We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Houston's

Houston's
2821 E Atlantic Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
(954) 783-9499
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 310 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been to this restaurant a few times over the past years while on vacation. Every time we are there, it is a very long wait. 90 min! This was for an outside table. As it is first come first serve. We were told the exact wait time last year and it seemed to be taking longer so we inquired and " were the next to be seated" same thing happened this year. Sometimes I think people are paying off the hostess to sit sooner. The bar staff outside took forever. There should of been at Least 3 or 4 bartenders instead of 2 because of how busy it was. Once we were seated the food was delicious. It's really worth the wait. I ordered the pork chop which was enormous. I added a Caesar salad which was probably one of the best salads I have ever eaten. Key lime pie is to die for! Very pricey but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    139
    61
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disgusted!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Made a reservation for 7 pm at this extremely overpriced restaurant. Got there a few minutes early and stood behind a gentleman asking for a table, but he had no reservation and was told it would be a two hour wait. He slipped her some money and was told he'd be seated in a few minutes. I was then told that I would still have to wait 20 min. to a half hour for my reservation, while said gentleman probably got my table. I find this to be a reprehensible practice, and I will certainly never even consider going back there. Hope the chick taking bribes gets fired!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great everything :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

It was my first time at this place, and I was really not sure what to order. I ended up with Barbecue ribs, french fries and slaw, and you know what? The ribs were real good, but how often is it that you actually LOVE the slaw and the fries as well? The slaw was really original: lots of greens in it, and very rich flavor. The fries were cut as thin as noodles, and they were awesome too. This is how you tell a really good place from just a good one - when you find those every day things simply and unexpectedly delicious.

The service was great; I was seated outside at the bar (had to wander around for about 10 minutes and pray for the seat). It was a Monday evening, and the wait for the table outside was about an hour, so think about a reservation if you want to come for dinner. A little bit pricy for me, but you see that it's worth the money they're asking.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“one of the best waterfront restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is one of my favorite restaurants. Its is perfectly located on the inter-coastal with a great view of multi million yachts cruising by. the food was very tasteful and one of a kind. I recommend trying the hawaiin steak. a little pricey but it is definitely worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My family and I are very repeat customers. The place is always busy, but the service and food are great. I am never disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston's also viewed

 

Been to Houston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.