We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Pompano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Restaurant

Calypso Restaurant
460 S Cypress Rd, Pompano Beach, FL 33060-7136
954 942 1633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 310 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best in Pompano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you want good eats in Pompano this is the place.. They do a REALLY nice job here. The fish is always really fresh...They really do care about service and it's always top notch.. Yeah it's not so cheap.. but it's worth a visit. The ginger dressing on the salad and the plantains are awesome.. Any fish you get is going to be fresh.. Check it out...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    64
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Our dinners were just excellent. I had crab cakes which were well seasoned and presented. My wife had a pork loin dinner that we both thought was great too. All of the salads/sides were really good too! Can't wait to go back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Sliced BBQ Pork and Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was my first time to this restaurant and I chose it because of the TripAdvisor ratings. I was with my elderly mother and my sister. Visually it is not impressive inside or out, but the food and service are incredible. My mother wanted shrimp cocktail, which they don't typically make (all of their shrimp dishes are hot). The waitress (Christi) was really nice and asked the cook (who I think may have been the owner). He immediately came out and said he'd do it for us. The shrimp were HUGE and very tasty. I got the sliced pork with their own homemade BBQ sauce. I can honestly say it was the best I have ever had and I have had a lot of BBQ! They even make their own salad dressings. The waitress brought some of each out to us and all were very good. For the quality of food, the cost was reasonable (the total bill was less than $80 and that included 4 beers).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“busy but worth waiting for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

this little gem stuck in a non nondescript strip mall in pompano beach is worth seeking out. the freshest seafood and tasty food to be found in the area. note that they get very busy right at lunch time!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Food is great. There was 3 of us and we all ordered something different and everything was great. We had read about this place on Trip Advisor and was not dissapointed. The Key lime pie was not a great as reviewed, it was too sweet tasted more like sugar than Key Lime. That was the only thing we were not happy about.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.