We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sashimi tuna pizza forever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx

Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx
2601 East Atlantic Blvd., Pompano Beach, FL 33062
(954) 782-0606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 315 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sashimi tuna pizza forever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a great restaurant in south Florida not much on location but the food and service is great. I have went about four times and I was never let down. The tuna sashimi pizza is wonderful as well as the caviar pie. Come here to wine and dine then go elsewhere for scenery

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    23
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, good service, casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Went on a Thursday night. Two couples. I had the banana and nut crusted mahi mahi. Presentation beautiful. Tasted great. Appetizer was the Kobe beef meatballs. - Wow. My wife and friends each had a different meal and all were great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“It is always a treat, this is where I celebrate my anniversary every year ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I absolutely LOVE this place.

The service is good, the food is AMAZING.
I would not go there with kids, it is perfect for romantic/special occasions.

Prices are high (for me, but it is absolutely worth it), but sometimes they have a fix menu that is a great great deal.
We did the dine out menu, and everything we order was excellent. That day the special they had for main course was chicken stuffed with lobster, mushrooms and sun dried tomatoes. OMG, it doesn't get better than that.
If you have never been, you gotta try it. You'll be pleasantly surprised. Make reservations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“"So good, you will slap your Momma"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Cafe Maxx has been amazing for years. I am like others, taking a little hiatus. Not sure , maybe it's the hundreds of restaurant choices in So Fl. Wish they would drop flyers at nearby homes to remind us.
I do think the outside needs glitz, as the curb appeal is lacking. You truly need a few outside chandeliers.
The food? Super amazing!
Start with the caviar pie and a great glass of wine. Don't forget the bread.
The servers need a little butt kick to serve in a fancy joint like this. Managers are amazing! Valet are very nice and professional.
All appetizers and salad amazing too! Excellent prices, eat here before Houston's. Stop there for a glass of wine after.
Any food items makes you cry with joy. Truly a party in your mouth! "So good you will slap your Momma!"

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I joined another couple for dinner here recently and had a great meal. We had not been there for years. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortabl,e but the food is at a gourmet level. Our starters and entrees were all delicious. It is a great sign when you don't think you could ever replicate the dish yourself. They also allowed us to linger at the table and talk instead of trying to push us out. The service was just right. I will definitely go back and would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx also viewed

 

Been to Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darrel & Oliver's Cafe Maxx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.