We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, beach front property with a family feel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canada House Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pompano Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canada House Beach Club
Save
You added Canada House Beach Club to your Saves list
1704 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing, beach front property with a family feel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband, 18 year old daughter and I I stayed a week and loved this place. It is clean, briight, cheery and well maintained. The kitchens were very well equipped so that I could prepare a basic meal on the few nights we ate in. The have grill (gas or charcoal) that you can use (they will lend you the BBQ tolls!). We has steak one night and hamburgers on another, which we cooked right outside of our first floor pond side room!! The pool and hot tub were immaculate. We had one of the recently tiled rooms, which I would guess are a big improvement over the carpeted room. I noticed that the staff was very busy removing carpet and laying tiles in other rooms. Our one bedroom was large; had two baths and a very comfortable murphy bed for my daughter in the living room and a king bed for us. There are beach chairs to rent (if you get there early there may be free ones that other guests have left that are not as nice but that you can "rent" for free). The beach was a quiet, natural Atlantic Beach (GREAT lighthouse!). I love Hollywood Beach, which you can drive to in 30 minutes, and should, but this is a nice change of pace. This is NOT a big resort by any stretch of the imagination, it is a homey base for seeing other things in southeast FL and spending some time at the pool and on the beach. Two bad points: the shuffle board court and the golf tee need work. My family would definitely return.

Room Tip: There are two sections of the hotel, one on the beachside (the east) and one across the road (the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadahouse, Manager at Canada House Beach Club, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments! We are always happy to hear guest input. If possible, I would appreciate more detail regarding the putting green, as we just had it redone a couple of years ago, and I wasn't aware that there were any problems with it. As for the shuffleboard courts, they probably are in need of new paint, and we will get that scheduled as soon as possible! Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
27
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great spot but they need to resolve the stray cat issue. They need to stop feeding the cats. Every night there are 3 to 4 cats around the pool area. This hotel/timeshare resort does not allow guests to bring pets.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadahouse, Manager at Canada House Beach Club, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. The overwhelming majority of guests who have expressed an opinion about the cats have indicated that they like the cats and look forward to seeing them here - but we are aware that there are a few who don’t like them. We respect your opinion, and hope that the information provided here will give you a better understanding of the situation.

You are correct that our documents state that pets are not allowed in the units – but stray cats are a completely different story. You may not be aware, but there are many, many stray cats all over South Florida. We know of a place just down the street that has dozens of them! Our staff has spent their own time and money to trap the cats that visit here, and have them spayed/neutered, examined by a vet, and vaccinated. This has kept the population from growing unchecked, as well as ensuring that the cats are healthy and disease-free.

Because these cats are not socialized (they are very “skittish” around people), if they were rounded up and taken to a shelter, they would be immediately killed. And studies have indicated that when stray cats are removed from their habitat, other cats will move in and take over the territory. This becomes an endless cycle of catching and killing cats. Please refer to the excellent article at http://www.alleycat.org/page.aspx?pid=488 for more information about this subject. And while we are not opposed to killing an animal that causes destruction and/or carries disease, we are loathe to kill perfectly healthy animals that actually earn their keep by minimizing the population of genuine pests (as evidenced by our reduced pest-control bills over the past several years).

With regard to our staff feeding the cats, we have found that if we don’t feed them, one of two things happens: Either they get into the Dumpsters, making all kinds of mess; or some of our guests will feed them. If the guests feed them, then food and dirty dishes get left out, which is unsightly and attracts other animals (raccoons, possums, etc.) as well as insects. If we handle the feeding in-house, we are able to control when and where it’s done, which eliminates the mess and problems of attracting pests, while still allowing those guests who want to help the cats to do so by making donations of food, cat treats, money, etc., at the Front Desk.

Thank you for your willingness to hear our side of the story. We leave you with a tidbit of advice. If you want the cats to stay away from you, just try to pet them! ;o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I found this to be a nice timeshare property located in Pompano Beach. The property is older but well maintained and you can immediately tell that the staff put a lot of effort into providing the guest with useful information and generally trying to make the guests stay as good as possible. They provide you with a package of useful information at check in and management has put together a nice guidebook which provides all the information you could possible need during your stay about the resort and the local area.

We stayed in an efficiency unit (#102) which is in the east building on the ocean side of the street (they have a west building which is on the waterway/canal on the other side of the street). The pool is located on the east side and there is a walkway over a lagoon that heads directly to the beach. Our units balcony had a direct view of the pool area and we were pleased to find out that even though we were on the first floor near the front of the building and adjacent to the pool, we did not have any noise issues at night or in the morning with people walking by or people in the pool area.

The two downsides to the resort are that it is not located in walking distance of restaurants and activities and the beach there is just okay which means you need a car. On the bright side it is just a short drive to many restaurants of all types and there are all kinds of things to do in south Florida.

There are two restaurants within walking distance (less than 1/2 mile by road or beach) and they are both within the same hotel - the Seaside Grill and the Tiki Bar. Both are average places and both are open until 11PM or longer depending on the crowd.

We traveled around a bit during our stay, traveling down to Key Largo one day, Miami Beach one day, a day in Fort Lauderdale and a day in Homestead. Key Largo was around a two hour drive and is a big snorkeling destination (we took a boat tour of the coral reef). Miami Beach is about an hour drive south. Fort Lauderdale is just a few miles south. We went there one morning and parked at the Galleria Mall where we picked up the water taxi ($20 per person) which runs about ever 45 minutes to/from a dozen or more stops up and downt he canal. The water taxi guides provide you with a lot of information about Fort Lauderdale and you will see mansions and boats lining the waterway. There are shops and restaurants at the stops. We did a day of hiking in the Everglades (Homestead - Ernest Coe Visitor Center, less than 2 hours drive), although upon reflection the shark valley visitor center would have been better and about the same distance away. There is also a winery in Homestead which we visited, Schnebly's Redland Winery. We also saw the Maimi Dolphins play the New England Patriots at Sun Life Stadium in Miami Gardens which was also about an hour drive away.

We went to a variety of local restaurants all of which were good. Briny's Irish Pub, a typical Irish pub a couple of miles south in Pompano Beach with nightly entertainment. Houston's, on the upper scale side and located a couple of miles away in Pompano Beach on the waterway, has inside/outside dining and bar area. Oceans 234, a few miles north in Deerfield, on the beach, also on the upper scale side and located in what looked like a touristy area with a lot of activity, had entertainment and indoor/outdoor dining and bar area and there was also a very nice viewing display of christmas/holiday lights on the drive there. G&B Oyster Bar, a very nice oyster bar located a few miles away in Fort Lauderdale and within walking distance of a water taxi stop.

Room Tip: The east building is on the ocean side and has the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadahouse, General Manager at Canada House Beach Club, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! You are correct that we take great pride in making our guests' visits as pleasant as possible, and I am glad to know that it comes through! :o)

To clarify for future guests, we do actually have two pools (one on each side of the street) and two hot tubs (also one on each side of the street). A list of the amenities that are available on each side of the street (all of which are available for use for all of our guests, regardless of which side of the street they may find themselves staying) is available on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although the staff ws exceptional in helping with anything needed the property is definitely not beach front. The building is split into two properties, one being one the west side of the street the other on the east side of the street. Unless you have a room on the third floor of the west building there is not ocean view. On the west side there is a lagoon or a river and a bridge and brush that you have to go through to even get to the beach. Once on the beach, it's not a very pretty beach. You can walk for miles, but the sand is very course and the waves a little rough. The east building has a pool of it's own, as does the west building, but when I was there in June they had not yet turned the heat off on the east side pool and it was hotter than the water in the hot tub! I finally complained about it and they said no one had even mentioned it to them. Once they turned it off, it took until the last day of vacation to be able to get into the pool. I stayed in a studio room on the first floor in the east building. I had a studio room which was very, very small. The bed was a Murphy bed that had to be put up and down everynight or you couldn't move around the room. Very tiny kitchenette with 2 gas burners an a small refrigerator. Although the room was tiny is was very clean and the staff was right there to help any time I called, which I had to twice because my TV would just quit working so they had to come reset it each time. The trek to the ocean from the east building was a little long, especially since you had to carry chairs and beverages if you planned to stay there for the day which you had to since the pool was too hot to swim in. You definitely need a rental car here because it is close to nothing! I had my own car and met some other people who didn't care for our beach either, so we took off daily and went to South Beach and Miami Beach and some other beaches around the area. The other beaches all had clear aqua water and you could swim in them and they had the famous white sand beaches. There was no entertainment or anything to do in the evenings at the Canada House, nothing going on at the pools during the day. They also didn't even have a bar nor one close to the hotel. If you want a nice quiet away from the beach vacation, this is your place!

Room Tip: Ask for the west building. At least there you are somewhat closer to the beach. Not beach front, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadahouse, Manager at Canada House Beach Club, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I'm sorry that you weren't happy with your stay, but our website does very specifically say that one side of our property (actually the WEST side, not the East side) is ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE BEACH. As for the conditions of the beach itself, we unfortunately have no control of it... But we are happy that you found our staff to be helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This will be a lengthy review, but trust me, it will be worth reading and there are lots of pictures too! We had an amazing experience working with the staff even before we arrived at Canada House in Pompano Beach. We were lucky enough to visit the same week as several families who have been visiting the resort over the past 20 years! This was our first week long vacation with our 10 month old son and my parents. We chose Canada house after reading trip advisor reviews on what a great place it is for families with grandchildren and finding 2 studio units on the RCI website. As soon as we received our confirmation, I visited CH’s webpage and emailed them regarding a portable crib for my son. Brian, the administrative assistant, immediately responded that yes, they could provide one at a small fee and offered to help me with any questions or concerns I might have. He was great and even helped arrange for our Studio rooms to be on the beach side, on the 4th floor next to one another with amazing views. Whenever we had questions, he was quick to respond and direct us where to find additional resources if needed. The rest of the staff was also kind, considerate and extremely helpful! We will definitely return. This is a family resort- small, well organized, very secure/gated, clean and very child friendly. My parents arrived very late on a Saturday to check into both units; the pack n play was already available, the kitchen was well stocked with a variety of cookware and utensils, the rooms were clean; however, to my parents surprise they were given several packages of toothpaste in the room, but no coffee. On Sunday, they do free coffee and an information session in the morning; so if you were to plan on checking in late make sure pick up a small package of coffee unless you intend to go out for breakfast or make a trip to the local Publix first thing (Make a Right on E. Atlantic, go over small bridge to next light, it’s on the right.) They have a water filter by the pool that you can use to fill your water bottles when you are sitting poolside; this was a great amenity! The pool is clean and perfect for families with or without kids; lounge chairs and several table/umbrella areas are provided as well as a large selection of pool toys in a bin from past and present families. The resort does not provide them, but the families who visit are always willing to share. My son and I left a lady bug float (Enjoy!) As you make your way to the walkway over the lagoon to the beach, you will find a bin of beach toys as well. You can rent really nice chairs from the office for the week and sometimes they have some for free! Just ask the office staff and they will help you. Next to the pool is a putting green and a shuttle board area; the equipment is provided by the office as well. My father and husband had a great time playing while we enjoyed the pool and the little one napped under an umbrella. This is a quiet resort where parents, grandparents and young children can relax and make memories. Our Studios had full kitchens, but in addition one of the great amenities on the property was the four grills on the lagoon. My family and I love to grill. This side of the resort has two charcoal grills and two gas grills. You need a key to work the gas grills and charcoal for the other. The office often has a supply of charcoal from prior guests and lots of grill tools and extras for the kitchen they are willing to lend at no cost; make sure to check with them. We made dinner on the charcoal grills twice and lunch once. Each Grill has an umbrella, table and chairs on the lagoon; it is peaceful and relaxing and you can hear the waves from the beach (see pictures.) Free Wifi is provided for one piece of equipment per room; you will need it for a smart phone to have full internet access. The office will give you the code on a printout; make sure to save it in case there is a storm as you may need to reboot or login after it. We had a storm the second night and the server went down for a few minutes. Overall this was an amazing experience and I cannot wait to take my entire family back again.

Room Tip: As for a beach side room on the EAST side on at least the 4th floor for a view; this is the better s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

There are so many memories from this place We come every year for over 25 years my kids had wonderful vacations in this place and even my own daughter her timeshare here for my grandson for the 4th of july . It is very nice, family , very clean and I love it.

Room Tip: ocean front you have the view of the pier and the light house
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We came here thru RCI and were very happy we were in the east building. Balcony facing the ocean can't be beat.We had a Murphy bed and pull out sofa room. Both were pretty good compared to my bed at home. Kitchen was a little tight but had everything you need.Everyone that works there was very pleasant and even gave us some coupons for a local restaurant. Know that when they say Canada House, they mean it. Alot of Canadians, some nice, some not so much. All in, I'd definitelty go back

Room Tip: Get the east building facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadahouse, Manager at Canada House Beach Club, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your review! I can tell by your comments that you must have stayed here in the past few months, because (like most of South Florida), that's the time we have so many Canadians in-house... as well as New Englanders, New Yorkers, and many other flavors of snowbirds. :o)

Our property was originally developed by a Canadian company, hence the name, but we don't specifically market to anyone in particular. I do have to agree with you, though, that some Canadians are nice and some are not so nice... just like any other nationality! ;o)

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canada House Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canada House Beach Club

Address: 1704 N Ocean Blvd, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Canada House Beach Club Hotel Pompano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canada House Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.