We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, authentic Italian! Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Veranda

La Veranda
2121 E Atlantic Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062-5207
954-943-7390
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 313 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
White Lake, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic Italian! Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

A beautiful walkway leads to the indoor or outdoor seating areas, where you are promptly greeted in Italian by the owner. After leading you to your table, he pulls out the ladies' chairs, and spreads everyone's napkin on their lap. Water is promptly poured, and the server appears to take drink orders. Three of us ordered the calamari appetizer, which was served hot and fresh, very delicate, alongside homemade marinara dipping sauce. The entrees include a tossed salad with homemade creamy Italian dressing.Two of us ordered the Red Snapper Francese ($24.95), which was possibly one of the best entrees I've ever had - a large piece of fresh, flavorful snapper (about 8 oz or more.) with a delicate sauce that looks buttery, but is not the least bit greasy, and has a light lemon flavor. Spaghetti with homemade marinara is served as the side dish, also excellent! My husband ordered the special Veal Chop with roasted potatoes and steamed mixed vegetables ($32.95). The chop was at least 1 1/2 to 2 inches thick, and my husband loved every bite!! Fresh Italian garlic bread is also brought to the table, and is fragrant and delicious! Valet parking is provided for all guests due to small parking lot. The restaurant itself transports you: from the red and white checkered tablecloths with the lace overlays to the doorway arches, private outdoor dining patio, and background music (some Italian classics, some Sinatra, et al), La Veranda is an enjoyable, relaxing dining experience! We look forward to returning every time we come back to Pompano! Grazie!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    9
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Fl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fine Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This has to be one of the finest Italian restaurants in South East Florida and perhaps the only one which still serves italian garlic bread, a wonderful treat. My wife and I go there almost every week and enjoy fine italian food. See for yourself.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This restaurant never changes. It was good 30 years ago, and it's still fantastic. If you like southern Italian food, you will not be disappointed. The owner, after all of these years in business, still goes around checking to see if you are satisfied. Don't miss this one.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Watch your Visa card if you don't tip big.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Possibly a coincidence, but our waiter swiped my credit card 3 times (reversed two immediately) which flagged Visa and shut down my card. I tipped 15% after an OK meal (actually the food is no great shakes) and lousy service even by Lauderdale standards. Sloppy service. No repeat visit, ever.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I went there to celebrate our 57th anniversary and as always were very please with the service and food. The food is always properly prepared, served hot and with a european flair. The waite staff is always attentive and polite and will do whatever necessary to please you. The drinks are what I consider to be top notch and served promptly. I really can't say enough our favorite restaurant . . . . of course . . . we'll be back !

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Veranda also viewed

 

Been to La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Veranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.