We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new property on it's way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Glens Falls, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great new property on it's way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My sister and I visit Florida every December for a long weekend. This property is north of Fort Lauderdale and a quieter area. Only valet parking. Great beach. Good pool. Great food and drinks. The room was decent, nothing special but the view made it worth it. The staff was very friendly. The waiters at breakfast were awesome! This is a new Marriott and they seemed to really care how to make everything the best they could. Loved this property and would go back. Where the need to improve so beware, you can not use even the chairs at the beach without paying $15 a day per chair. These are Marriott owned chairs on their beach. I travel a lot and am open to spending more to get what I want but do not like to be nickeled and dimed. This needs to be part of their resort fees. While sitting at the pool for 2 days straight not once were we asked if we wanted a drink. The wait staff stood by the bar. Now we like a few drinks, will order food and tip well. We actually ended up buying bottles of wine (outside) instead of traveling to the bar and back and waiting for service. That revenue Marriott is trying to get at the beach could be easily tripled if they just told their wait staff to walk around and take drink orders, from everyone! Both issues easily solved with fantastic customer service. But great property on a fabulous beach! Just figure in the extras of valet and chairs.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room and book through an agent to get the best deal. Most travel agents price bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichByrd, General Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for you for being our valued guest and for your kind feedback regarding our new Marriott pompano beach resort and Spa.

I do want to note that we do not charge any of our guest resort fees, that is why there is a small charge for beach services. We thought it was better to not charge everyone for service that they may not use like beach services. Thus the only guest who pay for beach service now are the actual persons who use the service.

I hope you will consider our hotel when you return to South Florida. We look forward to having you as our guest again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    96
    37
    18
    16
See reviews for
93
104
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamston, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We drove hours to get to this hotel and wait around in the lobby for the manager to tell us the hotel is overbooked and they don't have our rooms. We had reservations! We were lied to and kept waiting around for nothing. Ridiculously awful service.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichByrd, General Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to apologize for walking you to another hotel on Saturday night. Your satisfaction and business is extremely important to my hotel and to the Marriott Pompano Beach Resort and Spa. At times reservations for hotels and Airline is not a perfect science, this evening we over booked as other hotels in the area did. The reason it took so long was that we were searching for a hotel with rooms open.

We truly appreciate your business and I hope you will continue staying with us in the future. If there is anything that I can ever do for you now, or in the future, please do not hesitate to call me at the hotel directly the next time you are booked at the Marriott Pompano Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The views are worth the sacrifices of paying for extras like valet, food, etc. everything is brand new and modern and the staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The whole outdoor beach area is very inviting and comfortable as well as the rooms and balconies. This location is close enough to Ft. Lauderdale without all the traffic and noise. The town of Pompano is very close by and is clean and safe and full of restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the beautiful beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichByrd, General Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future.

Thank you for the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great service, wonderful welcoming staff very attentive to all your needs. Beautiful pool area (two pools, one of them is not used by children), jacuzzi is nice and hot. The beach is great for walking and swimming, though I cannot say that the ocean is crystal clear.
Great breakfast with fruit, berries, juices and many healthy options.
The area around is a restaurant Mecca.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here for four nights over Christmas of 2013. On arrival we were warmly greeted by several very friendly and helpful valets. We stayed in the south tower, which appears to be brand new. Throughout our stay the entire staff was extremely warm and cordial. Our ocean view was magnificent, and we enjoyed long walks on the beach every morning. We loved watching the kite surfers. Food in the restaurant was was very good. My only very minor complaint was they they charged a daily fee for wifi, which is provided free most places these days.

Room Tip: Ocean view, eight floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Pompano Beach hotel for 1 ½ weeks and I was deeply impressed by the overall service experience, all their staff’s level of engagement, consistent friendliness and customer centricity. Everything is newly and tastefully renovated, lovely outside pool area and easy beach access. This has probably been the best guest experience I ever had at any Marriott hotel I have stayed at so far and I have seen quite a few across the globe as a long time Marriott Platinum member. Would highly recommend it for both business travel and family vacation. Free coffee in the morning, chilled lemon water during the day. It's all the little things and the staff's amazing attitude that made all the difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichByrd, General Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with our new hotel in Pompano, your feedback is very important for our teams growth. I will pass along your very kind thoughts to our team.

I appreciate your staying with the Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa. We hope to see you on your next visit to South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Wonderful smiling staff, pampered and chatted us just the right amount. Gorgeous pool was heated like a bathtub, and the hot tub was deep and relaxing. The chairs were surrounded by palms and greenery, making it seem like a paradise. A short walk to the beach that was a bit rough due to the weather pattern, making it hazardous to swim, but I still found lots of white coral pieces and a few jellyfish (was not stung). The room was quiet, super comfortable, lovely amenities and soft thick towels, large shower and wrap around balcony with view of both sides of hotel as well as ocean. Restaurant was moderately priced, great specials and delicious desserts. Breakfast buffet had many choices and good coffee. I loved every aspect of the hotel, from the beautiful chandeliers to the flowers and helpful staff. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichByrd, General Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It's always our intention to exceed your expectations whenever we have the opportunity. Really great to see that you had a good stay. I will pass along to our team your thoughts.

We truly appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future the next time you are in South Florida.

If there is anything else that I can ever do for you now, or in the future, please do not hesitate to call me at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1200 North Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Lauderdale Marriott Pompano Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.