We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Lodge

Save Saved
You added Budget Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budget Lodge
831 N. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
North Olmsted, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We only stayed 1 night. We booked online at Booking.com which seemed to be the only to book. I usually stay at "chain hotels" for lack of a better word and book on their company websites. We checked in late- 7p, and that was not a problem. On Google Maps it's called Budget Lodge & Food Mart so we weren't sure it was the right place. We checked-in inside the Food Mart. Super nice owner. Our room was great. It was clean and had a nice, new flat screen TV. There also was a mini fridge. We walked to the Tiki Bar at Lighthouse Cove. The beach is across the street, although we didn't go on this trip, it's an awesome beach. The pool looked so fun with its changing color lights but we didn't have time to swim. So the place looks a little rundown but it's still a nice room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
7
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed our two night stay. The location was very convenient to several sites(Butterfly world & restaurants). It is only 5 minutes from the beach. The staff was very accommodating. The pool was pretty cool at night. We will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

close to ocean,very nice nice place to stay ,clean rooms ,there have been some upgrades for better and the reno looks good .We plan on returning to budget lodge next time visiting pompano beach . Bronislaw M.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Not only is the place nasty but the owner is a very rude individual !! The items he has in his so called "food mart" are ridiculously expensive and the case of beer that I paid almost $28 for was skunky beer and old !! We sat out by the pool with another unfortunate couple who made the mistake of renting this dump listening to music on a cell phone and conversating at a reasonable volume and the owner threatened to call the police on us !! I wouldnt stay at this place if I was homeless so please folks take your money and go somewhere else where you can enjoy your vacation in cleanliness and not have to worry about someone calling the cops on you for doing nothing more than enjoying your vacation....and by the way there was marijuana being smoked by other tenants and methamphetamines being sold out of there that 5 of us witnessed with our own eyes but nothing was done about this so ive got to assume that we was the wrong color for the owner of this dump !!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A P, General Manager at Budget Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our motel Daniel C.
Let me clear up ... well ALL of the misleading information you have posted.
1. There is no beer product that is priced at $28.
2. As far as you listening to music on a cell in this "dump" (which you and your guest couldn't stop praising at the time of the stay) is concerned, we have absolutely no problem with any of our guest listening to music in the courtyard or pool. HOWEVER, we do have a major problem with guest making noise and acting/being drunk in public at night. In your case midnight and beyond.
In fact, as I recall we request you to make less noise 3 nights in a row until you and your family started making us lose customers due to your excessive noise and drunkenness.
3. You stated that you were "conversating" at a reasonable volume. What you failed to realize 3 days in a row is the difference between reasonable volume to a drunk and reasonable volume to someone trying to sleep.
4. We tried very hard to cooperate with you, including when you checked in as 2 adults and ended up having 3 other adults in your room (we didn't try to charge you, which we could have)
5. We didn't charge you for dumping the room with sand in even the hardest of places to put it. How did you manage to get sand everywhere in the room is beyond me.
6. We didn't charge you for breaking the shower either.
7. Consider yourself fortunate for getting a refund for the remainder of the nights.
Thanks for your business,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is our second trip back to pompano the price location and staff are amazing .
Ap and his father are very helpful rooms are very clean and the reno looks great we plan on returning to budget lodge for many years to come my son's Logan & Dale felt like they were @ home and can't wait to return next march AP and your family are truly the best host I have ever encounter keep up the good work.

Dave

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I'm a returning customer and between my last stay and my most recent stay 2 weeks ago, there have been some significant upgrades and changes for the better! The rooms were always clean and nice, but now the pool area looks like it has had a major overhaul since my last visit. It looks amazing, the floor surrounding is re-done as well and just gives the entire outdoor area a whole new vibe!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

There was no ventilation in the bathroom and no phone in the room.
There was no elevator in this 2-storey motel: if you have big and heavy luggage, think about it.
But it was well located - near the beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Lodge

Address: 831 N. Ocean Boulevard, Pompano Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Pompano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 hotels in Pompano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy motel is located in the heart of Pompano Beach, just steps away from its white-sand coastline. Here you can bask in the warm sunshine on the patio or while relaxing in swimming pool. Enjoy the free Wi-Fi located throughout the property and in each of the oversized bedrooms or efficiencies which also have a microwave, refrigerator, 32" flat screen TV, Satellite TV with over 200 + channels (including HBO). Guest at the Budget Lodge can enjoy the added convenience of the on-site Foodmart. For more exciting adventures, go stand up paddle boarding, jet skiing, parasailing, or windsurfing. This gem is located just minutes away from Isle Casino Racing Pompano Park, Muvico Theaters, and the Pompano Municipal Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Budget Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.