We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Restaurant

Calypso Restaurant
460 S Cypress Rd, Pompano Beach, FL 33060-7136
954 942 1633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 301 restaurants in Pompano Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The Calypso Restaurant is easy to find and although the external look of the building isn't stunning, the seafood is fresh and well prepared. WARNING: This restaurant is NOT open on the weekends. They do so well that the owners want to enjoy their weekends with family. It is generally somewhat crowded due to it being a hot spot for food. Prices are decent for fresh fish (about $25 a dish) and the serve we received was friendly and excellent. Great place for a nice meal out.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    118
    51
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great surprise! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Decided to try this restaurant because of the Trip Advisor reviews. Don't be put off by the location! It looks like any restaurant in a small strip mall but it definitely isn't. This is the first time we ate there and we both had seafood. The food was wonderful. Our waitress was very nice and took time to explain the different specials and types of fish. They made us feel welcomed when we walked in the door and thanked us for coming as we were leaving. Would really like to eat there again before we head back to Missouri!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNAPOLIS, MD
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top restaurant in Pompano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Calypso has been a fave restaurant of ours for several years and with recent visits with several out of town friends, we have renewed our love of Calypso! Style of decor is Bahamas Beach Bar with a great bar featuring beers from all over Caribbean! Menu is focused on fresh fish and shellfish...all fresh seafood listed on a board daily prepared either, grilled, blackened or fried. They also feature lots of Island favorites..stamp and go, curries, stews, sandwiches and sides. My fave dishes are conch salad made of pounded raw conch with a lime, pepper marinade on tomato and cucumber salad; cracked and grilled conch that is tender, tasty and served either deep fried or grilled (your choice) with lemon and butter...heaven with a touch of hot sauce. Another favorite is the BBQ shrimp which is served in a rich, dark sauce redolent of dark rum, Worcestershire, island spices and citrus. Blackened tuna, grilled wahoo and the whole fried snapper are perfectly cooked and seasoned. Sides are terrific...the black beans and peas and rice are authentic and tasty, but my go-tos are spicy cucumbers served sliced in a sauce of vinegar, mustard and hot sauce ( I think!) and fried candied plantains..soft, puffy and sweetly homey....sigh! Specials sometimes feature Florida lobster in season and stone crabs...both delicious. While not cheap, the prices are more than fair for the food and cooking quality and friendly service. Dinner for two with no drinks is usually around $40-50. Don't miss this Island gem in Pompano Beach. Not open on weekends!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
“Great neighborhood place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Nothing fancy, just a friendly staff, very fresh seafood that's well-prepared, and a menu that can accommodate any customer. I went there many times when I lived in Pompano, and loved the whole snapper, pepper-pot soup, and fresh fish.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Freshest Seafood In Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have been eating at Calypso for many years and it is a solid place to consistently serve delicious seafood. But if someone in your party does not eat seafood they have jerked chicken, pork and a rare roast beef cutter sandwich and juicy burger. Always check the boards for the catch of the day and the special of the day. The Calypso Cutter sandwich is their signature dish and one that you have to try comprised of succulent jumbo shrimp, mushrooms and cheddar cheese. Carribbean Pepperpot soup is a favorite too. When in season they serve up the best soft-shelled crab and whole yellowtail snapper.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Restaurant also viewed

Pompano Beach, FL
Pompano Beach, FL
 

Been to Calypso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.