We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic BBQ.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Willy's Barbecue

Blue Willy's Barbecue
1386 S Federal Highway, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
954-224-6120
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 301 restaurants in Pompano Beach
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Walked into the joint during a quiet period and saw a man behind the counter laying a gorgeous hunk of brisket on a cutting board. "That is a thing of beauty" I said. He thanked me modestly and offered us a slice he'd just carved. It was incredible. Turned out the man was Willy, and he has a real gift for BBQ. A likable guy, too. We ordered a brisket platter and a pulled pork platter, and it was all delicious. Sides were good, too. Served in a traditional style, on butcher's paper instead of plates, seating at picnic benches, but it suits the food, and frankly, that's what you'll be noticing. Wish I had some right now...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    40
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic smoked bbq”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

If you are looking for real authentic smoked bbq, this is the place. I had the combo platter with brisket and ribs, awesome. I smoke my own meats and this is like doing it myself. Its a tiny place and not fancy, also not much parking, but worth it for real good bbq! Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Barbecue I have ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Friendly atmosphere, not fancy, just great food! Brisket, chicken, ribs, pulled pork - Come early because they often sell out -

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

After leaving a cruise, we spent 2 days in Ft Lauderdale. After researching restaurants, we decided to eat one night at Blue Willy's. Initially hard to find. The outside just says BBQ and not Blue Willy's. In a small strip mall, it is very bare bones inside as far a decor and tables/chairs. You order at the counter from the owner and pay at the register to the only other employee. We got the two meat platter with two sides. I got the brisket and pulled pork and my wife got the ribs and pulled pork. We both got the slaw and beans. This is, by far, the best BBQ that I have ever had. Beautiful smoke ring and full of good taste. Their sauces at the table are ho hum, so I had sneaked in my favorite Blistering hot BBQ sauce from another purveyor. The owner claims that the locals know all about it, but I only saw about 6 other folks inside on a Monday evening. If you are ever in this area, go here. You won't regret it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food, lacking in service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We drove from West Palm Beach to get to Blue Willy's while on vacation with our teens. When we arrived, there was no parking, so we had to park a block away. Its on a very busy street. There are only picnic style tables and a counter to order from. The girl at the register was very low on customer service skills, but the guys working there were really nice. She was quick to take the order and kind of gave us looks when we asked about the items on the menu. I had to explain to her that it was our first time there, so we didnt know about the portions. We ordered Ribs and Pulled Pork and had some great sides. The collard greens and bbq beans were the best, the corn bread was just o.k., kind of on the cold side for me. The food was overall very good, but if you are short on time or out of the area, skip it. We had just come back from a cruise to the Bahamas and were on our way to the Ft. Lauderdale airport, so we thought we would give it a try. Probably worth it, if you live in the area, but not for an "out of state" visitor that's in a hurry. The food came out really quickly, but the girl was definitely not happy assisting first time customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Willy's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Blue Willy's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Willy's Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.