and they were ready when we arrived. We waiter Kenny was very attentive and recommended the Veal which 2 in our party enjoyed, we also tried the Eggplant and it was very good. For an appetizer we tried the baked clams although small the topping was very good. The garlic bread was worth the calories. We ended our dinner with a fantastic Lemon Sorbet. We enjoyed!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nice Italian restaurant indoor and outdoor seating. My friends got two different pasta dishes which were good. Unfortunately my dish was not I got the veal frensa but it needs work. The veal was cook well but then for some reason it was plopped down in a sea of lemon juice/sauce? Making half of my cutlet soggy I guess they forgot you suppose to sprinkle the lemon over it. The pasta served with was OK but the sauce was nondescript and was too salty

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
“THE most discusting restaurant experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have just written the following message to La Veranda;

I had diner for the first & last time at your restaurant last night.
I didn't mind the wait, or the very strange waiter who served us, greeting us with an extended monologue about his daughter's behavior and the new car he just bought her (???) but once we finally got our meal, I was distracted by the busboy clearing the table behind my husband...the busboy's extreme coughing was disturbing, especially since he made no attempt to cover his mouth as he very loudly coughed away...but much more disturbing was when he spit up a GOB of PHLEM in one of your linen napkins....I have travelled across the world, including the orient and I have NEVER seen anything like this.....Better yet was when the waiter asked me why I did not touch my meal ( totally lost my appetite...) and I explained what your busboy had just done, he just said he could not deal with it.....and then brought us our bill...never asked us if we wanted dessert or coffee....as we left, your busboy was setting up a table, coughing away, mouth open over the "fresh" linen and cutlery...
I am lost for worlds...I will never go back to your restaurant, recommend it and certainly will let our friends who do frequent it what happened last night
Claudine Soulard

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Veranda also viewed

 

Been to La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.