We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LAME” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Canada House Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pompano Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canada House Beach Club
Save
You added Canada House Beach Club to your Saves list
1704 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Torrance, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“LAME”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Complete rip-off - dirty, not a very nice place, and you have to pay for internet (if you want more than 1 device to connect to the internet) which was a HUGE turn off. Who has to pay for internet anymore? That was probably the biggest downer, because it seemed like they tried to suck as much money as they could from you until you run dry. Not recommended, don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
27
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Umatilla, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We had two efficiencies in the west side and had a great time, the front Desk Staff were very helpful. It was just a short walk to accross the street to get on the beach, the Beach was clean and not crowded at all. The rooms were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We went last august, and it was not the biggest resort, and i was worryed because it didn't seem like the best place, but it was awesome, i loved the staff everyone was so friendly. we had a studio and we had the best view of the lagoon and the beach straight down. The room was very clean, I can't complain about anything really. The resort has a few pools which were nice to relax not the biggest pools but they are clean and nice, and who really needs a pool when you have the beach right their?! and also the resort also lets you rent beach chairs etc for free!!! .The resort also has trips you can sign up for a fee which is nice, you didnt have to waste your gas or milage. We went on the keywest tour. So overall i loved my stay and this resort

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

Arriving to Pompano Beach, I was thrilled at first, it being my first trip to the US. Upon arrival to Canada House, the first thing we noticed, was that there was a Canada House West, across the street with no beach option unless you walked across to the ocean. Fortunately enough, we had a room in the East building. The reception was small and looked like a motel's reception. We were checked in without any hassle, the receptionist was nice and we made our way to the rooms. The elevator was in the back of the building, making you walk about 100 yards before you could get in it. The hallways were out in the open, not actually inside the building, as you would expect. The room was relatively small with one Murphy bed, a sofa and a separate kitchen unit. The annoying thing was, that upon arriving to your room, you have to count all the items in the room (spoons, glasses, bowls, every appliance, tool and dish), fill out a checklist and return it to the reception. Also, the room looked very old, like from the late 80's or 90's, except for the Murphy unit.

As I was with a friend, the couch wasn't too comfortable to sleep on, since it was just too small but it got me through the night easily as I'm not the pickiest sleeper. The balcony was quite nice for breakfast with a view to some buildings and the pool. Unfortunately, we didn't have one facing the ocean. The TV was within the Murphy unit in a shelf, so watching TV from bed would be pretty much impossible.

The bathroom was small, with a bathtub, a shower and a sink in it. When taking a shower, it was easy to flood the floor next to the bathtub.

They had complimentary WiFi, but you had to ask for a password at the reception. This was nice, but since we had 2 laptops, we thought we could share the password. Turned out not. We had to pay an extra $10 for another key, which was a one-time fee. There also wasn't a safe to store your valuables in. There's a heated pool with umbrellas and chairs, although we hardly saw any people at the resort, even though we were told they are fully booked.

The resort itself is far from everything, the first convenience store was about a 10-15 minute walk away, that had a Chinese takeout and an Italian restaurant next to it. To get to the heart of Pompano Beach, you would have to drive down about 3-5 miles, which I, drunk, one night, walked. It took a good 45 minutes and to my disappointment, there wasn't anything going on besides having 2 bars open until 2am. If you have a car, it's perfect and there are plenty of things in the heart of Pompano Beach, such as Publix, Flannigans and some more stores and shops.

A couple of nights, I ended up talking to the receptionists, who were very cool and we had a lot to talk about.

All in all, Pompano Beach is a pretty quiet place itself, but it's a good place to drive to Fort Lauderdale from, where there is always something going on. If you're looking for some action, you should rather just stay at Fort Lauderdale instead of Pompano Beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

We stayed at the Canada House Beach Club at the beginning of December. This facility is clean and well laid out. There is an East Side with units by the Ocean and a West Side across Highway A1A. and a short walk to the beach and to the lobby. We were on the west side but had no complaints. The unit we stayed in was a studio with a murphy bed and a small kitchen area with microwave and stove. There is no convential oven - but all of the other kitchen amenities are there. The staff for the most part was very helpful. The free internet access was nice - and was pretty fast as far as bandwidth. If you need to add another computer there is a $10.00 charge for the week which was not a bad deal. The ocean access and frontage was nice. Parking was not a problem at all. We used this location as a base and did a lot of traveling to other parts of southern Florida. The pool area was nice with a whirlpool. Canada House helps with trip planning and has a lot of resources available to guide you in planning a great week while you are the. I would recommend Canada House if you want a quiet vacation away from all the hustle and bustle and want a nice, well kept unit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Falls, N.Y.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

I bought a timeshare at this resort and it was our first time there. The room was exceptionally clean, the staff exceptionally friendly and it was a super relaxing vacation. There are great restaurants in the area with alot to see and do and the ocean right out the back door. Canada House was a simply great place! I am very satisfied that we spent our vacation there!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We just got back from a fantastic week in Ft. Lauderdale. We traveled with two teenagers and spent much of the time touring areas such as Sawgrass Recreational Park, Lion Country Safari, Key West, Miami, and so on. We loved Ft. Lauderdale, but if you are traveling with teens plan lots to do in places other than the Canada House.

The Canada House is very clean and everything seems well organized. It is not a resort however, but is more like what seems to be the norm in Ft. Lauderdale ... hotels, motels, but not resorts. We stayed in the West Side in two efficiency rooms. One was not enough space for a family of 4, esp teens. The rooms were clean and well stocked. The pool was okay. The hot tub was being repaired. The beach was nice and we spent alot of time there when not touring.

The desk staff girl was not very knowledgeable at all. We asked her for several recommendations for things to do that teens would like. She had nothing! We asked specifics about the Ghost Tour, Water Parks, then got a bit more information but had to eeek it out. I think the desk staff should be very knowledgeable about activities for all ages.

I was happy to read reviews before we went about time share presentations. We received several calls on our room phone asking if someone could come by with a souvenier and lunch voucher. We said no and that was the end of it. Thank goodness!

I would absolutely recommend Canada House, but keep in mind the efficiency units are too small for 4 people.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canada House Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canada House Beach Club

Address: 1704 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Canada House Beach Club Hotel Pompano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canada House Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.