We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, But........” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson's Diner

Nelson's Diner
438 South Cypress Rd, Pompano Beach, FL 33060
9547853646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 313 Restaurants in Pompano Beach
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food, But........”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I went in the morning of July 4th for breakfast. Service was friendly and the food was good.

However, nearing the end of our meal a small roach found it's way on to the table and climbed up the pepper shaker. I realize it can be difficult to keep the critters out of an establishment, and more so in South Florida, but one crawling on the table is unacceptable.

Won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It was a very small place but it felt like home. The people who worked there seemed like family and truly interested in us. I felt that they would have cooked anything we wanted whether on the menu or not.
The prices were average and so were the serving sizes. I have been there a couple times and even when they have a line out the door they make you feel important. They came out and let us know several times how long the wait would be and even offered drinks while we waited.
Their customers matter and that keeps us going back!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast/Lunch Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nelson's services up typical diner food in a 50's loosely Elvis themed setting. All the dishes are good and served very quickly. Touch place to get into for the weekend breakfasts or lunch during the Florida "snowbird" season.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and great morabillia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This little diner was our best breakfast discovery while we were in Pompano a couple of weeks ago. The service was excellent and the welcome at the door by the owner Greg Nelson was also enjoyable.
Loads and loads of Elvis momorabillia on the walls.
The only regret my wife and I have is that we only discovered this diner two days before ending our two week vacation, and it was only a couple of blocks from where we were staying.
On the week-ends you have to cue up for a short wait but it's worth it.
My three egg, three item omelet was delicious as was the coffee.
We will most certainly be back next year and nowhere else I'm sure.
Hey...........they even deliver..........how cool is that?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Nelson's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.